We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, service and price”
Review of Arethusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arethusa Hotel
Ranked #85 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best location, service and price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located a couple of steps from Syntagma Square, the airport bus terminal, the Syntagma metro station, the Plaka area, the Acropolis and everything you want to visit. All these at a fantastic price. Accessibility, service, price and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Avakoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    316
    270
    91
    38
See reviews for
136
313
127
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
larnaca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Arethusa hotel for the first time for 4 nights. We definitely will stay there again. We stayed in room 305. As step out of the airport bus x95 which park on the side of Syntagma Square (by the way is the cheapest way to go to Syntagma 5 euros) we could see the hotel sign.We have no complaints at all. Very good location, very good breakfast, very clean, hot water elevator, Is only few steps for Syntagma, ermou shopping center, restaurants, cafes.Monastiraki square is not far. We recommend puplic roof garden cafe and restaurant. You have a fantastic view of Syntagma square especially in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthiLarnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Arethusa - 13 or 14 times since I was 8 years old. I love it for its central location - wedged between Syntagma, Plaka and Monastiraki and right in the heart of the Ermou shopping district.

As others have commented, the breakfast buffet is excellent - my most vivid Athens memory as an 8 year old is sitting in the window booth, eating croissants and watching Athenians head out to do their business. One of the reasons I keep coming back is because nothing has changed - but that may also be the hotel's greatest problem. The rooms are looking tired.

Last time I paid 88Euro - the next week 91Euro at the Intercontinental.

I love the Arethusa (in 2001 it even rocked me gently and safely through a 3am, 6.5 quake) but value for money these days...

Room Tip: Single rooms can be hard to find in Athens - the Arethusa has a very good selection; they are spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my fried stayed in Arethusa for 2 days, we didn't spend much time in the hotel because came there exactly to SEE Athens. We took train from Thessaloniki and got to the hotel on metro, it was early morning and after checking which rooms are avaliable receptionist agreed to put us in free room at 9, in spite of time of check-in is 14! nice decision)
The hotel is situated in the center of the city, metro, bus stations, the main square Syntahma is in 2 min walk. So situation is very nice, what is up to the room, it's quiet good, we were on DBL, everything is like in usual 3* hotel, the only thing I didn't like is small shower cabin. Breakfast had quiet big variety of things, so you wouldn't leave hungry :) About staff: ladies from housekeeping, from bouffet worked in very pleasant manner, but night receprionist was not so friendly)

Room Tip: you will have better view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nata_lia_ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed on the 6th floor room 608 for 4 nights.
You can see the Hotel sign when you step off the Airport bus 95X where it parks on the side of Sytagma Square which is very reassuring when you are in a strange location, the fare is 5 Euro's.
I have no complaints at all regarding this Hotel, the breakfast is very good and plenty of variety.
Room was nice and warm and an abundance of hot water, room service was good and also the WiFi in the room was superb.
Because our flight was late afternoon, we had complimentary use of the room after the normal check out time for Midday.
All in all and with its excellent location the Arethusa was superb value and I will certainly stop there again on my next trip to Athens

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The room was spacious and the beds were about as comfortable as you get in Europe without being 5 stars. Breakfast buffet had a good selection. The key to this hotel is being close to Syntagma square. From the airport you can ride for about 6 Euros versus 50 for a cab ride. With one connection you can also catch the metro from Piraeus and return. You are centrally located close to the Acropolis, the Plaka (shopping), the Temple of Zeus, the ancient Agora, Hard Rock Cafe...
Try Ithaki barbecue about 3 blocks toward the Plaka (also rated on TA)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Concretecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, it is really close to both buses and the subway. Especially convenient for arriving from the airport. The entryway pictures make it look like it is off to a side street, but it is really on Mitropoleos. It includes breakfast on the spot, pretty generous. They have good size rooms and renovated bathrooms. It is in Central Athens so there are many restaurants close by. Strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mtm12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
511 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#63 of 325 in Athens
900 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#135 of 325 in Athens
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#59 of 325 in Athens
562 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#64 of 325 in Athens
611 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#111 of 325 in Athens
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arethusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arethusa Hotel

Property: Arethusa Hotel
Address: 6-8 Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arethusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arethusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing