We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy!”
Review of Mama Roux

Mama Roux
Ranked #116 of 3,714 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Mama Roux is a casual restaurant with international cuisine on a pedestrian street in Athens's historical center. High quality ingredients, careful preparation, full bar with creative cocktails and selected wines. Elaborate Sunday brunch menu.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stylish,cozy and alternative right in the center of Athens.the inside of the restaurant is better!funny waiters!7/10 for the food.

Helpful?
Thank Voula K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    182
    53
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens greece
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Trendy but ok”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The idea is good: street food from all around the world in a setting that is more London than Athens - I even spotted some communal tables that were a few years ago taboo in Greece. The food was not very memorable but, all in all, a nice place to have lunch and gaze at passers by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pontikak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palairos, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trendy simple restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice international food, nice people in the center of Athens.
Usually full of people, it's a good choice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank roko2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I found out about this restaurant from a person I work with and I decided to try it out with a friend of mine who was in town to visit . Both of us being Americans living in Greece, we were looking for something other than the usual Greek fare. It was easy to find on Aiolou street, situated between Monastiraki and Psirri districts, and directly right across from the new Fish Spa. Upon arrival the place was quite busy and looked welcoming with a nice, funky, urban design with ample outdoor seating. This place had a bit of everything to please most palates. We ordered a cheeseburger, the falafel, and the special of the day which was blackened chicken with sweet potatoe fries and we shared all of the dishes. The quantities were great value for the price. I was a bit skeptical of how the quality of the food would be considering there were so many menu items to choose from, but when the food came it was plain to see they use fresh ingredients and after tasting each item, all were quite delicious. The falafel came in the shape of a koulouri, like a donut shape, wonderful texture crispy outside and soft inside that was served with hummus, a tahini dip, and a small tabouleh salad for 6 euros. One of the best falafel I have ever had! The cheeseburger was 10 euros and was delighted to see it came with a fresh salad and fries for the price! The chicken was not what I considered blackened like I am use to in the US South, but was indeed tenderful, juicy, and the accompanying bbq sauce was very tasty with just enough kick to it. They also had French Fischer beer on tap and we were in heaven. Service prompt and with a smile. Nice outdoor casual atmosphere. 3 plates and 4 huge beers for 45 euros, will definitely revisit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tzen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nea Erithraia, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty food and tastefully hip”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It's always sunny at Mama Roux even on cloudy days. Loved the food each of the 3 times I have been there. The crowd is fun to look at and the food is eclectic but not the typical fusion mashup. Look out for their barbecue nights when the owner plays live music with his friends while patrons eat ribs and burgers from paper plates and dance in the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kapodistriou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Roux also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Mama Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing