We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Stratos Vassilikos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stratos Vassilikos
Ranked #25 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked the master suite and a double room for the children. The master suite is large and even has a large balcony. Our suite didn't have a spa bath as expected but the Jacuzzi shower was a very nice alternative. This is a very nice hotel with a perfect service. A great breakfast with different choices every day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 621 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights prior to boarding the Queen Elizabeth. It is situated on a busy road but inside is an island of calm and efficiency. The reception area is specious and clean and the staff well versed in the English language and very helpful with cold drinks for the weary traveller. Up to the room via the lift we found the public areas to be clean and well kept as was the room with a clean en-suite bathroom, not the best of views from the window as would be expected.
We had a meal in the hotel and found it excellent value, better in fact than the street restaurants in the city centre. Breakfast the next morning had the best selection that we have seen in a hotel up to and including a choice of alcoholic shots. A slight problem here that does not justify downgrading the stars is that the hot food was under the ceiling air-conditioning unit and was rather cold. Taxis in Athens are very reasonable and recommended, from the hotel to the city centre was around 4 Euros. All in all a good stay that I can recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed there with my wife for the second time the first was rather overall negative but things seem to have changed. First of all the room small but clean with a descent bathroom , quality of sleep more than good.Fantastc wifi for free and a breakfast although not of great variety , had great quality with a couple of warm dishes bad sweets that seemed home cooked .The personnel very friendly and although my flight was really early in the morning a take away breakfast was waiting for me thing that I appreciated much, overall a good cheaper solution in the center of Athens without spending much and guys keep up the good work..

Room Tip: I suggest high front floor rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I don't really have any big complaints about the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. The bathroom looked old but it was clean, and everything was functional. The bed was on the hard side, but I was so tired from the flight I did not mind. The place just looked old. But it was a good, clean room.

The lobby had a lot of character - but it was like visiting my Great Aunt's house, all flowery couches and leafy wall paper. (Did I already mention that the place looked old?) Sorry, it did not wow me. It's on a busy street. Don't expect a great view from your window.

Breakfast was included with my room rate, and I was pleasantly surprised by the variety on offer. The buffet was a nice spread of local dishes in addition to the usual continental fare.

A tip to save money on taxi fare (about 60 euros) when your flight arrives in the wee hours of the AM: Take bus 94 going to the city center (2 euros). If you can get somebody to translate the street signs for you, get off at the stop for the Hilton. A taxi from the Hilton to the Stratos cost us 5 euros (the taxi driver claims it is the minimum fare at that hour).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent a week in this hotel April 2014 and ate meals in the hotel every night as part of a tour.

Decor was beautiful, especially the foyer and restaurant areas. Tastefully decorated. Comfortable seating.
Staff are friendly and always available to help. called reception as I thought air-conditioner wasn't working only to be they do have the air-conditioners in use at this time of the year, however they turned up the ventilation.Room was slightly stuffy at times. Beautiful marble bathroom with everything needed. Room was cleaned properly each day.
Food: breakfast could be improved greatly, both in choices and amount. Food is served buffet style and is adequate.
Dinner on the other hand was excellent. Had 3-4 course meal each night and food was delicious and there was plenty of it, service was a little rushed, slow down guys! :)
Location: There are some great coffee shops within walking distance and also a small supermarket, very convenient.
A great improvement to this hotel would be to provide fast and free internet service as it is marketed as a boutique hotel ideal for business people.

Overall would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, highest floor possible as there is sometimes a little noise from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Master Suite last week. Room was very spacious and comfortable with a nice jacuzzi shower. There was a big balcony as well as a dressing area between the bathroom and the bedroom. I had dinner in the restaurant both nights and food was delissh and very reasonably prices. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average but still tasty- They serve ouzo for breakfast as well :). They also have fitness center. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk to the subway and on our last day the hotel offered us late check out as our flight was only in the evening. Overall we had a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Funky interior that felt modern and hip. Nice selection of breads, olives, ouzo, and desserts out daily. Daily breakfast fabulous, such a vide variety of food available including savory and sweet options. Narrow hallways with cool light fixtures. Rooms clean and carry through the modern feel. Bathroom enormous, water pressure amazing. Hair dryer not strong in the bathroom. Wifi sufficient. Not a lot of restaurant options near the hotel, you have to take a cab or get on the metro. A few bars nearby in the park are fun and walking accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meridithbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#42 of 282 in Athens
734 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#78 of 282 in Athens
534 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#48 of 282 in Athens
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratos Vassilikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratos Vassilikos

Address: 114 Michalakopoulou, Athens 11527, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
#42 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $71 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratos Vassilikos 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, unconventional proposal for those who seek something different in the center of Athens is the fully renovated hotel STRATOS VASSILIKOS. In the intensity of impressionism and hyperrealism, the totally renovated hotel unit is now in position to offer to the guest the emotional uplift and euphoria in combination with the coverage of his demands, in a place that combines harmonically the floral style with the frugality and relaxing mood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stratos Vassilikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Athens
Airotel Stratos Vassilikos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing