We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient to Acropolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #24 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convinient to Acropolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Just a short walk from the new Acropolis Museum. Great view at night from roof-top restaurant of Parthenon. Hint, since this is a small hotel, have directions in Greek from the internet for your taxi driver.

Room Tip: Many rooms facing the street have a view of Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerimiahVista_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    355
    69
    28
    13
See reviews for
111
441
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When we first arrived in Athens we were shunted to the Herodion Hotel, even though we had originally booked for the Hera. When we returned to Athens before leaving Greece we ended up at the Hera Hotel, but was left feeling that perhaps we should have opted for the Herodion instead.

The hotel itself was not bad. It is very conveniently located, within walking distance of Plaka and the Parthenon, although the narrow street in front was quite congested. We were given a room on the first floor, which had a very small narrow window with no view whatsoever. The room was small though not uncomfortable. The bed was somewhat saggy but did not interfere with our sleep comfort. What was problematic was the room heater, which was difficult to control, and we often ended up with an almost oven-like temperature in the room. Fortunately we could just open the small window to provide some cooling relief. The toilet was strange. I think it was meant to be handicap friendly, but that meant an over-sized toilet bowl which was extremely uncomfortable. The shower stall was also too narrow, with no proper screens, so every shower was a struggle which left the whole bathroom wet. There was free wifi in the room, but this was often not working for some reason on our mobile phones. Breakfast was decent and ample. The wifi is much better in the breakfast room.

There is a very small basement car-park, which was helpful if you had a rental car.

The reception counter deserve some specific comment, and shows how important it is for hotels to deal with this issue. When we arrived at the hotel after a very long drive from Varoia, we drove up onto the hotel front as the street in front was already over-congested and without any street parking. The evening male receptionist popped his head out and made some condescending remarks about our driving up to the hotel. He made no effort to help us unload our bags and to assist our arrival. It was only after I complained about the lack of street parking, that he pointed out there was a small basement carpark. Quite frankly, we were pretty turned off by this time, and if not for the fact that the room was already pre-paid, we might have gone down the road to find another hotel. Having made this point about the bad evening reception we received, I should be fair to point out that the next morning, the male receptionist was uber-friendly and helpful when I need to find the way to the car rental agency to return the car.

Overall not an unpleasant hotel, but I will rate it below par because of the poor reception we received.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am really sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay.

Regarding your comments on the room, as checked, you were allocated on Standard twin room, however, upon your arrival, you requested a double bed room, where the only available, was the one that we offered you. Indeed we do have some handicap friendly rooms, with a specially designed larger bathroom, as you were informed upon check-in. Each room has an individual heating control system. Perhaps you had turned on the heating, which could explain the warm atmosphere in your room.

For your arrival, I am sorry to hear that our receptionist didn’t assist you as you expected. However, as I was informed, he came out to check if everything was ok since you had parked the car at the entrance of the hotel, instead of the parking. Then, one of his colleagues assisted you with your luggages and parking the car, since the receptionist was occupied with other guests.

Once again I am really sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore our good reputation and hospitality on your next trip to Athens.

Best,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled with our entire family and needed 3 rooms. We were on the first floor so didn't have great views but we were able to have connecting rooms and were all together so didn't mind. The rooms are tiny as are most European rooms but they had nice cupboard and closet space to unpack in and we were very comfortable. The breakfasts were quite delicious. The staff extremely friendly and helpful and the location was superb! The only con we experienced was the rooms were very warm, even in December but opening the doors to the balcony solved that problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAAM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. Its so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay!

Hope to see you and your family again!

Best,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If I would have known the hotel before I stayed there, I would have remained there my entire time in Athens, Greece. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful. The hotel is in the Akropoli... right next to the Acropolis and train/subway. It was super easy to get around the city from there and to the port (Piraeus). There are wonderful places to eat all around the hotel and at the hotel as well. The best part about the hotel was the awesome coffee shop next door - best latte I've ever had and the coolest barista/owner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamsmom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review! Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again really soon!!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location, in a quiet street, walking distance to the Acropolis, Plaka, Temple of Olympeion Zeus, and even Syntagma.
Hotel staff were, without exception, cheerful, friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its so nice to hear that you felt comfortable , since it's one of our main goals.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends , once again, on your next visit to Athens.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I began my first Greek vacation in Athens at the Hera Hotel...a small, basic hotel with a big heart. The best thing about the hotel is its location. It's perfect walking distance (5 minutes) to La Placa and right in the center of the city perfectly accessible to the new Acropolis museum (10-15 minutes walking) and a few blocks away from the Acropolis train station (The subway is super easy to navigate and all stops have English sub-titles). Other walkign distance highlights include Hadrian's Arch and Temple of Zeus (10 minutes).

The rooms were small - just like most European hotel rooms - but clean and definitely served its purpose. The only downside is the tiny elevator that fits 2 people at a time, so be prepared to walk up the stairs.

Highlights are the buffet breakfast (can you say yummy?) and the view of the Acropolis from the hotel restaurant.

Definitely a place to stay if you're making a quick stop in Athens and are interested in being close enough to the "action" to avoid taking taxis everywhere. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the Acropolis or the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review at Tripadvisor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our prime location is ideal for our visitors. You can reach almost everything within few minutes.

Hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again!

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, just a few minutes walk to the metro station & Acropolis museum, and about 15 minutes to the Acropolis entrance. Safe area with lots of restaurants within a 2 - 20 minute walk.
We had a room with a balcony having a great view of the Parthenon, room was a little on the small side, but clean and well furnished. Bathroom was clean and had both tub and shower. HOWEVER, if you like to have a hot soak in the tub after a days walking be aware that plugs from the tubs have been removed! After some complaining the plugs were put back. I suspect they were trying to save on water costs. I suggest before booking you may wish to bring this point up. Although you would think for a 4 star hotel this should not be necessary. Also I recommend using the provided safe to lock up your valuables. We did this but my wife's new blouse disappeared sometime during our stay. We did bring this to the attention of the receptionist on checkout, but have not heard anything since. But for the these inconveniences I would have given the Hotel a top rating. Breakfast was excellent, location great, helpful staff, we stayed 7 nights and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Richard R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On the matter of the bathroom, please note that the reason why we dont have plugs in the tubs is due to the problems caused by the blockage of the water pipes: As the pipes are narrow enough, when people take a bath and then they remove the plug, the water level in the manholes may rise above the top of the pipe. Consequently the water floods all over the bathrooms. For sure is not that we want to save water costs, but to avoid the unpleasant flooding problems.

Regarding your wife's blouse, I personally want to check the situation and find out what has happened. I would really appreciate if you could email me at info@herahotel and discuss the matter, in person.

Once again, thank you for your nice review. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Best

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,755 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#9 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 3,304 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: Falirou 9, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#58 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing