We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Have a guide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
Book In Advance
$48.86*
and up
Small-Group Athens Neoclassical Tour with Greek Snack
Ranked #25 of 331 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have a guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It's an good site to visit but when I guide walks you through the history and the meaning of every badge or frill on the uniform...it adds a lot of meaning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    257
    110
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We always visit the area on our own (without tour group) because we like to stay and enjoy the experience. Be sure and arrange a visit at 11 a.m. on Sunday for the Changing of the Guard. If traveling with children be sure you have info concerning the uniforms--very interesting ---even for older people!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOBEEGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Combine your visit with the changing of the guards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Situated on Syntagma Square, just in front of the Parliament. Combine your visit with the Changing of the guards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stordalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Make Sure to Catch the Sunday Ceremony!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a special experience! We visited the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and saw the big ceremony that only happens on Sundays, so there was a marching band and many more evzones (presidential guards.) The crowd was so big that the police were pushing us back, so make sure you arrive early. It is a beautiful ceremony - the evzones parade in wearing their 3 official uniforms. They are so in sync, walking at exactly the same pace, and it’s really a cool thing to watch. I really enjoyed this event! The changing of the guards is a highlight in Athens, but make sure you go at 11:00 on a Sunday!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teenagetraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
710 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Athens monument”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very well known monument at the bottom of the Parliament house.
After Parthenon the most recognised symbol of Athens.
Located at the end of a large square, in a friendly area for visitors. I wouldn't say is a must, but it is quite popular with visitors.
Try to catch the changing of the guards if you can. It can add fan.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of the Unknown Soldier also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of the Unknown Soldier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing