We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
President Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
Athinais Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Lodge(Filothei-Psychiko)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,615 results
Traveler rating
215
542
503
199
156
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
542
503
199
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcommunal areasmetro stationhigh floorbit datedbuffet breakfastpublic transportationvisit athensyogurtsyntagma squarecentral athenspanormoupenthousetaxiseuropeacropolis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,615 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2009

In search of a hotel in Athens for a weekend, the price of 78 euros/night including breakfast that President Hotel offered was really tempting. The hotel, a huge building with 516 rooms, is located in a residential area, not so far away from the city centre. What is more, Panormou subway station is nearby, so getting to and away from the hotel can't be a problem. Despite the size of the hotel, check in was really easy, as it didn't take more than a couple of minutes. What is more, the staff was very friendly.

Unfortunately, the room was far below my expectations. Although it was pretty good sized, the furnishing and the decoration was not in accordance with the hotel's 4 star class. The bed was pretty hard, so not very comfortable. The air conditioner was really old, with broken parts and broken remote controller. What is more, it was more loud than efficient. The bathroom, although good sized and with a bathtub, was looking old. The range of toiletries offered was small and the towels were worn out. One of them had blood stains on it, but was changed the second day. Finally, although our room was on the 14th floor, we could hear the traffic from the avenue below, even with a closed window. Did I mention that all rooms are non smoking rooms ?

The most negative part of our stay was the breakfast. The restaurant where it was offered was a large, impersonal hall, which reminded of a hotel in the countries of the eastern block of the 80s. The tables had plain tableclothes and, what is more, they were not changed so one was sitting in a dirty table from the previous customers. The food, although good in quantity and range, was not of the best quality. Room service food was no much better either. At least, their room service prices were reasonable, in comparison to other Athens hotels.

The roof garden, as other reviews mention, was the best thing on this hotel. As it is on the 21st floor, the bustle of the city can't be heared so easily, giving the illusion you're somewhere else. The good sized pool was clean, the sunbeds were really relaxing and the staff (which provided towels to all guests free of charge) was helpful and friendly. What is more, the roof top bar was luxury, with nice decoration.

In general, I could say that the hotel was below what one would expect from a four stars hotel. The rooms were impersonal and old fashioned and the food offered is below average. On the other hand, the staff is friendly and the pool is the best i've seen at a city hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed there and I was very surprised! Very clean! Very big rooms! Excellent staff! I recommend it for everybody and families! and very good price!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The president is a large civic hotel in the Ampelokipi area of Athens. It’s within walking distance from two subway stations (METRO) where from one can get to Athens center in just 8 minutes paying €1 per ride or €3 per 24 hours. The area itself is rather densely built up and noisy, yet safe.

The hotel rooms are very basic: Two single beds, an old tv, an ageing air condition unit and a tiny closet (hunger actually) that won’t allow you unpack your suitcases. The bathroom is clean and spacious. I disliked the fact that the floor was covered by a stained fitted carpet that had obviously not been wash-cleaned before the start of the summer season.

Breakfast was ok but the restaurant waiters were indifferent and unconcerned, even impolite at times. We were probably expected to have our breakfast on used and stained tablecloths; when we asked for our wet tablecloth to be changed (the previous customers had emptied a glass of orange juice on it) the waiter suggested that we could choose another table (!!!!)

Do not order drinks at the lobby bar!!! The beer is acidic and lukewarm and cots €4.50. Use the Terrace bar instead, but order bottled wine or beer (not draught) to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Advantages:
- Centrally located with convenient transportation to the historical city centre and airport. Adjacent to Panormou Underground (Metro) Station
- Wonderful terrace with swimming pool, bar and views over the whole city
- Clean rooms and common spaces
- Majority of the rooms have splendid views over the city
Disadvantages:
- Slightly out-of-date rooms
- Dodgy parking facility below the building. We had to pay 14 Euros per day to park our car, even though the website states parking availability
- Slightly overpriced compared to European standards
- Somewhat overpriced drinks in the terrace bar

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This was the 2nd time I stayed in this hotel. The rooms are dated but clean. TV was on the blink, they had BBC World and CNN but not a lot of other English channels. Bathroom is clean enough, shower is powerful but was nearly falling off the wall. Height would not adjust. Bed was comfy. A/c was OK. They have wi-fi but you have to €4 per hour or €15 for 24 hours. In this day and age, it's expensive as many hotels offer it for free. I was on the 10th floor and the traffic was still noisy with the windows shut.
Breakfast was OK at best. They had a smoking area (which after 1st July 2009 will be outlawed) in the breakfast room which was just disgusting. The hot food was fatty but the pastries were OK. I arrived late on Sunday and got a €19 buffet as everywhere nearby was shut. Awful quality. There is an empty mini-bar in the rooms but if you walk out of the hotel to any kiosk they sell water, beer, chocolate, crisps etc, and it is really cheap. So you can still keep drinks etc cold.
If you turn right out of the hotel and walk about 10 minutes to the main intersection, there is a Starbucks and a TGI Fridays. If you keep walking right this will take you immediately past 2 really cool bars and some fast food eateries and also to the nearest metro station into the centre and also Panathinaikos' football ground, which I believe will be knocked down soon (or they are moving to another stadium).
The staff at the hotel are not particularly helpful and I found they like to find an excuse NOT to do something rather than to do it. At €91 B&B it wasn't cheap.
What makes up for the average-ness is the quite stunning rooftop pool and bar - unbelievable - it's like they spent the whole budget on kitting out this place and there was nothing left for the rest. Great furniture, lovely pool, low sofas, nice bar, it looks like THE in place in town. I had about 30 minutes up there before I went to the airport and the panoramic views are great. You can see Lybetticus hill which has a church on top - I think the Acropolis is behind this. You can also see the islands out at sea. It is quite conveniently located as my agent lives on this side of Athens, so doesn't have to brave the shocking traffic to pick me up. If I were a tourist I would stay in the Plaka district, right under the Acropolis, I stayed at the Herodian and Philippos hotels before and I would say quality-wise they are like the President, but just much closer to the tourist traps.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilExport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews