We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic Hotel”
Review of Balasca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balasca Hotel
Ranked #216 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We as a family (2+2) went to Athens in October 2011. This hotel was rated as 3-star hotel. The hotel was a good value for money but I would recommend this for those people who are looking for good value for money at a reasonable location. The hotel was close to metro station and going around was easy, but the hotel rooms were small and bathroom was very small. Also the hotel was on a running road and it was bit noisy in the night. The breakfast was very basic. The hotel staff was very helpful and we could go around to some very nice places with the help of hotel staff who recommended us those places. The air conditioning in the rooms were not working as they had switched off the main unit as it was cool season for them but it was still warm for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Balasca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 154 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very bad hotel in very, very bad neighbourhood (homeless, narkodealers and junkies). Get lost of here! Small dark rooms, dirty linen, bathroom with a lot of water everywhere. It is not recently renovated...and the center of the city is not "at 700m only".

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatomirovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Towel with blood! The maid came into room in midnight without Sorry even NOT knock. Maid and reception clerk rob the towel and hurt my arm. She said the blood in towel was not a problem. If so, why they wrested the towel. The reception clerk is picture call police instead of her manager. And the police also thought she is unreasonable. Never be there. It is nightmare unless you bear them as night soil.

Room Tip: Washroom is close. Rooms on the main road are noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

this hotel was booked for us by our hotel manager in zakynthos after we decided to head home via athens. after booking it i read the reviews and to be frank was dredding it! the hotel isnt in the best area and just minutes away are gangs of drug adicts, prostitutes and rent boys. very intimidating. the hotel has been a grand hotel in its day and still has brass and marble public areas which were clean and spacious. we were lucky enough to stay on the 7th floor with a view of the acropolis. people staying on floors 5 or lower would get a view of social housing with washing hanging over the balcony. we were lucky. the room was carpeted which is unusual in warm countries. the room was clean but dated. the aicon was very noisy too. the staff were great (except one) and helped organise taxis etc during a strike day. for the price midsummer in a major city it wasnt too bad and i would stay again although i would as for a 6 or 7th floor room with a view!

Room Tip: ask for 6 or 7th floor room with a view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd0negan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a hotel with small rooms and quite run down. I wouldnt stay more than 1 night and just for the convienience of beeing close to the train station to northern greece. The area of the hotel is wery poor and is not for persons that are scared easily. But i think Athens as a hole is a city to go out of as soon as possible, altough you dosent have to be afraid because crime levels isnt that high in Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel has good location - near railway and metro stations. We lived on 6th floor with view at Acropolis. The room is small but quite comfortable. Free stable wifi, hairdryer, fridge, little balcony. Bathroom needs renovation. Aircon is very disturbing. It has 3 modes: low, medium, high. Even at low level it blows too strong. It works periodically like 30 min on, then 10 min off. And the worst thing is that its very noisy. So we had to put it off to be able to sleep. Streets around are noisy too so couldn't leave balcony open. Sleeping can be a problem, especially in summer when it's hot and stifling.
Breakfast was decent and more than enough for me. Price is good. If i need to stay night or 2 in Athens i will come back to Balasca.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glamour85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is located some 5-10 mins walk from the Larissa train and metro station, so the area is by definition somewhat shady. It's safe to walk around during the day, but at night you may not want to deviate from the most direct route from the metro to the hotel.

The hotel itself is quite old and worn-out, but it must have been quite luxurious in the past. We only stayed for one night, which was perfectly fine, and the reception staff were kind enough to check us early. We decided not to take breakfast and found several great bakeries/cafes just around the corner.

In general, this may not be the best located and most charming hotel in Athens but it was perfect for our purpose and definitely a great value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexandrinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Pergamos
#148 of 282 in Athens
314 reviews
Hotel Diethnes
#209 of 282 in Athens
114 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#203 of 282 in Athens
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Socrates
#187 of 282 in Athens
101 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#194 of 282 in Athens
145 reviews
Exarchia
Exarchion Hotel
Exarchion Hotel
#128 of 282 in Athens
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balasca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balasca Hotel

Address: 45 Liossion, Athens 104 39, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $37 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balasca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balasca is perfectly situated in the center of Athens, overlooking the Acropolis and the Lycabettus hill and within easy access in Athens’ major sites.Hotel Balasca offers 83 spacious and recently renovated rooms,all equipped with private bathroom and balcony,high speed free Wi-Fi access,fridge,satellite T.V.,A/C,phone,hair dryer,etcA tasty breakfast buffet is served every morning in the hotel's restaurant.The hotel has also a comfortable lounge and a bar area for guests to enjoy refreshments after a busy day or before a night out. The hotel restaurant provides Greek and International cuisine made of fresh and local products.Hotel Balasca is located between Larisa Station(metro,suburban,railway) and the National Archeological Museum which makes it an ideal base for exploring the city as you can reach Acropolis or Syntagma within 5 to 10 min.,using the subway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balasca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balasca Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing