We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location is perfect; hotel should consider the details a bit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #83 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Location is perfect; hotel should consider the details a bit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at Arethusa in a single room for 3 nights. Overall, I can say that;

Pros:
- The location is fantastic. It's just less than a minute walking distance to Syntagma Square and the metro. One step behind of Ermou Street.
- The rate was 40 € a night for a single room which was great.
- The room was fine for a single person. It was actually a double bed.
- The reception is open 7/24.

Cons:
- The breakfast wasn't so various; but not that bad. Also, that's a shame that you realise more water taste than orange juice.
- Bathroom was okay; but there should definitely be a shower cabin. Otherwise, all ground gets wet.
- They said the rooftop terrace is open from 6:30 am to 10:30 pm; but it was closed when I wanted to take a look at on day time.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel who wants to be in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChildrenOfBodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    264
    236
    87
    31
See reviews for
109
265
108
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was not what I expected. One of the receptionists was rude and with an attitude.
When I have checked in the room, the receptionist gave me a single room and not a double that I have reserved. I went to complain nicely and another receptionist was their as he has just replaced the other one who was fine. The receptionist was not kind and he was moody and disaffected. Regarding the room when I was talking to the receptionist, he was not even looking at me like he was ignoring me or did not care. Not even an apology just "Let me check, you are right" and he turn to the receptionist he has just replaced and told him "Give him a double room he is right" not an apology or even a smile.
A friend came and we ask him to let him a bag she was carrying. He took it without even saying anything with no smile or even say ok.
I then realize I was not the problem but he was the problem.
I reserved for two nights and I checked out the second night as I could not stay in a hotel that I was not feeling welcome.
I have never had such a bad experience with a receptionist in my life.
I guess there is the first time for everything.
As far as the room goes, well check my photos and you can be the judge.
Dirty bed cover old toilet like my grandmothers and the door of the room apart that it was in horrible condition, it needed a big push to close.
The only thing it is positive about this hotel it is the location.
There are many better hotels like Athens Plaza Hermes Hotel Amazon Best Western....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Doha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night, to be closer to the international airport. The rooms are clean and simple. The location can't be beat- walking distance to the acropolis and Parthenon, as well as Plaka (bars, shops, restaurants). Up the street from the hotel is the 5€ airport shuttle that leaves multiple times per hour. The wifi is fast enough, also. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessplum8141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked two nights in this hotour el.Very competitive price.100 euros totally.Including free Wifi in your room and free breakfast.The location is better than you can imagine.The Metro station is so close to the hotel.Around 300 meters.When you wanna visit Acropolis.Just take the metro for 1 stop.Daily ticket is 4 euros.It is easy to take the metro blue line to the airport.8 euros for single journey.14euros for the round-trip in 48 hours.If you wanna take the ship to those islands.You will take the metro green line to the harbor Periaus.The single is big enough for me.Very clean.Enough clean towls.Helpful staff here all the time.Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaselencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is such a relief to get out of the bus at Syntagma and look up and see the Arethusa sign. The convenience of its location makes up for a lot. It is better than good value. The modesty of the tariff reflects the modesty of the hotel itself. But it is clean and the staff at the front desk are friendly and English is no problem. A word of advice. Skip the breakfast especially if you have to do battle with a tour. It is not worth the struggle. At the price, you can afford to eat out for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 996Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pro: Perfect location, right near Syntagma metro station, and easy walk to Plaka. Decent enough buffet breakfast included in rate. Nice size rooms. The best part is the rates, especially the prepaid ones. I paid only 40 Euros for a double room for single use.

Con: Desk staff were rather sullen and not especially friendly. Rooms are functional but undistinguished, definitely not "cozy," much like other lower priced business-oriented 3* hotels I've stayed at in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P_Cherches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Arethusa is not a fancy hotel, and those looking for charm or special TLC will be disappointed. What it is is a better-than-average tourist class hotel with a supremely central and convenient location (just steps off Syntagma square, the X95 airport bus stop, and the metro), helpful desk personnel (especially in the mornings), a welcoming lobby with comfy if careworn couches and a sidewalk cafe, decent beds, commendable cleanliness, and a free buffet breakfast that far surpasses those of many more expensive hotels in the area. A stroll down Mitropoleos takes you into the heart of the Plaka. An excellent zacharoplasteion/patisserie kitty corner across the street offers baklava, ice cream and other sinful treats late into the night. A taxi rank is a half block away. What more could you ask for your modest room rate? Well, for us it was one thing: another free electrical plug, especially one that isn't across the room from the mirror. Taste in hotels is personal, and for us when we're in Athens (we've been there a number of times), we're much too busy seeing the sights to loll around in our hotel room, so this is our kind of place.

Room Tip: Our room 206 looked out on Mitropoleos Street and was adequately quiet. The two elevators are minus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabondage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#51 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#61 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#56 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#133 of 337 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Syntagma
Astor Hotel Athens
Astor Hotel Athens
#126 of 337 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#44 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Property: Arethusa Hotel
Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing