We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #21 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hera Hotel in June 2013. The hotel is perfectly located near the fantastic Plaka neighborhood, and a very short walk to the Acropolis museum and Acropolis hill. The service, location, and breakfast were all great, but we did encounter a few hiccups during our stay.

- the bathtubs have no drain stop - when we inquired about getting one, the front desk said they had purposely removed them from all of the rooms. Have never heard of this before!

- we had an Acropolis view room for the last two nights of our stay, but you need to actually go out onto your balcony and turn to the right to see the view - there is NO VIEW from the rooms. as the rooms all face the same direction, I would assume this is true for all the "view" rooms.

- the free wifi was spotty at best.

On the bright side, the roof top bar has a fantastic view of the Acropolis and is where you want to be at sunset!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Its really sad to hear that you didnt enjoy the view from your room. Honestly, the Standard rooms with Acropolis view are our popular rooms. Of course the view cannot be from the room, since we are located in the center of Athens. However, standing in the window , the view is breathtaking!

Regarding your comment for the bathtubs, indeed we have removed all drain stops due to technical problems. We apologize for not enjoying your bath.

However, I assume that. overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we shall have the pleasure to see you again.

Best regards,

iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    440
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
144
559
57
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zoe17
Level Contributor
206 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hera is in a great location near the Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum, and some fun streets for tourist shopping and dining nearby.

The rooms are quite small, but nicely appointed. (I've stayed only in the rooms assigned to single travelers, so others may be a bit larger.)

The breakfast has a lot of variety and very good coffee.

A computer for guest use is on the second floor, and works a bit slowly, but still OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review at Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our prime location is so helpful to all our guests!

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to accommodate you once again.

Best Regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was located less than a mile from the entrance to the Akropolis, giving us exactly what we needed for our 24 hour stay in Athens. The room was small and the bathroom was large. Go figure. The shower had no doors or curtain, which made for an unusual shower experience for me. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was one of the better ones we had in Greece.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawhileiwhilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

i am so glad that you, overall, enjoyed your stay with us.

For your information, the reason why your bathroom did not have a door is because the specific bathroom is designed for wheelchair access.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Fabulously located for acropolis and tourist bus route. Staff could not have been more helpful. Would have been 5 star but for slightly dubious stain in curtain and carpet but didn't bother us. Wonderful breakfast too. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its so nice to hear that you enjoued your stay with us.
Hope tha we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Hera Hotel before heading down to the islands. The location is great as most of the reviews note. Easy walking distance to historical sites. The staff is very friendly and can help you with directions, reservations, etc. We unfortunately didn't have time to eat at the roof top restaurant of the hotel but we did walk up to see the view which was absolutely beautiful at night. The breakfast was to be expected of a European continental style.

Tips: *The hotel as all of the hotels we stayed at in Greece did not have wash rags so if you must have one like my husband pack one or a loofah and bring it with you.
*We bought bottled water and wine across the street from the hotel for our room. This saved us quite a bit of money.

Travel Tip: If you are taking a high speed ferry down to the islands please make sure to take some kind of motion sickness medication before hand. If you are prone to getting motion sickness then skip the high speed ferry all together and fly or take the regular ferry. Over half of the people on our boat including myself were extremely sick on the high speed ferry....talk about ruin a day of vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelley_gaspard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hera Hotel and I am quite sure that I would never stay anywhere else. I love the boutique style of the hotel, the location is fabulous, the facilities are clean and comfortable and the very best part, the staff!! They were so professional, helpful and friendly - I don't think our stay in Athens would have been nearly as wonderful if it hadn't been for the staff!! If and when I go back to Athens, my address will surely be The Hera Hotel!!

Room Tip: The standard room was just perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review! Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so glad that we are one of your best momories in Greece!! It really makes us happy to hear such nice comments!

We really hope to see you again! Please feel free to contact us at any time!

Thank you

Iro Chatzilia

P.S: Your personal card was really amazing!! Thank you so much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

As everyone notes, the Hera’s location is its greatest asset. It is just down the street from the new Acropolis museum, and the south end of the Plaka district. You can easily walk everywhere you may want to visit on a quick trip to Athens, except the Archaeology Museum, which is a quick Metro trip away. The hotel shows its age and popularity a bit now. The towels and drapes are slightly frayed, the beds comfortable but the pillows lumpy and hard. We also wished for more room space to accommodate two suitcases. But we found the staff very helpful, the cleanliness of a high standard, and breakfasts both abundant and good quality. The roof restaurant (like rooms on the front of the hotel on higher floors) has a view of the Parthenon and has good food. We would definitely stay again at the Hera for convenience and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your review.

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
994 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
3,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
700 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,234 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#50 of 325 in Athens
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing