We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopover in Athens City”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #146 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stopover in Athens City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here before island hopping, the hotel was good value for money. The lobby and the rooftop bar and pool and views of Athens are impressive. Our room was very dated and small......the bathrooms were rather small! The service was good however and all staff were friendly. The location was not great as the metro stop was a long walk. Wifi was also not free (Unlike the other hotels we vistited)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethesuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    474
    433
    158
    107
See reviews for
219
365
117
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the President Hotel for 5 nights in October.
Hotel clean and tidy. Rooms nice and big, bed comfortable, bathroom very small but functional.
The pool bar/views on floor 21 amazing, unfortunately the pool was closed for winter despite it still being 26-29 degrees which really disappointed us.
We were on floor 2 despite requesting via email and at checkin for a high floor. It was very noisy as the road was really busy day & night.
Location: its about a 10 minute walk from the metro station, we found a short cut (up hill) that took a few minutes off the journey, theres a nice sports bar behind hotel on back street (no food) that's really cheap (locals use it).
To sum hotel up:
Perfect hotel if you want a nice clean hotel that's cheaper than others in Athens and you don't mind jumping on metro (which we don't mind). If you want everything on your doorstep its not for you!
Top Tip:
DO NOT put your hand in lift door to stop it from closing, the sensors have been put on the floor and lift will close on your hand! My husband tried helping a family with a wheelchair from stopping lift closing & had his hand stuck in life doors! Very painful & bruised!!

Room Tip: High floor definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although the hotel had a pretty lobby, quiet rooms and a lovely rooftop pool and lounge, the location lowered my rating. It was an uphill trek with our bags from the metro to the hotel. Although the hotel said 100 meters from the metro, I promise that is was further. Wifi wasn't free. Staff was helpful; rooms were functional and clean. Don't stay here if you want easy access to the metro.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jnp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Comfortable room with fridge and safe plus bath and shower. However breakfast not the greatest. Bread, croissants/pastries bit dry and hard and eggs overcooked. Coffee at breakfast not very good although coffee purchased with dinner or in lounge bar was excellent. Ate in the bar/restaurant in the evening and found the 3 course menu for 18 euros very good (changed every day). The rooftop bar/lounge very comfortable and lively. Good view of Athens. Swimming pool had just been closed for end of season but looked great. Had disturbance at 2:30am one night from some teenage guests who were running up and down the corridor and knocking on doors. Partner asked them to be quiet to no avail so called concierge who was very good and dealt with them immediately. (Teenagers on school trip but no school staff nearby). Seems to be very popular hotel and can understand why as good base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siamesecatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location was not bad, you could walk to Carrefour (a supermarket) and some small shops/restaurants nearby. you can also walk 15mins to the metro, 3 stops to Syntagma Square.

The rooms I had was quite spacious, bathroom was spacious with bathtub. Clean & thick mattresses.

But the hairdryer was a nightmare! Not sure why anyone will install a plastic-tube hairdryer mounted to the wall that becomes too hot to hold within 5 minutes. There's no temperature setting to choose from, the plastic tube to hold on to is so thin (it is not a normal hairdryer) that I nearly burnt my fingers. Because you HAVE to put the plastic tube back into its slot to cut-out the hairdryer. The worst design I've ever seen in a big hotel.

Rooftop bar was cool, on the 21st floor. Heard it is actually a rarity that President Hotel is built so tall since nothing is suppose to be taller than the Acropolis in Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessyanling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location if you are thinking to explore Athens downtown via metro just steps away. President Hotel is welcoming with professional and prompt service. Lovely rooms with perks and comfort. Enjoy the 21st floor for drinks or dinner. View from the roof top is breath taking together with the huge pool. Breakfast is prepared for the king.........what a spread. Special request are handled pronto to your satisfaction. Our stay was a wonderful experience which we will repeat very soon.
One recomadation to management is that WiFi should be included as during our travels we received the service with our booking. Parking charges as well as such hotel provides quality service and should be able provide upgrades.

Room Tip: We loved our room as it was on the 16th floor......view was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19791708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed three nights here on a long weekend in Athens. The hotel is a large tower block located a couple of Metro stops out of central Athens. The surrounding streets are very busy but have good amenities including a supermarket, Starbucks plus excellent small tea and coffee bar right beside the hotel. Our room was comfortable and a reasonable size with excellent aircon. The wifi was good but costs extra. Breakfast was reasonable-a good range of choices but quality a bit variable. The bar/restaurant and swimming pool on the top floor are lovely and have great views across the City.

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better as the streets can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Stratos Vassilikos
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#91 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#86 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#120 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 43 Kifissias Leoforos, Athens 115 23, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing