We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It needs renovation.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #89 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It needs renovation.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was not what I expected. One of the receptionists was rude and with an attitude.
When I have checked in the room, the receptionist gave me a single room and not a double that I have reserved. I went to complain nicely and another receptionist was their as he has just replaced the other one who was fine. The receptionist was not kind and he was moody and disaffected. Regarding the room when I was talking to the receptionist, he was not even looking at me like he was ignoring me or did not care. Not even an apology just "Let me check, you are right" and he turn to the receptionist he has just replaced and told him "Give him a double room he is right" not an apology or even a smile.
A friend came and we ask him to let him a bag she was carrying. He took it without even saying anything with no smile or even say ok.
I then realize I was not the problem but he was the problem.
I reserved for two nights and I checked out the second night as I could not stay in a hotel that I was not feeling welcome.
I have never had such a bad experience with a receptionist in my life.
I guess there is the first time for everything.
As far as the room goes, well check my photos and you can be the judge.
Dirty bed cover old toilet like my grandmothers and the door of the room apart that it was in horrible condition, it needed a big push to close.
The only thing it is positive about this hotel it is the location.
There are many better hotels like Athens Plaza Hermes Hotel Amazon Best Western....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    284
    249
    88
    33
See reviews for
119
285
113
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night, to be closer to the international airport. The rooms are clean and simple. The location can't be beat- walking distance to the acropolis and Parthenon, as well as Plaka (bars, shops, restaurants). Up the street from the hotel is the 5€ airport shuttle that leaves multiple times per hour. The wifi is fast enough, also. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessplum8141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked two nights in this hotour el.Very competitive price.100 euros totally.Including free Wifi in your room and free breakfast.The location is better than you can imagine.The Metro station is so close to the hotel.Around 300 meters.When you wanna visit Acropolis.Just take the metro for 1 stop.Daily ticket is 4 euros.It is easy to take the metro blue line to the airport.8 euros for single journey.14euros for the round-trip in 48 hours.If you wanna take the ship to those islands.You will take the metro green line to the harbor Periaus.The single is big enough for me.Very clean.Enough clean towls.Helpful staff here all the time.Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaselencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is such a relief to get out of the bus at Syntagma and look up and see the Arethusa sign. The convenience of its location makes up for a lot. It is better than good value. The modesty of the tariff reflects the modesty of the hotel itself. But it is clean and the staff at the front desk are friendly and English is no problem. A word of advice. Skip the breakfast especially if you have to do battle with a tour. It is not worth the struggle. At the price, you can afford to eat out for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 996Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pro: Perfect location, right near Syntagma metro station, and easy walk to Plaka. Decent enough buffet breakfast included in rate. Nice size rooms. The best part is the rates, especially the prepaid ones. I paid only 40 Euros for a double room for single use.

Con: Desk staff were rather sullen and not especially friendly. Rooms are functional but undistinguished, definitely not "cozy," much like other lower priced business-oriented 3* hotels I've stayed at in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P_Cherches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Arethusa is not a fancy hotel, and those looking for charm or special TLC will be disappointed. What it is is a better-than-average tourist class hotel with a supremely central and convenient location (just steps off Syntagma square, the X95 airport bus stop, and the metro), helpful desk personnel (especially in the mornings), a welcoming lobby with comfy if careworn couches and a sidewalk cafe, decent beds, commendable cleanliness, and a free buffet breakfast that far surpasses those of many more expensive hotels in the area. A stroll down Mitropoleos takes you into the heart of the Plaka. An excellent zacharoplasteion/patisserie kitty corner across the street offers baklava, ice cream and other sinful treats late into the night. A taxi rank is a half block away. What more could you ask for your modest room rate? Well, for us it was one thing: another free electrical plug, especially one that isn't across the room from the mirror. Taste in hotels is personal, and for us when we're in Athens (we've been there a number of times), we're much too busy seeing the sights to loll around in our hotel room, so this is our kind of place.

Room Tip: Our room 206 looked out on Mitropoleos Street and was adequately quiet. The two elevators are minus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabondage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for two nights and this couldn't be a better location. The main shopping street around the corner, just a 5 minute walk to metro station (where you can get a metro to the airport), Syntagma square, Plaka and Monastiraki areas so close.
We've got a room on 8th floor, had a nice view over Acropolis.
The rooms are quite outdated, breakfast was a bit poor and the wifi connection non existent.
But the receptionist was very nice and so was everyone of the staff we've met in the hallways always welcoming us with a warm smile and their lovely kalimera (good morning).
As they say, you can't have it all (if you are on a budget :)
All in all, it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#54 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#62 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#55 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#52 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#126 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Property: Arethusa Hotel
Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing