We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in central Athens”
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #75 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I (we are 26 and 31 years old) went on a late summer vacation to Greece and this was the first hotel we stayed at in Greece.

Pros:
Location- This hotel is located in the heart of Athens. It's located about 3 blocks from Syntagma Square subway station where it's easy to catch the train to the airport and the whole subway system. We had easy access to the Acropolis, Ancient Agora, restaurants, and shops.

Breakfast- The breakfast buffet had the standard Greek breakfast that we saw at all the hotels we stayed at. It consisted of yogurt, honey, cereal, toast, boiled eggs, sausage, greek fruit, coffee, tea.

Staff- All the staff were very helpful in helping us to find where to go.

Cons:
Noise- The doors are very thin so if anyone if talking out in the hall you will hear them. Also, the ventilation from the bathroom connected with our neighbor's bathroom and I could actually hear conversations and see into their room.

Bed- The bed was very very firm, but I have found this to be the case with many European hotels I have stayed at.

Overall I would stay here again if I went back to Greece and would recommend it to a traveler on a budget (but bring ear plugs).

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can to get away from the noisy streets of Athens. The city comes alive late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 907 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved this hotel as its only about 100 metres from the Syntagma square metro, which is a 30min ride on the metro costing only 8 euro. Big sign so you cant miss this hotel just across the square. Great spot when you have heavy luggage to carry. There is a lift which makes it very easy to take suitcases up to room. The room was good sized with floorboards. Found it to be clean. TV is a bit dated but why watch TV in a city so full of life. If you are lucky enough, you may be able to see the Acropolis from you bedroom. Windows opened, which is good when you get tired of air conditioning. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Good selection of foods for breakfast. we found the man at the front desk very helpful. There is a late check out which helps. Wifi didn't work in our room but worked really well at the breakfast area and reception. I even managed to Skype just outside the hotel. Just down the road you will find lots of cafes and at the end is the shopping area with the flea market an mall. Will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing main road have partial Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylou66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

There is only one lift in the hotel which can only take 2 people with 2 suitcases tightly fitted. Problem when lots of people want to check out on the same time and you are on the 7th floor. Stair are very slippery and not user friendly. Breakfast was average.

Rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: There is only one lift in the hotel which can only take 2 people with 2 suitcases tightly fitted. Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is well located to see most of the main attractions by foot. The Hotel staff are friendly and willing to help/assist where they can. The only gripe I had was the Internet access, which if important to you then would be a let down. The facilities overall are good. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, the breakfast is good as well. The hotel is a few minutes away from the underground station, all being centrally positioned near to the parliament. Use the underground from the airport, only €8.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed our stay. The location is great, walking distance to the train station, with lots of good shopping and restaurants nearby. The room was pretty basic, but clean, comfortable, relatively spacious, and quiet. The bathroom was clean, but the shower water pressure and temperature could have been a bit better. The hotel was equipped with an elevator, making it very easy to move luggage. Wifi and TV worked well, and breakfast was simple but good. The rooftop view was absolutely amazing, and a great spot to unwind with a bottle of wine at the end of the night. Would recommend this location, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed just one night in Athens on our way to Istanbul. We chose the Arethusa because of its location close to the Acropolis area and easy access from the airport.

The hotel is by no means grand or luxurious, but our room was bigger than average for a European mid-price hotel, and it was clean and comfortable. The air-conditioning worked OK and there was no external noise - although we did get a bit from the corridor at one stage but nothing that disturbed us or prevented a good night sleep. The bathroom is small, but the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water.

Wireless internet is available for free, but we found it was slow to the point of stopping in the middle part of the evening. Later at night (when I assume less people were logged in), it was fine.

The breakfast had a good selection of food available, but all of very average quality. Acceptable for a quick starter. The reception staff we good - not exactly talkative, but helped us with directions and general information, as well as storing our bags in the morning while we had a walk around.

The key benefit of the Arethusa is definitely its location. It is a 15 minute walk up to the Arcopolis. It is also on the edge of the restaurant and retail area. The restaurants and bars start on the street opposite the front door, and with a few minutes walk there are literally dozens of busy, vibrant places to choose from.

Access to the hotel from the airport could not be easier - just take the X95 bus ($5 Euro) from the arrivals area and it drops you at Syntagma Square - the hotel sign is visible when you step off the bus.

I would not recommend staying for more than a couple of nights at the Arethusa, but for a short stay, its perfect location lets you can maximise your time in Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel has a good location, Syntagma sq. is on the hop on / hop off bus route, great way to get round the sites. Rooms are o'k and the hotel has free WiFi. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance, turn right out of the hotel and keep going!!. Everest coffee outlet on the sq. for great coffee fix.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#59 of 282 in Athens
559 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#117 of 282 in Athens
311 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 282 in Athens
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#70 of 282 in Athens
329 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#68 of 282 in Athens
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing