We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BE WARNED - this place allows PETS... DOGS!!”
Review of Hotel Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carolina
Ranked #166 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BE WARNED - this place allows PETS... DOGS!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Firstly.. I was extremely annoyed to discover by barking on the next room that this place allows animals. Worse of all, the room had a terrible smell, which funny enough I thought it was my shoes that might have stepped on something on the street. When I found out about the hotel also being a kennel I put 2 and 2 together and realised it was dog dropping smell.
The place I am told gets fumigated only 1 a month.. so if you get itchy bites you will know why!!
It is a disgrace that they do not clearly state this on Tripadvisor.
Secondly: The rooms are dated and dark. Claims of a Minibar ?? is that what an empty fridge is called now?
Thirdly: Breakfast is very poor. All layed out the night before.. just touch the bread and the ends and you will soon figure it out.
Fouthly: Location.. while it is fairy central, it is not that great.. and to get to the acropolis is a good 15-20 min walk.. really!! some of the people in this reviews must have jet packs to get there to say it is a short walk..
I would NEVER have stayed there, knowing they allowed flea infested animals. yuck!!

Room Tip: One without a barking dog in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    55
    23
    20
See reviews for
26
94
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at Carolina in Athens for 2 nights (23 & 24 Apr 2011) before moving on to Pireaus. Our impression of the room and the hotel in general is that it's old but well maintained. The toilets seemed to be newly refurbished and are in good working condition. Hot shower works well. The room is very small and the furniture eg. the wardrobe and desk are old, the bed small, and although there was a fairly large balcony, the view was pathetic. It basically faces the ugly back of old rundown apartments. The location of Carolina though may not be the most ideal but still remains very near to all key attractions. It's about 10 minutes walking distance to Plaka and its surrounding restaurants, Ermou the shopping street and just further away, Syntagma Square. The best feature of our stay though is that the free wifi works perfectly well keeping us occupied during the nights when there was really nothing much to watch on Greece TV. If we were to go Athens again, I'll surely stay at the Plaka Hotel which we had a chance to pass by on our way to Plaka and also the view of the Acropolis from their rooftop terrace was terrific !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2011

A charming hotel in Athens at a good price! The room and bathroom were both small, but clean and perfectly adequate. We enjoyed the balcony at night. The staff was friendly and helpful. They provided an area for luggage storage and guests could use a computer with internet access. They had a great breakfast each morning, which was included. We only stayed here a couple of nights and later at another "more American" type hotel...I wished I back at Hotel Carolina for its charm, as the other hotel was lacking character entirely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The loaction is ideal, the price was good, adequate breakfast, clean & comfortable. Although the street was quite busy at times it wasn't really noticable once the doors were closed, good double glazing.
Free internet was a bonus, the staff were helpful & friendly. My room was fine for a single, no opportunity to view others, & it was well equipped for a budget hotel, aircon/heating, TV, fridge, hairdryer, safe, tea & coffee making facilities & bathroom toiletries all supplied in the price.
The only downside is that noise from the reception (the 2 nightstaff, or 1 staff & friend, chatting & laughing loudly) could be heard in my room as the hotel is all uncarpeted & everything echoes up the central stairwell. This wasn't for long though & all was soon quiet again.
I love the old lift!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed for christmas 2010 in Carolina Hotel being on a small break away from home. The room type i chose was the superior double, a wonderful spacious room with acropolis view and balcony. The room was quiet enough with a lot of amenities such us complimentary tea/coffee facilities and safe deposit. Furthermore, there was free wifi as well with excellent signal. Breakfast was buffet style, complimentary as well. All in all, i recommend this hotel as it offers good prices, clean rooms and excellent location!!! I am really happy and I think I will always choose this hotel for all my trips to Athens for any reasons!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed for 4 days 11/15-11/19 with two young kids 11 & 9, room was plain, really just beds and a bathroom, but hey, its not the four seasons, adequate place to drop-off your stuff and sleep in-between activities. What makes the hotel ideal is its location, close to everything and the staff very helpful..you get breakfast which was adequate for getting you started in the morning, lots of places to eat near the hotel..if you get tired of Greek food, McDonalds is a short 5-7 mins walk..also try Noodle Bar about 10 mins walk from the hotel...a couple things you should know, the bar next door is loud and music is played all night long and the room we used was full of mosquitos (bring repelant). Overall its more for backpackers than family, but with its location, staff and cost, well worth trying, just don't expect much in terms of amenities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vondarkmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We spend two nights at Carolina and we can absolutely recommend this hotel. Marios in the reception is very nice and helpful. We had a nice, clean room with a big balcony were we could sit and relax after a long day of shopping. It's also near Plaka and Akropolis with just a short walk. The breakfast-buffé was good and a good start for the day.
We will come back to Athen and will
absolutely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#123 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#117 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Cecil Hotel
Cecil Hotel
#148 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#106 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#64 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina

Property: Hotel Carolina
Address: 55 Kolokotroni, Athens 105 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing