We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic and small”
Review of Jason Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jason Inn
Ranked #118 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 6, 2012

If you're coming from North America, the area outside the hotel looks shabby and unsafe. However, you quickly learn most of the Athens city centre look like this and is usually perfectly fine.

The hotel rooms are extremely spartan but maintained well. The bathroom is quite awful: small, old and shabby looking.

Serves the the simple purpose of giving you a clean place to sleep, but if you're looking for something more indulgent then you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies that face the Acropolis are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrcleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 512 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

A nice, small hotel with an excellent location, in the area of Athens that is their "Soho" Clean place too

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A simple hotel (bed and breakfast only) with spotlessly clean, well-appointed bedrooms (A/C, TV, fridge, en suite shower room and balcony). We had a stunning view of the Acropolis from our balcony on the 3rd floor. Good self-service breakfast with a range of hot and cold food - in the summer this is served on the roof terrace. The reception staff all were friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.
The hotel is located in the residential area of Thisio, 2 minutes walk from the metro station and the pedestrianised walkway that takes in the main historical sites so you can do all your sightseeing on foot. There are plenty of good neighbourhood restaurants nearby where you can find an evening meal.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awatle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Jason Inn is a cheap and cheerful hotel in a rather rundown part of downtown Athens. On arrival from the airport by taxi you feel somewhat deflated when you look at the area (buildings falling down, graffiti etc), however the hotel is the one good looking building in the area. Its very welcoming and a nice reception area in marble and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable with a fridge and a safe to keep your valuables in. The one downside is you don't have any tea/coffee making facilities in your room. We had a lovely view of the Parthenon although they don't have many rooms that look out onto it. I can't review the rooftop restaurant as it doesn't open until April.

I would agree with previous reviews of the hotel echoing its location, whilst the area the hotel is based in is rundown you are only a two minute walk from the main tourist points, that's the main reason I have given the hotell a four point review.

Room Tip: There are very limited rooms with views of the Parthenon so put your request in when you book initia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamboJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

A nice hotel located in downtown Athens. The best part is eating at the rooftop restaurant, with an amazing view of the Parthenon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Although the Jason Inn is a very basic hotel, we would recomend it because of its superb location, especially if you have limited time in Athens. As you exit the hotel, there is a small brick church about 150 yards to your left. Head towards the church, then bear right when you reach it. The beginning of the Plaka will be to your left, and the pedestrian street leading to the Acropolis will be straight ahead.

One thing to note, the hotel restaurant, with its superb view of the Acropolis, closes for the season at the end of October. We stayed there in November, and the lack of a restaurant meant we did not get dinner the night we arrived. We could have gone to the Plaka, but did not know where it was until we had a chance to explore the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJZTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel's main selling point is its location, a short walk from the main tourist sites, and off the main road.

Our room was small but adequate, wi-fi was OK but slow, the view from the balcony (on the Acropolis) was great. Noise from the street was moderate.

On the minus side, the bathroom was very cramped, and the shower curtain was useless - disecting the cubicle rather than surrounding it - meaning you have to crouch down to avoid soaking the bathroom. The corridors smell strongly of disinfectant (but at least they keep the place clean I suppose).

Hotel staff were very helpful with advice and directions. The breakfast is surprisingly good for a hotel of this quality - nice to see bacon and eggs, but a shame not to see half-decent orange juice.

At the time of visiting (November 2011) the nearest metro, Thissio, is almost useless because of a closed line (and with the current situation I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for it to re-open), so in practice the hotel is a good 10 minutes' walk from the nearest useful metro (Monastiraki) along a bustling and crowded street. So worth bearing that in mind if you have lots of luggage.

All in all, I would visit this place again because of the convenience. But at 60 euros for a basic double, I wouldn't call it particularly good value.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, to get away from the street noise and for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarryOwen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Monastiraki
Ares Athens Hotel
Ares Athens Hotel
#162 of 282 in Athens
33 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
674 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#156 of 282 in Athens
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#124 of 282 in Athens
371 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#49 of 282 in Athens
779 reviews
Hotel Phidias
#131 of 282 in Athens
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jason Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jason Inn

Address: 12 Agion Assomaton | Psirri, Thission, Athens 105 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $101 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jason Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jason Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jason Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing