We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Rooms”
Review of Hotel Tempi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tempi
Ranked #122 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Rooms”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed here in July, it is very centrally located and the rooms are basic but clean with air condition. I stayed here at the beginning of my trip and again at the end of my trip. I was pleased with both rooms that I stayed in. I was on the top floor so lots of stairs to climb but a nice balcony on the floor with a great view of the Acropolis. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    132
    99
    34
    37
See reviews for
41
154
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban - South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you are looking for an inexpensive, very well located hotel in Athens..look no furher. Tempi is just a 5 minute walk from the metro at Monastriki...and all in walking distance from the Plaka distict and Acropolis(our room even had a view of the acropolis from the balcony!) all situated on a pedestrian street. Rooms are small, have tv, air conditioning and ours had a loo, shower and basin..all compact, but very clean and adequate. A clean communal kitchen was a bonus..for a cuppa in the mornings. Starbucks/MacDonalds all close if you on a budget and need a quick bite - BUT LOTS OF GREAT restaurants and food vendors all close by. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I loved the small, quaintness of the hotel and would definately go back!

*Never had a problem with hot water
*Beds are nice a clean
*Towells supplied and ours were changed daily
*Doesn't have a lift, stairs are steep & compact. - i thought they were cute and added to the charm :)
Not a 5 star luxury hotel, BUT..this is a GREAT hotel for exploring Athens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was our second time to Athens and we were a little worried after reading some of the other reviews but this was the best that we could find as we left booking the Athens hotel so late.

We got the train in from the airport and was happily surprised at how easy the hotel was to find from the tube stop. We got into the hotel and was warmly greeted by one of the owners who was on the front desk and stood there enjoying the cool air coming from their AC. We were given the key and told the room was on the 4th floor.

The stairs were very steep and long and carrying the suit case (with 3 week’s worth of stuff) up was a bit of a struggle, so for people with young children or slightly older i could see these being a bit of a problem but the way we looked at it was that we only needed to do it the once.

Once we got into the room we were pleasantly surprised, the room was clean and we had lots of space. The beds were good and solid we had AC in the room as well, no real view but we were only using the room as somewhere to sleep at the end of the night so didn't really need much more.

The location was brilliant for anything that you might want to do in Athens and i know some people say in other reviews have complained about no breakfast being provided, but you've got a number of cafe's where you can get breakfast for €2 so we weren’t worried about this.

The last time we came to Athens we stayed at the Attalos and i would say that the room at the Tempi was much better and at nearly half the price, well worth considering.

Yes the Attalos has a lift and a great view from the top, but you can still visit the roof bar even if you're not staying there (we did).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward4943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Tucuman, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
919 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Tempi hotel is so well reviewed in Lonely Planet website that it is a bit difficult to do it better! However, I will try!

The hotel is situated on a pedestrian street in front of a church. It is a small hotel, not good if you are picky. It is modest. It has rooms with private bathrooms and other with shared facilities, which are spotlessly clean.

The atmosphere of the hotel is familiar, as it is run by a warm Greek family who are always ready to answer any question or have a wonderful talk!

The rooms are comfy enough, with a TV and - in our case - a balcony overlooking the Acropolis. The bathroom was small, but we managed. Hot water is not a problem!

The hotel does not include breakfast but there is a guests' kitchen with complimentary coffee.

I was there in January and tried to book it again in July but it was already fully booked, as it is a good option if you are on a budget.

The metro at Monastiraki is very close, as well as places to have a drink or eat something.

I would go back!

Room Tip: If possible, pick a room with a view of the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel close to Plaka/Acropolis and I found it!  I was warmly greeted by Katarina who gave me a choice of a ground floor room for €40 or one on the 5th floor for €30.   I took the 5th floor.  The room was small but air conditioned.  And there's a balcony on the floor that has an incredible view of the Parthenon.  If you're looking for luxury look elsewhere.   If youre looking for value in a prime location look no further.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infamoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalst
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Tempi hotel is a nice hotel, just in the center of Athens, just arround the corner is plaka...the place to be in Athens...
The rooms are clean and nice... you can choose with bathroom or common bathroom...with balkon or without...the rooms with balcon, they have a nice few on the acropolis.
The owners from the hotel are very friendly and helpfull.
Every time we visit Athens, we stay in Tempi hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giannota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nothing special to report about this hostel. It was nice enough, in a good location, and close to the bus station. Caution! As you are leaving the hotel (facing the road), do not go to the left! Dangerous! Go to the right for good restaurants, good shopping, and great views (the Acropolis!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#148 of 326 in Athens
217 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#78 of 326 in Athens
313 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#128 of 326 in Athens
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#138 of 326 in Athens
351 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#162 of 326 in Athens
255 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tempi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tempi

Property: Hotel Tempi
Address: 29 Eolou, Athens 105 51, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Monastiraki , Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tempi 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tempi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempi Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing