We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel ... odd neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel ... odd neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This nice little hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Akropoli Metro station (walk downhill about 100 metres, on the right side). Service at the front desk is good, breakfast is OK...rooms are very small but nice. Elevator moves at speed of a glacier...take stairs if you don't have bags. Wifi is faster than most places in the USA...very good! What is surprising in the very shadow of the Acropolis is how few restaurants or shops there are. You have to go toward Sygmanta Square to find the restaurant district.

Room Tip: High floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Regarding your comment on the neighborhood, Plaka & Thission are areas located under the Acropolis where you can find several restaurants and bars. On your next trip to Athens I would definetely suggest to visit them!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    409
    81
    30
    17
See reviews for
129
516
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was definitely worth paying a bit extra to have a room which overlooked the Parthenon. All attractions are within easy walking distance of this hotel, as are plenty of eating places. Although, having said that, the views over the Acropolis from the hotel's roof top restaurant at night are spectacular and the food was plentiful and well-presented. We didn't arrive until after 9 pm and were still able to have a freshly-cooked meal. Breakfast was slightly disappointing - why do chefs insist on keeping scrambled eggs under silver domes so that water drips back onto them?! There was plenty of fresh bread and a good selection of cereals. The room was very clean and had two chairs, a particular fad of ours, as so often in other hotels, one of us has to sit on the bed to read or watch television.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more to have a balcony overlooking the Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice55England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you for your lovely review!

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our rooms with view have spectacular view to the Acropolis. its so nice to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant too. As we might be aware, we Greeks, have the tendency to eat late. So 9:00 pm is considered early for us!
Regarding your comment in the scrambled eggs, I have already mentioned it to our ktichen department.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very good small boutique hotel, nice rooms overlooking the Parthenon

Unfortunately breakfasts were just ok. Could have been a lot better. Staff were very helpful in recommending places to go.

Otherwise great.

Room Tip: 4th floor over looking Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaxtedMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comment on our breakfast, please note that we have made alot of changes the last couple of weeks. We have added several new items as well as typical Greek homemade dishes.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a great hotel in a wonderful location. The staff was awesome and very helpful at check-in with helping to find our way around. We also had to leave our luggage for a few hours as we had an early fight in - no worries or problems at all with that. Room was furnished nicely and very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous in the morning as well! Again, location is everything, walking distance to most of the historical sites and only a few blocks to the Metra if you need anything more extensive! I would / will definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Athens and will absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lax1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read your review. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel!!

Thank you for recommending us and I hope to see you again really soon!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Fantastic starting point for sightseeing in the city. The area of Acropolis, leading to Plaka and further down to Monastiraki is spectacular (approximately 15 min walk). Acropolis metro station is only a few minutes away, the Acropolis museum is right behind the station. Many cafe-bars and restaurants in the area, lovely atmosphere.

Elaia "meze" restaurant with live Greek music in Plaka should not be missed!!!

Hotel is very warm decorated, staff always helpful and smiling. We booked the junior suite with Acropolis view. Room was adequate in size for 3 people, one double bed and one sofa bed.

Sadly though, the restaurant on the top floor was closed, they still had the menu outside the hotel and a stand with opening hours in the lobby. :/ Since the restaurant was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, not being able to use it was a bit disappointing.

Breakfast buffet was very nice, several bread choices, turkey / salami / cheese, yogurt / honey / serials / muesli / chocolate croissants / apple pie / sweet cakes and much more!

Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madelen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Madelen,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so sorry to read that you were not able to visit our Roof garden restaurant. Indeed during December, it was closed for some days, due to maintenance repairs.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perfect hotel at a perfect location in Athens. Walking distance from many of the attractions. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. The decor is classic and well looked after. Rooms are well designed with all desired amenities. Breakfast was rather average. Their taxi driver overcharged us by triple the amount of a regular fare. Though both those seemed minor compared to the comfort and service of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinno_ffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad to read that you you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Regarding your comment on the taxi driver, I am not sure what was the problem. There are flat rates for transfers. I assume that the front desk informed you.

Hope that we shall have the pleausure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The restaurant on top of the hotel is great with spectacular views. Close to many fine street side restaurants. Also close to great attractions. The jump on jump off bus is just around the corner. The rooms are great h

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your dinner at our restaurant "Peacock". If you wish you can write a review at its own Tripadivsor page!

Hope to see you again!

best regards,

iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#11 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#45 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing