We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab your own key...”
Review of Exarchion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exarchion Hotel
Ranked #153 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Grab your own key...”
Reviewed March 26, 2008

is the system they use to secure your room. OK, it wasn't at all busy the time we were there, but still, I could have grabbed any key from reception.

The place itself was in the middle of what seems a needed renovation, but I think it was shoulder season at the time. Our room seemed to be newly completed, but it remains a cheerful basic level.

It is central, superbly so. Down on street level, if you throw a stone, you'll hit a restaurant/cafe in any direction. Shopping? 5 mins walk. It's basic, but clean and not dreary, we are talking bottom end of the price scale - which is a bonus.

It's a good way to stay in Athens cheaply, just adjust your expectations before checking in and be realistic about what you are paying/expecting.

Make sure you get a balcony door that closes properly - otherwise you might be in for a noisey night, there's a lot of activity on the street below.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mohikaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
29
47
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2008

A nice hotel situated in Athens downtown.

I was lucky because I arrived to this hotel exactly after the renovations, everything was clean and perfect , the rooms are big a receive a lot of natural light, and the multilingual staff very kind.

The position of the hotel was good for me too because everything was walking distance, very good night life around too!!!

I recomend this hotel!!!

Alexander,

Romania

  • Liked — Everything is fresh painted and clean
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Its not like me to write poor reviews but I cant do anything other in this case.
Right from arrival I was getting bad vibes.
The manager at the desk and his companion asked me a couple of questions regarding my reservation then spoke to each other in Greek without any kind of explanation of what the problem was - if any. Either way I got my room key and made my way up the ancient lift. The room seemed a bit dingy to me and the shower head was hanging down the wall so that to wash you had to hold it up above your head. I expect better even from 2 star.
The bathroom could also have been cleaner and well to be honest the whole place just seemed so run down. There were also renovations being done the floor below me and the noise from that made for an early rise whether that was the intention or not. Mind you, while their at it I hope they renovate the rest of the hotel. It needs it.
Outside the room, all night there were motorbikes going up and down and dogs barking incessantly. Not be back.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — where to start is the question
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-McNaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

This hotel was a disappointment. The photos looked way better than the real thing, thanks to wide angle shots. The hotel was so badly rundown that I was wondering if they were charging per hour or by the month. In North American standards, this hotel would be equivalent to a lodging house or a brothel or a seedy motel. Also, the bed we had was a hazard. Our mattress fell from underneath us because the slats below were broken. If you're a starving artist or broke backpacker, this will do. But if you can afford to go elsewhere, avoid this hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jlaceda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This hotel is okay. Not great, but not bad. Rooms are decent and they
are cleaned every day for you (I guess that is expected, but I'll throw it in anyways). It's located near 2-3 nice authentic Greek restaurants, in addition to having a quick souvlaki place right next to the hotel. It's a little outside the main cultural area, but makes
for learning the city better. (We thought this would make a little less noisy, but that wasn't the case, it's located in Exarhia which is a student busy and generally active part of the city) It's also right near the National Archaeological Museum and a nice park- very cool stuff. The park is great for going on a run.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank yatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

old building,quite big rooms but in bad conditions,the toilet stinks,beatles in it,very rude people at reception.

Helpful?
2 Thank AJAX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Alter Athens Hotel
Alter Athens Hotel
#159 of 325 in Athens
7 reviews
Hotel Minoa
#131 of 325 in Athens
222 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#82 of 325 in Athens
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Epidavros Hotel
#116 of 325 in Athens
300 reviews
Exarchia
Dryades Hotel
Dryades Hotel
#95 of 325 in Athens
151 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Parnon
Hotel Parnon
#140 of 325 in Athens
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exarchion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exarchion Hotel

Property: Exarchion Hotel
Address: 55 Themistokleous, Athens 106 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Exarchion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Exarchion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exarchion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing