We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #19 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very good small boutique hotel, nice rooms overlooking the Parthenon

Unfortunately breakfasts were just ok. Could have been a lot better. Staff were very helpful in recommending places to go.

Otherwise great.

Room Tip: 4th floor over looking Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaxtedMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding your comment on our breakfast, please note that we have made alot of changes the last couple of weeks. We have added several new items as well as typical Greek homemade dishes.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a great hotel in a wonderful location. The staff was awesome and very helpful at check-in with helping to find our way around. We also had to leave our luggage for a few hours as we had an early fight in - no worries or problems at all with that. Room was furnished nicely and very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous in the morning as well! Again, location is everything, walking distance to most of the historical sites and only a few blocks to the Metra if you need anything more extensive! I would / will definitely stay here again if I am ever back in Athens and will absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lax1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read your review. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel!!

Thank you for recommending us and I hope to see you again really soon!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Fantastic starting point for sightseeing in the city. The area of Acropolis, leading to Plaka and further down to Monastiraki is spectacular (approximately 15 min walk). Acropolis metro station is only a few minutes away, the Acropolis museum is right behind the station. Many cafe-bars and restaurants in the area, lovely atmosphere.

Elaia "meze" restaurant with live Greek music in Plaka should not be missed!!!

Hotel is very warm decorated, staff always helpful and smiling. We booked the junior suite with Acropolis view. Room was adequate in size for 3 people, one double bed and one sofa bed.

Sadly though, the restaurant on the top floor was closed, they still had the menu outside the hotel and a stand with opening hours in the lobby. :/ Since the restaurant was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, not being able to use it was a bit disappointing.

Breakfast buffet was very nice, several bread choices, turkey / salami / cheese, yogurt / honey / serials / muesli / chocolate croissants / apple pie / sweet cakes and much more!

Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madelen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Madelen,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so sorry to read that you were not able to visit our Roof garden restaurant. Indeed during December, it was closed for some days, due to maintenance repairs.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perfect hotel at a perfect location in Athens. Walking distance from many of the attractions. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. The decor is classic and well looked after. Rooms are well designed with all desired amenities. Breakfast was rather average. Their taxi driver overcharged us by triple the amount of a regular fare. Though both those seemed minor compared to the comfort and service of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinno_ffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

I am so glad to read that you you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Regarding your comment on the taxi driver, I am not sure what was the problem. There are flat rates for transfers. I assume that the front desk informed you.

Hope that we shall have the pleausure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The restaurant on top of the hotel is great with spectacular views. Close to many fine street side restaurants. Also close to great attractions. The jump on jump off bus is just around the corner. The rooms are great h

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially your dinner at our restaurant "Peacock". If you wish you can write a review at its own Tripadivsor page!

Hope to see you again!

best regards,

iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we stayed at the hotel last week, wonderful hotel great location and very good service.
the room was small - and so was the hotel - and it was good.
the stuff was very helpfull and the free parking is an extra good point.
if i will get back to Athens - i will go back to this hotel - need nothing more then a good location staying in a city like that !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohelia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Ohelia,

Thank you for your review.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hera Hotel.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ended up havng to go solo on a trip to Athens, and couldn't have found a better place to land! The location is perfect, but more important to me was the intimacy afforded by a smaller hotel, and the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. Went to the restaurant at the top of the hotel the night I checked in, and was made to feel quite welcome by the best waiter...(also had some of the best grilled squid I've ever had!) The Manager and the rest of the front desk staff helped me plan my days, and always had recommendations on best times, locations, etc. It is a family owned hotel, and it feels like it. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eb8158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review!!

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Its so important for us to see that our guests really feel like home!

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Should you wish any asistance please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,383 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,892 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 281 in Athens
1,726 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,800 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#20 of 281 in Athens
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#48 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $89 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing