We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great location if limited time in Athens”
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #74 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very close to Syntagma metro station which was very useful for a very early start for the airport one morning. Stayed there twice when in Greece June 2013. Great location to get anywhere in Athens. Not at all fancy, as the title suggests, basic, but good value for money. Fridge and air con in the room, very useful! Breakfast also basic but adequate. When I needed to change my dates to stay there because my flights were changed by the airline, the hotel refunded the money I had paid in advance despite previously being told the money was not refundable! I stayed on the 8th floor, and one evening accidentally pressed the 9th floor. This was the floor with access to the roof top part of the hotel where I got a great view of the Acropolis!

Room Tip: My room had no view, but I had asked for a quiet room and it was.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Arethusa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 875 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Arethusa Hotel in Athens. The great thing about the hotel is its location : just 5 minutes from the Syntagma metro station; 10 minutes walk from the Acropolis and just about every other major sights in Athens. Even the Plaka markets are minutes away by foot. The hotel is fine.. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean . The wifi was weak on the 5th floor where we stated. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if you want uninterrupted wifi.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvenugopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The best with this hotel is the location: get off at Syntagma Square with the Airport bus and you will see the sign on the hotel. Very easy to find! It is also near to walk to Plaka, the old town, and the shopping areas. There are a lot of nice restaurants in the area as well.

We stayed 2 nights on our way to the islands and that was enough for us. I wouldn´t have liked to stay longer in this hotel. The room is ok, but nothing extra. There was a lot of noise from the street at night: people yelling at it each other until very late and lots of motorbikes outside. I guess that´s Athens for you and nothing to do about it, but it might be better to stay in a hotel with rooms higher up if you don´t like noise outside.. We stayed at the 2nd floor.

Breakfast is so-so, ok but quite boring.

Room Tip: Try to stay as high up as possible to get away from the traffic and street noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cizein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I (we are 26 and 31 years old) went on a late summer vacation to Greece and this was the first hotel we stayed at in Greece.

Pros:
Location- This hotel is located in the heart of Athens. It's located about 3 blocks from Syntagma Square subway station where it's easy to catch the train to the airport and the whole subway system. We had easy access to the Acropolis, Ancient Agora, restaurants, and shops.

Breakfast- The breakfast buffet had the standard Greek breakfast that we saw at all the hotels we stayed at. It consisted of yogurt, honey, cereal, toast, boiled eggs, sausage, greek fruit, coffee, tea.

Staff- All the staff were very helpful in helping us to find where to go.

Cons:
Noise- The doors are very thin so if anyone if talking out in the hall you will hear them. Also, the ventilation from the bathroom connected with our neighbor's bathroom and I could actually hear conversations and see into their room.

Bed- The bed was very very firm, but I have found this to be the case with many European hotels I have stayed at.

Overall I would stay here again if I went back to Greece and would recommend it to a traveler on a budget (but bring ear plugs).

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can to get away from the noisy streets of Athens. The city comes alive late a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved this hotel as its only about 100 metres from the Syntagma square metro, which is a 30min ride on the metro costing only 8 euro. Big sign so you cant miss this hotel just across the square. Great spot when you have heavy luggage to carry. There is a lift which makes it very easy to take suitcases up to room. The room was good sized with floorboards. Found it to be clean. TV is a bit dated but why watch TV in a city so full of life. If you are lucky enough, you may be able to see the Acropolis from you bedroom. Windows opened, which is good when you get tired of air conditioning. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Good selection of foods for breakfast. we found the man at the front desk very helpful. There is a late check out which helps. Wifi didn't work in our room but worked really well at the breakfast area and reception. I even managed to Skype just outside the hotel. Just down the road you will find lots of cafes and at the end is the shopping area with the flea market an mall. Will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing main road have partial Acropolis view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylou66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

There is only one lift in the hotel which can only take 2 people with 2 suitcases tightly fitted. Problem when lots of people want to check out on the same time and you are on the 7th floor. Stair are very slippery and not user friendly. Breakfast was average.

Rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: There is only one lift in the hotel which can only take 2 people with 2 suitcases tightly fitted. Pr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is well located to see most of the main attractions by foot. The Hotel staff are friendly and willing to help/assist where they can. The only gripe I had was the Internet access, which if important to you then would be a let down. The facilities overall are good. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, the breakfast is good as well. The hotel is a few minutes away from the underground station, all being centrally positioned near to the parliament. Use the underground from the airport, only €8.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#50 of 282 in Athens
539 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#53 of 282 in Athens
632 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#121 of 282 in Athens
304 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
959 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $59 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing