We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“LOVED it here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byzantine & Christian Museum

Byzantine & Christian Museum
Book In Advance
$173.35*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Medieval Athens Walking Tour with Late Lunch and Wine
Ranked #22 of 331 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOVED it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

WOW! We stumbled across this museum on the way to the walk up the hill :) We spent a couple of hours here learning about the Byzantine and Christian heritage. This is a fabulous museum with old artefacts, you can get lost in here for hours. I did. But I am a Christian so it means a lot to me. 8 euro entré or something like that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vashte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    157
    26
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A different view of history from the time of Constantine to the Turks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This museum presented a very interesting view of history from the Byzantine Empire history, art, and early Christianity. It is a short walk from a close metro stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

For a religious museum I thought it would be small and simple. It's the total opposite. You need over an hour to appreciate all the museums icons and artifacts. The museum is very modern with helpful staff and a wide range of Byzantine Art.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

If your visit to Athens is dominated by antiquities or by the life of the modern city, take a break to explore the medieval past. This well curated museum gives an introduction to the Orthodox Christian past of the city and the country, essential for understanding Modern Greece. The cafe is one of the hidden gems of Athens.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikos051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not enough explanation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are Russian Orthodox, so we considered this Museum as a lesson of the origins of the Russian Art of Icons. It is not. It is modern, the space is well arranged, and it is only for us, expert adept of the orthodoxy. My idea of a conceptual Museum is to initiate those who has never heard of this art and this religion

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank avdonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantine & Christian Museum also viewed

 

Been to Byzantine & Christian Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing