We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Airotel Parthenon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Airotel Parthenon
Ranked #49 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at Airotel Parthenon April 2012. Great location, just at the foot of Acropolis. Walking distance to Acropolis Museum, lots of restaurants and souvenir shops in the area. Very safe location. Offers free buffet breakfast, clean room. Well recommended...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanijose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    656
    219
    46
    23
See reviews for
300
669
83
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 20 May till 23 May 2012. The hotel is in an excellent location so close to everything. Just a few minutes to the Train Station is a major bonus. You can get the train from the airport to the hotel and visa versa - a big saving in taxi fares. All the major attractions are walking distance as well. The staff were very helpful too. There is a computer in the foyer for guests to use and there is wireless internet in the rooms. Comfy beds as well. Also the hotel will post your mail if you would like them to. Breakfast was different everyday and there was a large variety of foods to choose from and delicious as well. The room was cleaned every day. We asked for a non smoking room and we couldn't smell any smoke at all. Some other hotels we have stayed in Europe hand lingering smoke smells but not this hotel. Would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Would definately stay again. The staff were helpful and attentive. The room was clean and cleaned everyday. There was plenty to choose from in the breakfast buffet and the hotel is in Ab absolutely perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Greece with my husband and adult son and our first hotel in Athens, the Airotel Parthenon was perfect. It was located at the edge of the Plaka and a 5 min. walk to the Acropolis and Museaum. The hotel was a bit old, but very clean, comfortable and quiet and the buffet breakfast was the best of the whole trip! The staff was also very helpful. We would stay here again. By the way, there was a fabulous Taverna called "Thespis" just a short walk away. Very cute, nice view and the best Greek Salad I ever had!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLRedrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Parthenon for two nights during our recent trip to Greece and found it to be a very nice hotel in a great location. The hotel was a bit dated but very clean and the service was excellent, one of the better breakfast buffets we've had in Europe. One tip, avoid the outdoor cafe at the top of the street. The food was terrible and we were overcharged.
M. Clegg

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclegg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goonellabah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Position, position, position. In a small, orange tree lined street off main drag. Very quiet, near to Plaka with wonderful eateries and shops. Very safe area. Walking distance to Parthenon, New Acropolis Museum, Hadrians Arch, Temple of Zeus, Parliament building, National Garden and Syntagma Square. Basic good sized room, small bathroom, huge balcony, clean, comfortable bed.
Helpful staff, good breakfast.
Love it

Room Tip: Fifth floor facing street have huge balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbahduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Well the less said the better. Booked this hotel on reading good reviews on the site – We couldn’t go more wrong. The positive first: LOCATION - the hotel is very close to the Acropolis hill, the museum and plaka – the touristic shopping area. And the positives end there. But there are several hotels in this area which have the same benefit of location.
About the hotel –
1. The rooms are shabby.
2. The blankets had cigarette butts on them
3. Carpets had stains, hair, leftover food and a nokia charger from the previous guest. This was the second room we changed due to the similar reasons. It was past 11 PM and we were tired, we did not have the strength and inclination to see another room so we just put in hoping next day the room will be cleaned better- It wasn’t.
4. The breakfast was usual. Food was not replenished once finished. It was still time for the breakfast to close and we asked for a bowl of cornflakes as there was nothing left to eat, we were not given that.
5. The reception staff was indifferent. They had no clue about quite a few tourist FAQs, all they did was hand over a map. And keep mentioning that the hotel is full.
Our holiday in Greece were by and large one of the best. The people were helpful, the country breathtaking, apart from this glitch. I will not stay again or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
995 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#47 of 326 in Athens
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
703 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airotel Parthenon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airotel Parthenon

Property: Airotel Parthenon
Address: 6 Makri (Makrigianni), Athens 117 42, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#44 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airotel Parthenon 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-Story Hotel situated in central location; across from the Plaka district/Old City; ten minute walk from the Acropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airotel Parthenon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airotel Parthenon Athens
Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens
Parthenon Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing