We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-budget hotel”
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #75 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is exactly that!! A low budget hotel. It was very dated. Stayed here for three nights from October 15 to 17, 2013.

Pros: Distance to Ermou Street, Syntagma, Syntagma Metro, X95 bus stop, acropolis, Monastiraki, Plaka and many restaurants and cafes were within walking distance. Great location to be near all these attractions.

Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Fresh bread daily, croissants, biscuits, greek yoghurt, fruit, eggs, sausages, juice, coffee etc.

Staff very friendly.

Walking outside at night felt safe. No shady characters or anything like that.

Cons: Nothing really other than it wasn't a 5star hotel. We knew this though when we booked it. It is quite dated but, acceptably clean and comfortable. Also, the safe is very small and does not fit a macbook.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor in room 601. The air con was a bit loud when it was at full speed. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 887 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had choosen this hospital for the location. It is location at heart of Athens. Right at syntagma square, walking distance from X95(airport bus service), walkable to Acropolis and the old city. Cabs line up just near the hotel 24 X 7, so no issues regarding safety and dark alley walks. The rooms are OK, nothing great nor bad if you are not looking for luxury. Bathroom was a a lot cramped, looked like a cruise bathroom.

Overall, its a good bargain if you are looking to spend a lot of time exploring city and not looking for a relaxed hotel stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthB233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Entry foyer very presentable and a good breakfast. Booked this one through our travel agent at a much greater expense than would have been the case if booked online. Stay was in conjunction with a Sunquest tour.
Beds were a twin configuration and on wheels.... and moved a lot.
Bathroom was poor. Shower curtain allowed spray all over the floor and the drain for the basin was held together with tape. Not worth the money spent .
Only saving grace for this one is the position.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

located in the heart of Athens. 50 meters to the syntagma, 100 meters from the station of X95, 10 minutes on foot to the acropolis, surrounding by shops\restaurants etc...
most of the staffs were helpful.
the bathroom was small and need to be clean.

Room Tip: some rooms face to the street maybe noisy in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very close to Syntagma metro station which was very useful for a very early start for the airport one morning. Stayed there twice when in Greece June 2013. Great location to get anywhere in Athens. Not at all fancy, as the title suggests, basic, but good value for money. Fridge and air con in the room, very useful! Breakfast also basic but adequate. When I needed to change my dates to stay there because my flights were changed by the airline, the hotel refunded the money I had paid in advance despite previously being told the money was not refundable! I stayed on the 8th floor, and one evening accidentally pressed the 9th floor. This was the floor with access to the roof top part of the hotel where I got a great view of the Acropolis!

Room Tip: My room had no view, but I had asked for a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Arethusa Hotel in Athens. The great thing about the hotel is its location : just 5 minutes from the Syntagma metro station; 10 minutes walk from the Acropolis and just about every other major sights in Athens. Even the Plaka markets are minutes away by foot. The hotel is fine.. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean . The wifi was weak on the 5th floor where we stated. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you want uninterrupted wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvenugopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best with this hotel is the location: get off at Syntagma Square with the Airport bus and you will see the sign on the hotel. Very easy to find! It is also near to walk to Plaka, the old town, and the shopping areas. There are a lot of nice restaurants in the area as well.

We stayed 2 nights on our way to the islands and that was enough for us. I wouldn´t have liked to stay longer in this hotel. The room is ok, but nothing extra. There was a lot of noise from the street at night: people yelling at it each other until very late and lots of motorbikes outside. I guess that´s Athens for you and nothing to do about it, but it might be better to stay in a hotel with rooms higher up if you don´t like noise outside.. We stayed at the 2nd floor.

Breakfast is so-so, ok but quite boring.

Room Tip: Try to stay as high up as possible to get away from the traffic and street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cizein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#60 of 281 in Athens
547 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#58 of 281 in Athens
641 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 281 in Athens
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#121 of 281 in Athens
307 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 281 in Athens
969 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#45 of 281 in Athens
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing