We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Gostijo

Gostijo
Ranked #19 of 3,751 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: A journey into Mediterranean flavors in a beautiful setting with a warm and welcoming atmosphere... Looking forward to seeing you!
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very delicious food and accommodating staff. Staff was so sweet and the atmosphere was warm and fun. Also, it's kosher food too!

Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gostijo_restaurant, Manager at Gostijo, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Rob P,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, the service and the warm atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Nehama Hendel, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    83
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful Athens experience!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place.
Super cute outdoor environment with little tables and some plants around the sides.

Waitress was so sweet. Explained all the dishes patiently (we had lots of questions).

The hostess is amazing!
Such a fun, friendly and inviting woman. She came to our table a few times to make sure all was ok and to ask if we needed any touring assistance. We did, and she was extremely helpful!

The food arrived at our table in a very timely manner and it was very tasty and enjoyable.

There were a lot of people in the restaurant and still we had wonderful service even though It was busy.

Highly recommended!
Will definitely return.

Side note - beautiful bathrooms :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeEeeTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gostijo_restaurant, Manager at Gostijo, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear CeeEeeTee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your complimentary review.

We are very happy you had a good experience with us and that you are ready to come back for more delicious food and great service in a welcoming beautiful environment, including the bathroom :).

Looking forward to serving you again,

Nehama Hendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bewilderingly over-rated”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hostess with a slightly confused story (she was from Israel but her father was originally from the Peloponese in the South, no wait, it was from Preveza in northern Greece) but nonetheless very pleasant and unquestionably the best aspect of the restaurant. By any measure the food was, at best, mediocre. The restaurant was completely empty, the tables were full of the past diner's remains which had not been cleared and the reviews on TA (the reason we went) are simply bewildering. The waitress was super pleasant and did a good job but I defy anyone to explain in a simple sentence why this place has the ratings it has. The 'garden' (surely a surreal joke) was actually a stairwell surrounded by green boarding. There was one lone olive tree by the staircase. We arrived thinking it might just be a bad evening for them, on a Tuesday at 21.30 (early for Athens) but aside from two slightly squiffy ladies who arrived at 11 we were literally the only people there. I had to go to the kitchen twice to get some service and the whole experience was utterly strange. Mediocre food, served by a super pleasant girl who knew the dishes by numbers...

I am prepared to believe that some of the other reports were genuine. But they are so completely detached from the reality we experienced this evening that I am bemused. I kept thinking there would be some fun aspect that would emerge but it didn't. Don't go if unless your idea of a fun night out is staring at strange green boardings by yourself and eating food which would never, in and of itself, make you want to return there.

I wanted to write a good review when I eventually met the hostess - who by her own admission had not noticed us coming in to an empty restaurant - I really did, as I liked her. The restaurant however, would be harder to like.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gostijo_restaurant, Manager at Gostijo, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Nic,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We take our customer's feedback very seriously and try to correct any mistakes we make (which inevitably happen in the hospitality business).

We strive to give a memorable experience to all our visitors, starting from attractive environment, warm welcome, friendly and personalized service, not forgetting delicious food, and we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations.

I'm glad you enjoyed our hostess and warm welcome, which is one of the things we pride ourselves on. In our menu, the names of the plates are in ladino (judeo-spanish), and since we get visitors from many countries which order in many languages (the menu is printed in 4 different languages), we also use numbers for the dishes in order to avoid any confusion.

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our food (you don't mention which dishes), and we feel bad you did not bring it to our attention then, when we could have exchanged the dishes to something more to your liking.

We're also sorry you did not like our outside seating area, which people usually find very pleasant with its cozy decor, many plants and olives trees. We also have a very nice and large indoor air-conditioned area which you could have chosen if you didn't like the outdoor seating. It's also unfortunate you came at a time when the restaurant was not so busy - something that is not always predictable.

I hope we are able to offer you a better experience should you come to visit us again,

Sincerely,

Nehama Hendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

As an orthodox jew I only eat kosher. In this lovely restaurant I found kosher food which is quite tasty at the same time. The staff was very kind. When I was experiencing a problem with my credit card the owner was willing to accept my Isreali money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gostijo_restaurant, Manager at Gostijo, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Meny,

Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you appreciated our kind service, which is one of the elements we pride ourselves on. Come again and send your friends for a kosher AND delicious vacation :)

Regards,

Nehama Hendel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Delicious and relaxing restaurant”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After a tiring day walking all over Athens we came to Gostijos for dinner. Absolutely delicious food! The lentils with fried onions was delectable and the Gyros overflowed with flavor. The service was quick and the food fresh. The warm welcome we received upon entering will have us returning in the future!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shevy725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gostijo_restaurant, Manager at Gostijo, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the food and the warm welcome. We strive to provide a good experience for all our visitors at Gostijo. Looking forward to seeing you again! Nehama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostijo also viewed

 

Been to Gostijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing