We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Branch with a perfect hamburger and nice pancakes”
Review of Mama Roux

Mama Roux
Ranked #117 of 3,925 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Asian, Lebanese, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Mama Roux is a casual restaurant with international cuisine on a pedestrian street in Athens's historical center. High quality ingredients, careful preparation, full bar with creative cocktails and selected wines. Elaborate Sunday brunch menu.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Branch with a perfect hamburger and nice pancakes”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited Mama ROUX, and I recomend you to eat its american burgers, they are very, very, good.
We had also pancakes, but as I have already gone in N.Y. and had some at Clinton Street Baking Co.
I' d say that though the pancakes, as such, were good as they were fluffy, they lucked the butter smell. Also, the accompaniments were in very small quantities (nutela, muple sirop and some raspberry jam). I love them with bananas and chocolate sirop with nuts. May be they should try to push up their level, in pancakes.
I recomend this bistro - restaurant, as I think that something like that was missing from Athens.
I recomend, also, to make a reservation before you go, because the place is full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANIKOLAIDOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    188
    54
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Distinctive ambience, great food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a trendy and nice spot in Athens combining delicious food at a good price. Do not miss out its hummus as well as its tiramisu .it' s also centrally located and easy to access.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The big bang theory comes to greece.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Since i found this place i have been hooked. The food is great. Ive had the tandoori kebaby thing and the bagel so far. Bothhave been amazing. Dont get hassled by many street sellers when your outside as greek/ indian sheldon makes an apperance and stalks them. All round a great atmosphere. Most of the tables were booked in the evening the last two nights.
Food is a big range of stuff from thai noodles they do a burger and wraps and and a daily soup and rotated specials depending on the day.

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place, great taste”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Been there very recently with a couple of friends - colleagues and enjoyed every minute ! Not expensive (as other reviews have said), not crowded (for lunch), well-prepared burgers and tandoori. Briefly, a very good, cosy place for lunch in the centre of the city and away from the "awful taverna" style... One can easily satisfy his/her hunger with 15 euros, including a glass of a very good draft beer from Santorini (Yellow Donkey !)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could have easily been in NYC”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A pleasant, modern cosy but not too pretentious restaurant, offering an interesting mix of plates with an indian, mexican and/or american etc. inspiration. Offers indoors and outdoors seating, caters for all ages (at least during lunchtime), serves good wine by the glass, has friendly and attentive staff, all combined with reasonable prices. We liked very much our plates (tikka burger and tandoori chicken kebab) and saw many interesting looking salads and mexican wraps passing-by. Best appreciated when not crowded, as most restaurants are.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Achilleas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Roux also viewed

 

Been to Mama Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing