We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hera Hotel
Ranked #22 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hera hotel is very close to the “Acropolis” Metro station, and stands beside the most beautiful and quiet side of historical Athens and just one breath from the new Acropolis museum.
As soon as we entered the hotel, we were impressed of the classical line in decoration and the sense of luxury we felt. Very neat and nice spaces compose the whole picture of the hotel.
The staff was very polite and helpful.
Our room was beautifully decorated, with cozy spaces, a nice terrace and a very aesthetic bathroom.
Our favorite place was the dining area at the roof garden restaurant, where the very tasty meals were accompanied by the wonderful view of Acropolis, which captures your eyes especially when illuminated at night!!!
We loved our stay at Hera hotel and will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonSaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous comments from your stay with us.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our prime location. Its so nice to hear that you were impressed with our decoration and hotel general ambiance. Thank you for your good comments on our team, I will inform them accordingly. Indeed, our restaurant " Peacock" located on the top floor, is our gem. The view of the Acropolis is indeed wonderful.

Once again, thank you for your excellent comments and recommendation. We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Athens.

At your disposal,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    414
    81
    30
    17
See reviews for
133
527
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The rooms are a nice size for Europe, the staff is friendly, breakfast is great, the bathroom is bigger than usual. No complaints except they don't have washcloths or body lotion.

The location is just a short walk from all the major attractions in Athens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosenfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our services and found our hotel, wonderful.

We really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved it here. Nice friendly, great location. The rooftop restaurant had an incredible view of the Acropolis and the food was the best in Greece.

Room Tip: We were quite happy and not aware of rooms being better in any part of the hotel. Were only disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that you loved our hotel and our central location. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop restaurant " Peacock", with its incredible view of the Acropolis. Your comment that " the food was the best in Greece" its a true honor for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am sorry but this has to the best Hotel in Athens, it just has to be....My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, it's literally across the street from the Acropolis Museum, at the base of the Acropolis, 5 minute walk from the Temple of Zeus and Hadrian's Arch, very nearby several great places to eat and an AWESOME Gelato place.

We didn't care about Syntagma Square much (it's just a square) which is about a 10 minute walk away.

The restaurant inside the hotel is amazing too, it has the most incredible view of the Acropolis and Parthenon at night, and actually serves VERY good food as well. The staff was incredibly helpful, super nice. We had breakfast included, they had eggs, bacon, sausage everything you want for a great breakfast to get you started. The rooms aren't huge, but they are big enough for two, and the bathroom was immaculate. My only knock, the mattresses are a bit hard - but to be honest, that's likely a good thing for your back.

In any event, I really can't see a reason to stay anywhere else in Athens this place totally rocked, I highly recommend it and can't wait to stay here again!

By the way, take night tour of Cape Sounion, it's beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garandhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback and for the recognition of being the "Best Hotel in Athens".

We were pleased to learn that you were most impressed by our central location, with close proximity to all major sites and most importantly, the gracious and warm service extended by our colleagues.

We are truly delighted that you were able to enjoy our Restaurant-Bar " Peacock" with its amazing view to the Acropolis.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights at the start of our Greek holiday. Excellent location. Rooms are small by American standards, but it was clean and well-appointed. We had a view of the Parthenon from our balcony. Wifi not so hot in the room, but worked well in the breakfast room and lobby. We were in a junior suite for 3 of us. It is not really a suite, just a larger room with a love seat that folds out as a bed. I think that for 3, this suite is the only workable solution- a double room with a roll-away would be cramped. Overall, this hotel was a great. The breakfast was good, the restaurant on the roof has a great view of the Acropolis, and the location is perfect. We would certainly stay at the Hera again.

Room Tip: Try to get an Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkamupolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your stay with us.

I am really glad to read that you were overall sastisfied with our hotel and services. Indeed , our rooms can be considered small, compared to US standards ,however, it is really nice to hear that you found it well appointed and nice.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hera hotel. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently visited Athens on a city break to celebrate my husbands birthday. We booked to stay at the Hera Hotel having read some of the reviews here on trip advisor and we were certainly not disappointed when we arrived. The Metro (underground) is approximately 200 meters away from the hotel and is very easy to use direct from the Airport with only one change and at a cost of 14 euros on a couple ticket (dont forget to validate your ticket before you get on the train and to note you cannot eat or drink on the metro). The metro is very clean and well lite and very safe, I would be happy to use it alone.

The staff at the Hera Hotel were very helpful and polite and the reception is manned 24 hours,. We had booked a double ensuite standard room and it was clean and well presented, not overly large but an adequate size and considering we were there to do some sightseeing the room was a perfect size for us. There is free wifi, aircon,room service, a mini bar and tea and coffee facilities in the room and there is also plenty of wardrobe space, we also had a balcony. The bar next door is quite popular of an evening however the double glazing blocked out the noise and it did not disturb either of us at all. The staff came to our assistance on the first day of our stay when we soon realised we had forgotten our travel adaptors and therefore could not charge any thing up, the Hotel receptionist kindly supplied us with a UK adapter.

The Hotel is located in a quiet area just off of the busy tourist area, The Plaka, where you will find shops, bars and restaurant and if you like the buzz of the city nights then it is only a 10 min walk away. If you prefer a bit of peace and quiet then I would recommend eating at the Hotels resturant the Peacock Roof Garden, we ate there twice and was not disappointed. The resturant has magnificent views of the Acroplis and surrounding area. The resturant staff were very polite and the menu had ample options including vegetarian choices, I can also recommmend their house wine. Unfortunately the second night was a litte dissapointing as the service was not as good however I beleive it was due to the fact that there only appeared to be one member of staff on and the resturant was very busy. The overall quality of food in the restuarantt was first class and very competative prices.

The Hotel itself is close to the new Acopolis Museum and the Acropolis itself, both within a 5 minute walk. The area of town appeared to be a nice area and I felt safe to venture out on my own whilst my husband was watching the football. I must add that some of the surrounding buildings could do with a lick of paint but this did not affect my stay or opinion of the Hera as the hotel itself is very nicely decorated. Breakfast is served from 7am to 11am so it is idealily suited for the early risers but you still had the option for a late breakfast if it followed a late night. There were plenty of options at breakfast including continental, cooked, cakes and cereal and toast.

On our last day we were able to cram another day sight seeing in before our evening flight as the the Hotel staff kindly offered to keep hold of our bags for the day having checked out that morning. I would highly recommend the Hera Hotel if you are planning a visit to Athens as I could not fault it or the staff and if we ever return to Athens I would book again at the Hera Hotel.

Just as a note if you are planning a visit to Athens - If you visit The Acropolis I would recommend purchasing a combined ticket for 14 euros per person, this will get you in to the Acropolis but also 5 other archeological sights in the city and is valid for 4 consequtive days, this was very good value for money and all of the sites are within walking distance of the hotel if you are a seasoned walker or by metro if you prefer. The receptionist at the Heral Hotel very kindly explained to us how the ticket worked and gave us directions to all of the sites. Please also note that most ot the arechological sites close at 3pm but they generally open at 8am, so its best to get up and out earlys and before it gets too hot. The new acropolis museum is not included in the combined ticket however it is only 5 Euros each and is open until 10pm so it is something to do after your siesta and is definately worth a visit. The museum also has a resturant with a good menu and competative prices. Other places of interest (not covered in your combination ticket) The Panathariac Olympic Stadium 3 Euros a person including an audio guide. Well worth a visit and approx 10 min walk from the hotel and also the Houses of Parliment including the tomb of the unknown soldier, where there is a guard 24 hours a day, the changing of the guard is on every hour, it is a sight to see and free of charge.

Room Tip: We did not upgrade, we just had the standard double room and were given a room at the front of th ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJEast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you were most impressed by our central location, with close proximity to all major Athenian sites and most importantly, the gracious and warm service extended by our colleagues.

We are truly delighted that you were able to enjoy our restaurant-bar "Peacock", located on the Roof garden, with amazing view to the Acropolis.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel only for one night in may 2012, but we could have stayed there for many days and nights. A fantastic location, spectacular view and very nice, clean rooms in addition to the restaurant at the roof makes this hotel close to perfect when you visit Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor can be connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you were most impressed by our central location, with close proximity to all major Athenian attractions.

We are truly delighted that you were able to enjoy our roof garden Restaurant-Bar "Peacock", with is amazing view to the Acropolis.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#47 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hera Hotel

Property: Hera Hotel
Address: 9 Falirou, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#27 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#57 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hera Hotel welcomes its guests with the genuine warmth of definitive hospitality, combined with an impeccable service, comfort and the exceptional atmosphere of a boutique hotel.Conveniently located right at the foot of the Acropolis hill, the new Acropolis Museum and next to the interconnected archeological sites. Hera Hotel offers a unique opportunity to the visitor to enjoy an excellent stay at the hotel, right into the heart of the old Athens and to traverse through ancient times by strolling through the historic center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hera Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing