We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but very basic”
Review of Hotel Dioskouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dioskouros
Ranked #33 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, but very basic”
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Excellent central location but very basic facilities. The showers are not great, the towel you get is no bigger than a flannel and breakfast is just tea/instant coffee, bread and jam - and they often run out of jam. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was not cleaned, nor were our sheets/towels/bins changed.

But if you want to stay in the heart of Athens and can live with that, give it a go!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    62
    37
    19
See reviews for
20
51
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

Really cool place with a variety of people, great place to meet people. Rooms were simple but clean and comforatble. Would stay here again for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2005

At the end of August a friend and I were passing through Athens on our way to the Cyclades and had to spend a night in Athens. We chose the Dioskouros Guesthouse because we'd seen it on a few websites and read good reviews, and it is situated in the most pleasant area of Athens, Plaka. We were disappointed with what we got. We were allocated a dorm room, and were led to said room down some steps to a little room underground. I am not fussy re accommodation and expected the room to be basic, which it was. I was not, however, impressed with the fact that there was no lock on the door, and we had to push one of the other beds against it to prevent stray cats, more than anything, getting in! There is also NO safe box so you must keep all your valuables with you at all times. The bathroom facilities were OK but in the toilet there was a window looking out onto a lot of wires and leads, presumably for the shower which looked a bit dodgy!! We were charged 25 euro each for one night and would consider it a total rip-off. We would rather recommend the Hotel Zeus on Sofokleos Street, nearer Omonia, for its very pleasant rooms and nice bathroom facilities, all for 12 euro per night for a dorm room. As a student, I wouldn't recommend this to other students - you CAN get better value for money in Athens!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susie_maria86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

We hadn't planned to stay here, but the hotel we had wanted was booked up. We found Dioskouros in Lets Go Greece travel book, and decided to take a chance. We booked on the phone from Meteora.
After driving back to Athens, and then 3 hours driving in circles IN Athens, we gave up, parked the car and called the guesthouse. The owner caught a cab, came to us, and navigated us back to the hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful.
The rooms were very plain but clean. The only drawback was they were shared bathrooms, but they were very clean. For 50 euro, being less than 2 blocks from the Plaka area, and the great people there, we will stay there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2004

We paid 90 euros for 3 nights, but after we left on my girlfriends credit card a further 990 euros was charged again. They must be getting readdy for the olympics

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#101 of 326 in Athens
234 reviews
Plaka
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#195 of 326 in Athens
207 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#115 of 326 in Athens
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#109 of 326 in Athens
318 reviews
Plaka
Alice Inn Athens
Alice Inn Athens
#9 of 63 in Athens
71 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#42 of 63 in Athens
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dioskouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dioskouros

Property: Hotel Dioskouros
Address: 6 Pittakou | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dioskouros 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dioskouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing