We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel pick - exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #48 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel pick - exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the value of this hotel. Maybe the hotel overall could use a facelift, but that wasn't too important to me, compared to the excellent service, excellent location, clean rooms, and outstanding value for the price overall!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mourad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    622
    201
    43
    22
See reviews for
275
642
76
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

You can't go wrong with the location of this hotel. It's walkable distance everything you want. The room itself is average, but sufficient. We did not sleep very well, mostly because we found the mattresses to be uncomfortable.

The breakfast that was included was a nice touch.

The elevators are ridiculously small!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suebdoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

For a school trip to Greece, we stayed at the hotel Parthenon for 4 nights.
It was a pretty good hotel considering being used to 6 star hotels.
The staff was friendly at times and rooms were a pretty good..
Dinner at the hotel wasn't the best but it was okay:)
Breakfast was awesome though! Huge variety of Greek AND English selections...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LeAnne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My enjoyable two-week stay in Athens was made even better by the excellent staff at the Airotel Parthenon. I had a good idea of what I wanted to do and see, but I was able to do and see much more thanks to their helpful, friendly advice. They gave me insider tips for where to shop (January-February sales!), eat, and pamper myself. The staff speaks perfect English, but I learned a lot of Greek, too! If you are a walker like me (at least five miles a day), this hotel is perfectly situated to walk to everything of interest - temples, monuments, ruins, Contemporary Art galleries, museums, churches, tavernas, and parks. I took the Metro only once during my entire visit.

The breakfast was fortifying and delicious and I didn't feel hungry until lunch-time. After a couple of days, the restaurant staff took note of where I sat, and that I liked cappuccino and the International Herald Tribune each morning. The free Internet service in the lobby was very convenient, though slow at times. You can pay to get a faster connection.

At first, I was given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the quiet side street, but was then moved to Room 512, which I really enjoyed. There was a nice terrace where I could have my morning coffee and listen to the canaries sing, and see the mountains and rooftops of Athens. [I was also offered Room 601 because I had requested it, based on traveler reviews. It has a view of the Parthenon, but I much preferred 512.] One suggestion I have is that the towels should be replaced (they are a little worn out) and it would be nice to have washcloths, too. Otherwise, the amenities, TV, and coffee/tea set-up were fine. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well every night I was there.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors overlooking the side street are a good bet because they are quieter with more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenW309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Positive things first... The location is absolutely perfect. Less than a block from the Acropolis Metro station, on the edge of Plaka, and walking distance to Acroplois and other archeological sites. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Since we had such trouble with our room(s) they sent a fruit basket to soften the blow.
We had to switch rooms four times until we found one without mold. I do not mean a little discoloration in the caulk around the tub. The shower ceilings were so caked with black smelly mold that it looked like it would drip on me. YECH!
Breakfast was cold and old. Coffee, Crepes and yogurt worthwhile. Skip everything else.
4-stars? Maybe twenty years ago. The whole hotel is dated and warn. Parthenon Hotel is probably worth the money due to its location but choose your room carefully.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom for mold. Get the safe key (if you want it) before going to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROUP-AIROTEL, Front Office Manager at Airotel Parthenon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us whilst travelling to Athens last February.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we regret that on this occasion we were unable to fulfill this commitment. We have noted your comment about the level of service you received and would like to express our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused to you. Lapses in our usually high standards of service are indeed rare and we appreciate any feedback that will assist us in further improving upon our standards.

May we also take this opportunity to inform you that the hotel is under facility-wide cleaningness, so as to face this kind of issues mentioned in your comment.
Regarding breakfast, the issue has been discussed with the heads of the appropriate department in order to take appropriate corrective action.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airotel Parthenon Hotel on your next visit to Athens.


Kind Regards,
Theodoros Evaggelopoulos

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at the Airotel Parthenon, and was overall very pleased with my stay. There are two highlights at this property- the location and the staff. It's easy to access from the airport, thanks to the nearby Metro stop, it's right around the corner from the Plaka neighborhood and a 2 minute walk away from the Acropolis and Acropolis museum, yet the street itself is quiet and peaceful, so you get the best of both worlds! The staff were outstanding as well, happy to answer any questions about the area, transportation, restaurant recommendations, etc. I had a very early flight back to Poland, early enough that the Metro wouldn't be running when I needed to get to the airport, and they arranged a wake-up call, airport transfer and an early breakfast for me, which made the morning much less stressful.

The area that I think the Parthenon could improve on most are the rooms themselves. I had a comfortable bed, but the rooms lack character and feel very impersonal, like you could be anywhere in the world. The walls are also quite thin- I'm a light sleeper, and was frequently woken up by conversations or television coming from adjoining rooms. I was also baffled to see the rooms didn't have alarm clocks or Do Not Disturb signs, (in a 4 star hotel? Really?) and the climate system was rather odd in that it didn't have a "fan" setting, just heating or air-conditioning, neither of which you really want in Athens in February. I didn't spend much time in my room, but it's clear to me that the rooms don't match the outstanding service and location of the Parthenon.

Still, unless you require a lot of creature comforts or can't sleep unless you're surrounded by designer furnishings, I would still recommend this hotel, particularly if it's your first time in the city- the location and staff are that good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor if possible, to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganderAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Can't beat the location! Walking distance to so many landmarks as well as a nice shopping/touristy area. The gelato place around the corner was fabulous!
On a big group (about 40 people) trip we stayed here two nights total. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, as were the bathrooms. The restaurant was lovely, especially the breakfast. The WiFi only seemed to work in certain parts of the hotel which was annoying.
Since the cost was part of the one fee paid to the tour company, I cannot speak to the value for the dollar, and I did not visit the pool or fitness center.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#26 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#24 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Property: Airotel Parthenon
Address: 6 Makri (Makrigianni), Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing