We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location and Staff were highlights - Good bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #46 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location and Staff were highlights - Good bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent three nights here in September 2013. The hotel is not really anything special in and of itself. The rooms are adequate, with one or two mildly annoying quirks, most notably the grass mat carpet, and poor air conditioning in some rooms.
We had a room at the end of the hall to start. The AC was horrible. But, after attempting to fix it, the staff did agree to move us to another room where the AC was adequate. (They use a central AC system, and I think the further you are down the hall, the worse it gets.)
The main reasons to use this hotel are the location and the staff. The staff was exceptional, providing excellent recommendations for places to shop, directions, and restaurant recommendations. A special thank you to Giota, as she was the best staff member we encountered on our whole trip. We also found Iannis and Akis very helpful as well.
The location can't be beat. It's less that a block from the metro, and a block from a string of decent restaurants. We didn't have Acropolis views, but you can be there in ten minutes by foot.
The breakfast is plentiful, if not inspiring. Basically an average big hotel breakfast.
In summary, if you are looking for a budget choice near everything but not in the highly touristy Plaka, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms with poor AC. The only way to know for sure s to feel the air coming out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyTheTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    606
    199
    42
    21
See reviews for
267
627
76
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is 1 or 2 star hotel. Dirty , outdated and very expensive. breakfast is very average for a 4 star hotel. I would defenetly not recommend this hotel to anybody.
The only positive is the location.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a 1 night stay-over in Athens and needed a reasonably priced property centrally located to the main historical attractions in Athens. The Parthenon fit the bill exactly. It is situated very near restaurants and tavernas as well as an easy walk to the Acropolis and surrounding ruins.taff were very helpful. The rooms were not 5 star but were totally adequate for our purposes, we normally use 4 star properties and this one was absolutely fine.
The breakfast included in our package was ample and had great variety, The staff were friendly and very helpful, Overall you can't go wrong here,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two times during my trip to Athens. I was at the
hotel before and after I went to Istanbul for 4 days and they gladly
kept my extra luggage at the hotel for a small fee. This was great as
the allowable luggage weight is less than the trans-Atlantic airlines.
As well, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Access to the main
attractions and the Plaka were a bonus as we walked everywhere or took the Hop-on-Hop-off bus just a block away. I would recommend
this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia or Jame... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can't beat the location!!!!!!!!!!!!! Central to everything, it is all within walking distance!!! The Acropolis, the museum, Acropolis subway, Plaka with tons of cafes and shopping its all right there!!!!!!!!!!
Rooms are large by European standards, nice bathrooms. Was great to have a balcony!!! Staff is super helpful and friendly.
If you need a nite taxi to the airport let them know you are willing to share and they can set up a van for 40 euro's instead of the 55 the taxi charges..which is a savings. Also they charge for wifi which we didn't know till we checked out so ask about that when you check in.
Breakfast is good, something for everyone but they could cook the bacon LOL.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The first night we were in a room with broken AC so it was rather warm all night. We moved rooms the next day as they couldn't fix it and this one was much better. They gave us a platter of fruit as a congratulations on our marriage when we arrived. The room was pretty small and basic but clean and all we really needed for our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful.. whenever you needed them at your room they seemed to magically appear within a minute or so. The hotel is extremely conveniently located (a minute walking from the Acropolis metro station and to the museum and Acropolis) which was all we really cared about. Breakfast was decent but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Close your eyes, turn off the lights and you will be in the best hotel in the city. The hotel is nothing special but you can't beat the location with a fair price. One block from Acropolis museum, the pathenon, Plaka and subway. We would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#20 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#27 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#47 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Property: Airotel Parthenon
Address: 6 Makri (Makrigianni), Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing