We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Roux

Mama Roux
Ranked #117 of 3,648 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Mama Roux is a casual restaurant with international cuisine on a pedestrian street in Athens's historical center. High quality ingredients, careful preparation, full bar with creative cocktails and selected wines. Elaborate Sunday brunch menu.
athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The food was OK, nothing special, maybe more expensive than it should.
The place too crowded, smells from the kitchen all around and the staff slow and rude. i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    181
    53
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food but my clothes were smelling for hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent food, value for money. Also, I usually see many food professionals (i.e. chefs or restaurant owners) to have their lunch there. Ideal for a quick lunch after shopping of sightseeing. Be careful: not for a romantic dinner or situations like that. Just, a very good restaurant, at the city center, suitable when you want to take a break.

Its negative charactiristic is that when you are sitting indoors, your clohes are smelling food for hours. On the other hand, when you are sittting outdoors, you have to be very careful with your personal things (bags, etc) because it's a safe place but with a lot of people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akaralop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food - premises below standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ordered a salmon dish which was excellent, the lentils dish was just edible and their house wine was overpriced. When I went downstairs where their toilette and their stores, I had the feeling that the place was not taken proper care.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Some of the best food I've had while traveling! Nice ambiance. Reasonable service. Interesting selections. Inside is non-smoking. Have been back several time during our stay in Athens. Each time, we have enjoyed the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTBillJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stylish,cozy and alternative right in the center of Athens.the inside of the restaurant is better!funny waiters!7/10 for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Voula K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Mama Roux also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mama Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing