We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were robbed from the stuff!”
Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Ranked #177 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Now I have seen that the others had also bad experience with the stuff from this hotel. We were charged one night extra for one person that has checked out 1 day earlier. The receptionist has told to this person that she will pay 1 night less, but he can give bill only when all the others check out from the room. When all the others checked out next day, he demanded the full amount of money, even though it was not correct. I am really disappointed with such an attitude, it spoiled the memories of nice view that we had from our balcony. This kind of things should stop happening in Greece, it makes bad impression on tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to Acropolis look to the street and are more noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chocolatevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Byron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had a very bad experience with them. In the beginning I thought that it is the type of small ,family run, business that their total unawareness to serve a simple breakfast or a proper coffee is replaced by their charm and tidyness. Then, they treated me with suspicion, and when I protested about this, the suspicion became rudeness. They even insulted me by saying that they have problems only with Greek clients. Shame on them and on all the small businesses that are not professional to what they do. They have a huge ego because they were lucky to be born under this jewel called Acropolis but I would rather stay in a youth hostel than this...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed at the Byron last week. It is a wonderful budget place to stay. Clean, with helpful, friendly staff. I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I loved staying at this hotel! The view from the rooftop terrace of the Acropolis is fantastic!! It is within walking distance of many great attractions. I stayed here with a group from my college and everyone seemed to enjoy it very much. Some of the things we were able to walk to from the hotel were the Acropolis, the museum of the Acropolis, downtown Athens, the Agora, the Panathenaic Stadium, and much more! They have air conditioning and free wifi in the lobby, which was a plus. Don't hesitate in booking this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

This small quiet hotel sports two rooms at the third floor with a terrace and an amazing view over the Acropolis. They're pricier but it's worth to stay there. For the rest, it's simple and clean, very centrally located, the ladies at the reception in the morning are friendly and the rest of the staff quite helpful, breakfast isn't included but not to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We started dealing directly with the Hotel Byron about 8 months ago. We were planning a vacation for clients around the Athens Marathon weekend. We reallly did not expect the property to be extravagent. As a 2 star property we knew what to (not) expect in amenities. We were quoted a rate in January that we accepted and confirmed. In May we received an update that the rate was incorrectly provided. Not only was the rate higher, but they did not provide the rooms as requested and then stated that breakfast would not be included. Calls from the States to the hotel resulted in insults, being yelled at, and ultimately hung up on. Unless you like being treated poorly and being charged more than the confirmed price, stay away from this property. 2star property might actually be a stretch.

Stayed: November 2010
4  Thank USBookingAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is an average-to-good comfortable and superbly located hotel in Plaka. I got a walk-in room at the last minute for €70 on the night of 25 Sep 2010. The owner/staff need to smile more and keep their loud discussions out of the lobby and other common areas.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
Thank grusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#111 of 282 in Athens
236 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#96 of 282 in Athens
327 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#86 of 282 in Athens
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#109 of 282 in Athens
454 reviews
Plaka
Athos Hotel
Athos Hotel
#106 of 282 in Athens
180 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#124 of 282 in Athens
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: 19 Vironos, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $53 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Byron Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing