We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good despite the noisy owners”
Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Ranked #195 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good despite the noisy owners”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is an average-to-good comfortable and superbly located hotel in Plaka. I got a walk-in room at the last minute for €70 on the night of 25 Sep 2010. The owner/staff need to smile more and keep their loud discussions out of the lobby and other common areas.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank grusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    52
    28
    38
See reviews for
40
69
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We got stuck in Athens due to a booking error on our part so we were desperate for a place to crash for the night. They made up the price on the spot and threw us in the basement with three beds then added a cot at some point of the night. It was what we needed i guess and somewhat clean but its not something i would recommend unless you just needed a cheap place to shower and put your things for the night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottDavis623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had hotel byron recommended to us. We went in on a Saturday morning and spoke to the female clerk and checked in for that night - completed all the paperwork and confirmed that we would be out sightseeing and would return that afternoon. We we returned later that day and kindly requested our key and we recieved a TORRENT OF ABUSE from the male clerk. Our reservation was gone and he proceeded to yell 'he wanted none of our kind' in the hotel. I calmly requested he check his books or call the staff member on earlier regarding our missing reservation and he yelled for us to GET OUT! I recommend this place only at your own risk!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytravellerXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed in Hotel Byron for 4-5 nights. Very basic. Friendly staff. If you want a spacious enough room to sleep and shower and not bothered by breakfast etc. THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU!!!!!!!! Clean and in a really safe area. The Acropolis Metro station is very close and EVERYTHING's in walking distance. Acropolis, Monastiraki via small streets filled with shops, close to Hadrian's Arch, Hadrian's Library and almost on top of the old market (Roman Agora) Hot showers if you shower normal times (early in morning and in the evening) During the day they switch the geysers of to save. At the end of the day you are in Greece to see everything and eat at different restaurants. Don't be boring and eat breakfast at the same place every day. For 7 Euro you can get a decent Crepe just past the Acropolis station entrance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOJO76Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

The first room we had was just awful - it was dark and even though the floors were ceramic it felt dirty. The smell of cigarettes was terrible and they only had sheets on the beds. The blanket in the cupboard looked disgusting and there was no way we could use it. The shower was a ceramic block on the floor with no curtain and you had to hold the shower head. I don't know how you shower withough getting water everywhere. However, it wasn't so bad because it was part of the Greek experience. The next day we complained about the room and the smell and they gave us another room that was larger with a double bed instead of the twins which was nice. We actually ended up staying three extra days because the location was great, we had a small balcony which was nice for hanging out clothes that we washed and it had a view of the Acropolis. We were also able to negotiate a better price which made it worthwhile. We didn't buy the breakfast there since the lobby area looked suspect and that is where they serve it. The hotel was also pretty stingy with toilet paper and shampoo. We had to ask for toilet paper twice over the few days we stayed there. They can get you discounts for tours which was a bonus but if you ask at a travel agency, they can give you a discount too -we got 10%. I would only recommend this hotel if you can get a room on the upper levels that have a balcony and face the front of the hotel - otherwise - DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Liked — location and room with a balcony
  • Disliked — dirty blankets, smoky rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The location is great, but otherwise the Byron has nothing to recommend it. It is very overpriced, and has no character (unlike many of the places in this area). The staff were unprofessional and indifferent, and the breakfast was a ripoff. The rooms were tiny and not very clean--one of the towels we were given was absolutely shredded and the others had small holes. We had to move rooms after the first night (because of availability). The first room we were in was a 90E room but they tried to charge us the 110E rate for the room we had from the second night. I've also stayed at the Acropolis House hotel nearby and it was infinitely better!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything except location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jillrachele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

I have been in Byron Hotel in September 2006 and I was very satisfied.
The staff was very kind.
The dark lobby is not the best I have ever seen so when I arrived I didn't know what to expect.
I asked for an Acropolis vew room on the third floor. The room no. 45 was very clean, has a big terrace overlooking the walls of the Acropolis and the Parthenon. I had invited also some friends to drink ouzo alfresco while my daughter was sleeping. The street was very quite because it's mostly pedestrian and there are no restaurants or clubs.
The location is one of the best and is near every "classic" place you'd like to visit and also near shopping street like Ermou and Monastiraki Flea Market.
The bathroom was spotless but the shower was not the best I have ever made as there was no curtain and every time the floor was wet, but I have often meet this kind of shower in Greece. The floor were also a bit dangerous when wet.
There was AC but I had not used, also tv, but not refrigeretor. Furniture were in very nice solid dark wood, looking like 1920's. Bedlinen were crisp and clean. The fllor is made with tiles, wood would have been better... But it was very good even if the flloor was not my taste.
Be sure to ask to an Acropolis view room because the other rooms doesn't have good views.
The fee is 100 Euro for a double more or less, so it's not at all a bragain, but what you pay is the perfect location.
I stayed last year at Hera Hotel nearby and it's another cathegory so it's the price but I was nit feeling in Athens with so many carpets. I would stay again in Byron next time.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The lobby
  • Tips/Secrets — In Athens be careful with taxi drivers. First tell them to go slow SIGA' SIGA' and ask the price before.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaolaVozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#101 of 326 in Athens
234 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#109 of 326 in Athens
318 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#115 of 326 in Athens
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#49 of 326 in Athens
1,454 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#74 of 326 in Athens
303 reviews
Plaka
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#128 of 326 in Athens
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Property: Byron Hotel
Address: 19 Vironos, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing