We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Staff were highlights - Good bargain”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent three nights here in September 2013. The hotel is not really anything special in and of itself. The rooms are adequate, with one or two mildly annoying quirks, most notably the grass mat carpet, and poor air conditioning in some rooms.
We had a room at the end of the hall to start. The AC was horrible. But, after attempting to fix it, the staff did agree to move us to another room where the AC was adequate. (They use a central AC system, and I think the further you are down the hall, the worse it gets.)
The main reasons to use this hotel are the location and the staff. The staff was exceptional, providing excellent recommendations for places to shop, directions, and restaurant recommendations. A special thank you to Giota, as she was the best staff member we encountered on our whole trip. We also found Iannis and Akis very helpful as well.
The location can't be beat. It's less that a block from the metro, and a block from a string of decent restaurants. We didn't have Acropolis views, but you can be there in ten minutes by foot.
The breakfast is plentiful, if not inspiring. Basically an average big hotel breakfast.
In summary, if you are looking for a budget choice near everything but not in the highly touristy Plaka, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms with poor AC. The only way to know for sure s to feel the air coming out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyTheTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is 1 or 2 star hotel. Dirty , outdated and very expensive. breakfast is very average for a 4 star hotel. I would defenetly not recommend this hotel to anybody.
The only positive is the location.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Teresa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a 1 night stay-over in Athens and needed a reasonably priced property centrally located to the main historical attractions in Athens. The Parthenon fit the bill exactly. It is situated very near restaurants and tavernas as well as an easy walk to the Acropolis and surrounding ruins.taff were very helpful. The rooms were not 5 star but were totally adequate for our purposes, we normally use 4 star properties and this one was absolutely fine.
The breakfast included in our package was ample and had great variety, The staff were friendly and very helpful, Overall you can't go wrong here,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two times during my trip to Athens. I was at the
hotel before and after I went to Istanbul for 4 days and they gladly
kept my extra luggage at the hotel for a small fee. This was great as
the allowable luggage weight is less than the trans-Atlantic airlines.
As well, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Access to the main
attractions and the Plaka were a bonus as we walked everywhere or took the Hop-on-Hop-off bus just a block away. I would recommend
this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia or Jame... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can't beat the location!!!!!!!!!!!!! Central to everything, it is all within walking distance!!! The Acropolis, the museum, Acropolis subway, Plaka with tons of cafes and shopping its all right there!!!!!!!!!!
Rooms are large by European standards, nice bathrooms. Was great to have a balcony!!! Staff is super helpful and friendly.
If you need a nite taxi to the airport let them know you are willing to share and they can set up a van for 40 euro's instead of the 55 the taxi charges..which is a savings. Also they charge for wifi which we didn't know till we checked out so ask about that when you check in.
Breakfast is good, something for everyone but they could cook the bacon LOL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The first night we were in a room with broken AC so it was rather warm all night. We moved rooms the next day as they couldn't fix it and this one was much better. They gave us a platter of fruit as a congratulations on our marriage when we arrived. The room was pretty small and basic but clean and all we really needed for our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful.. whenever you needed them at your room they seemed to magically appear within a minute or so. The hotel is extremely conveniently located (a minute walking from the Acropolis metro station and to the museum and Acropolis) which was all we really cared about. Breakfast was decent but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Close your eyes, turn off the lights and you will be in the best hotel in the city. The hotel is nothing special but you can't beat the location with a fair price. One block from Acropolis museum, the pathenon, Plaka and subway. We would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fernanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,923 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,410 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#52 of 282 in Athens
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,818 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,077 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Address: 6 Makri, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#39 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing