We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but don't ask personnel for restaurant recommendations”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #133 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice rooms, but two single beds pushed together instead of a double or queen size bed. Clean and quiet, very good breakfast. Only negative was that I was foolish enough to ask their front desk staff for a recommendation on where to find asome good burgers, assuming naively that Greeks made the best in the world. They sent us to a dive called "Goody's" and I was thoroughly embarassed for my family, as that is like a McDonald's. Totally gross. Next time, just follow Trip Advisor recommendations for food and ignore the staff/

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

First time in this hotel, and it was excellent for two reasons.

Firstly the comfort of the rooms and polite and helpful staff. Don't be put off by the exterior as inside the public areas are well appointed - with free WiFi - and the rooftop terrace and pool very comfortable, although for the pool we were "out of season". And an added, and unexpected, bonus - valet parking!

But the other reason is how they handled a problem. We had our rental car broken into and GPS stolen. At first we thought this had happened whilst the car was at the hotel. The duty manager was very responsive and explained very clearly how this could not have happened and what their night security staff ad reported when we returned one evening. In fact it had been stolen in town.

Sadly the true mark of any kind of service provider is how they respond when tings go wrong - in this case the President Hotel passed with flying colours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BroughtonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Firstly, it is a well priced hotel, but so are many in Athens. When first arriving at the hotel, my initial impression was that it was an older hotel, but at least looked well preserved by way of the appearance of the lobby. It had that sort of cool 60's vibe and look to it.

The first signs that things were going down hill were the fact that there were odd and even floored elevators, which by todays day and age you would thing would have been upgraded. Upon arriving at my floor, the smell whilst not terrible, was at the same time, not clean and fresh by any means.

The room was fairly sizeable, but the layout was amiss. I was given a room with two twin beds, one near the door and the other along a wall. The bathroom, was large, and obviously set up for handicap access. But all the handicap accessories looked and felt as if they would unhinge from the wall with moderate pressure. Overall, I did not find the bathroom to feel clean at all. Aside from that, the sole amenity was a small soap bar.

Breakfast was interesting, as I was alone, and the room was packed. So it was a choice if either leaving my belongings at a table or maybe seat at a table, and then get my breakfast, or get breakfast and risk not finding a seat. I chose the later, as I had my iPad with me. The food, coffee and OJ were all a true let down. The coffee was mud, the OJ was a powered mix for sure.

On TV, there are only local channels, as far as I could find.

It served it purpose by giving me a place to sleep and shower in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Nice lobby for a city hotel.There are many other places closer to the centre and the action but this suited us fine. We had a guide who took us around so distance from the city centre was not a problem, though some may find the location inconvenient.
Polite and helpful staff. Room was big enough to be comfortable.
The roof top restaurant and pool are really nice -excellent ambience with lovely panoramic views. Ala carte menu was good though service was quite slow. Breakfast was OK. We were there for 4 days and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have been to 5 star hotels in Athens and I was shocked how terrible they were. My Greek friends recommended this hotel because it is were Greeks would accept to stay!!
OMG, it was worth it! The guys and girls at the reception were smiley, polite and helpful. The swimming pool and service around it was exceptional. The poolbar snaks were perfect. The drinks and so on!
I would give this hotel 5* personally and I would hope that the president hotel managers will promote and pay it's staff extra because they are wonderful
I'm staying here again for sure xxx thanks :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaifofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

From the staff at the front desk to the rooftop patio and hotel facilities, I would recommend this place hands down! The rooftop pool is a fantastic place to meet people, have drinks, dessert, etc without even leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family of three stayed at the President Hotel. The room was clean and adequate. The breakfast options were somewhat limited but satisfactory. The location is great as it is convenient to the metro system and bus lines. The rooftop pool was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#25 of 282 in Athens
606 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#83 of 282 in Athens
1,584 reviews
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#90 of 282 in Athens
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airotel Alexandros
#75 of 282 in Athens
517 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#73 of 282 in Athens
412 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#93 of 282 in Athens
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $95 - $1,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing