We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple of Olympian Zeus

Temple of Olympian Zeus
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.74*
and up
Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #26 of 342 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not much here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were taken here only because the Acropolis was closed, being a Monday. Only a few pillars remain of what must have once been a magnificent temple. Our guide was good (GO Tours) and spiced up the visit with tales from Greek mythology. You can actually have a good view of the temple from outside instead of paying the fare to go inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmca1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    868
    369
    67
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,270 reviews
1,308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,427 helpful votes
“Not much to see!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I absolutely love Greek Mythology and could not wait to see the temple dedicated to the gods of all gods. But when I got there I said: "That's it?" Sadly only a few columns remain from the temple which I assumed must have been one of the most amazing temples in the world back then. But again, the Greeks have not done a very good job over the past years to maintain and preserve those unbelievable structures. It was still pretty cool to say that I sat foot where the temple's ruins are today!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Part of Athens history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

After seeing the pillars from a long distance from the Acropolis we were curious to see what these pillars looked like close up. Sadly there is not a lot left however the history is very interesting. Take time to read the guide signs and do a bit of a read up first to understand and appreciate the history of this structure and of course envisage what it did look like at one time. Great for photos as the views seem to change as you move around it. Go early morning before the crowds though as its easier to take piccies then. To the very rear of the area there is more excavating happening (over the fence) where you will see some current digging and what else they have unearthed. At a distance though as I don't think it's opened to the public. You can gain entry to this site with the same ticket you used for the Acropolis - but don't make the same mistake we did and leave the ticket in your hotel room - it's only 2 Euros entrance anyway.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna,BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a short walk from our hotel so okay but this picture is it a soccer field and these columns so once you have seen the other monuments ect ... See it first and then it is more enjoyable I would think.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
254 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Impressive Ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

There's really nothing unique about the Temple of Zeus in Athens. Like many other ruins in the city, it consists of large columns, many of them collapsed, and no roof.

After having been a bunch of other similar sites in Athens it was already getting kind of tiring to see the same thing all over again, but the Temple of Zeus still captured my attention. Judging by the ruins, the temple was simply enormous, and even the collapsed pillars attest to its former might.

This place is very close to the Acropolis and can be on your itinerary if you go from the Acropolis to Syntagma Square (or vice versa).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Olympian Zeus also viewed

 

Been to Temple of Olympian Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing