We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, central, good breakfast”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Booked a triple and asked for a quiet room. Were given a top (5th) floor room at the end of a hall facing a courtyard - not a whisper of outdoor noise. The room to room noise was also good, but somewhat odd in its character. One afternoon I walked by the room next door and heard a woman shouting, when I entered my room she could not be heard at all. In fact we heard no talk or TV noise during our 3 days there. But we did hear the bathroom doors (sliders) thump open and close from several rooms, though not loudly. We also heard the hangers in the closet next door rattling as they were used.

Bathroom was smallish but completely adequate for 3 adults. No plumbing, sanitary or other cleanliness issues at all.

As everyone says, location is superb. Not only can you walk to the Parthenon but even the not-to-be-missed Archeological Museum (3 stops on Metro) is an easy walk. In Athens anything 3 stops or fewer on the Metro is really an easy walk, and often just as fast.

The restaurants in the Plaka are just about all overpriced tourist traps, at least as far as food quality and service. Some with open air seating on the roof do provide spectacular settings and the price is then fair.

Breakfast was fine, even my very picky daughter was able to fully enjoy it. Frankly I can't understand the negative reviews of breakfast. You might not call it your very best of your trip but it would certainly rank no less than third from the 7 hotels we sampled during ours.

Only reservation was the restaurant suggestions by the desk staff. The two we used from them were overpriced and touristy. I'd recommend using recommnedations from a travel guide (we thought Fodor's were pretty good) or from a source like Tripadvisor.com over the hotel's.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmC2173ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

Having been to Athens before but going again for only 2 nights I wanted something very central, this hotel is in a great location. Right near the Acropolis and not from Sytemga the shopping strip. There are lots of restuarants nearby though many are touristy and pricey. We walked from the hotel to the major attractions quite easily even in the 38 (almost 100) degrees. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, but we were barly in them. The breakfast is more than adequate and we found the staff really lovely and helpful. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something not too expensive in the heart of Athens near Plaka.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_Traveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We were four women travelers and were very happy there because of the location which was 5 minutes from the Acropolis. The rooms were very adequate and the price reasonable. It did not appear that the rooms had been renovated (or at least the carpet replaced) in quite some time and the hallways were dingy in spots. Elevators (lifts) were tiny, especially with a lot of luggage. Breakfast was excellent and something for everyone. We did feel that the hotel personnel tried to be especially helpful and polite and we appreciated their advice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midliferDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just returned having stayed five nights at this hotel. Our package came to 390 euros per person so great value for money as the location is perfect given the heat.....however:

Unless requested, taxi drivers do not like to go down the narrow street that reaches the hotel, the above image is an unfair representation - it is not on an open, well tendered street, it is rather tucked away but two mins walk to main tourist food/drink area and entry to Akropolis.

Staff are friendly and offer good service. Hotel is not remotely modern - use it as a place to sleep & eat breakfast if you must. Tiny TV (accepted as we didn't spend long in room but what about families?), very old school shower that chose its own temperature at random (tolerated as we're young but older people might not appreciate the guessing game) & the shower curtain reeked (it's very hot in Athens but no excuse.)

Beds were tough but acceptable, room size is small but fine as space not really needed. Room cleaning was efficient & decent.

Breakfast was ok, offered variety but quality could have been better. Go early if you must to catch hot items while they stay warm!

Lifts were from a black & white movie - open door when light indicates internal doors have opened, press button doors fold (not slide!!) shut & very, very slowly, you get to your floor - not an inconvenience but its the 21st century & this hotels position indicates they consider that the selling point - modernity required.

Overall, for the money, good value - any more, definitely not, given the heat & walking required in hilly Athens, I would pay more & ensure a solid nights sleep and good refuelling in the morning after a refreshing shower.

However, value for money, position & my first time in Athens - could definitely have been worse!

p/s - directly opposite the open air cinema in the main touristy eating bit, there is a restaurant right on the corner (Iforget the name) - extremely friendly owner, great staff, superb service & perhaps the best raspberry Mojhito I've ever had - would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiteshLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Our taxi driver had some difficulty finding the hotel initially since there is limited car access. We were only staying in Athens for one night and didn't have much time before we had to be back at the airport and all we wanted to see was the parthenon so the location was ideal for us. We also squeezed in some time for some shopping nearby in Plaka. Just one thing to note, if you're only in Athens for a day and you want to see the Acropolis museum, they are closed on Mondays. hotel was clean, rooms were generous, the staff at reception were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was probably at the best we've had yet! There was a lot of variety - bacon, eggs, sausages, cereal, biscuits, fruit, bread etc. Overall, a very good stay - would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel has not been updated in 15 years minimum. It seems to be located in a former hospital building, because they didn't spend any money in making it up.
Rooms seem not to be very clean and the bed was terrible.
At least, the bathroom was updated...

Wathch out your VISA, the double charged mine and I'm still waiting to recover my money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajero206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It's very centrally located and close to a metro station. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night because of a delay of the flight. After checking out, he kindly showed us some good restaurants on the map. The air conditioning works well but it also sent a smoking smell to the room. Overall, we were happy to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandLee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,494 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 285 in Athens
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 285 in Athens
1,845 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 285 in Athens
627 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 285 in Athens
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: 6 Makri, Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#39 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $89 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing