We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Green part of Athens”
Review of National Gardens

National Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$221.34*
and up
Athens Private 5 hours Walking Tour
Ranked #34 of 349 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This beautiful oasis offers a soothing respite of greenery from the big city with many benches for picnicking, cafes, duck ponds and a small zoo.
pireaus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Green part of Athens”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful gardens!! Nice place to be. Really worths a visit. I would ve given it a 5 if it had a little better maintenance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Godg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    312
    126
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing place in the centre of Athens”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Next to parliament house and near to the most of attractions is the ideal place to relax after a long walk around the centre. Very good for summer time is an oasis when is too hot around. The only problem is that due to a lack of money or something else is every day more dirty. I believe that the responsible person fix the problem soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensTasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Paths, Great Kids Library”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went through the Gardens on our Athens Walking Tour, and enjoyed the escape from the city streets, looking at palm trees, and seeing the old men debate politics. We went back later just to cut through a prettier place, and I didn't like that the borders of the park were very dirty. My daughter's favorite part was climbing a huge tree in the middle of the park. My favorite part was a little gem of a children's library we stumbled upon; the most beautiful place I can imagine my daughter curling up in to read! The librarian didn't speak a lot of english, but was very kind and let us look at the books and take photos. We could have stayed in there all day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RainSeattleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“You can get lost in the beauty”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stumbled upon the gardens unexpectedly, but was amazed by the flowers, trees, bridges, fountains, sundial that can be found on site. Nice public garden that was built in the 1800's.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neets007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Peacefl oasis in the heart of Athens!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

National Gardens is the one of the coolest green areas in Athens, situated next to Sintagma Sq. so you can enter the gardens for free, sit on the bench and write a book in peaceful area without those crowds you can meet near Acropolis. It's a very good place to rest from the sun heat and also very calm with no crowds.
Can be easily reached via public transport as well. Near the entrance you can buy a bottle of water (highly rececommended while high heats) and something sweet to craving.
Don't miss to visit this place - it's really green and worth of time for relax for you and your body and soul.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karin861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gardens also viewed

Paleo Faliro, Athens
 

Been to National Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing