We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Friendly Kosher Restaurant in Psiri, Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gostijo

Gostijo
Ranked #13 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: A journey into Mediterranean flavors in a beautiful setting with a warm and welcoming atmosphere... Looking forward to seeing you!
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent and Friendly Kosher Restaurant in Psiri, Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very nice menu of Greek Sephardic food. Large portions. Very helpful staff who make you feel at home. Great for kosher travelers. Reasonably priced. We ate there 3 times in 5 days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    80
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant, would love to have one back at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Coming from the US, we had no idea if we'd have access to any kosher food, much less anything good. Gostijo provided amazing kosher food, with a really great vibe. The owner, the chabad rabbi, is a really nice individual, along with his very welcoming wife. The waiter is a really nice respectable guy. The front of house, Ricky, is like a mother for anyone who shows up needing a piece of home. Tip: order the cigars. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinch_me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Gem! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I strongly recommend trying out this incredible restaurant (Jews and Non-Jews). The authentic Greek food is delicious and the staff are friendly and helpful, offering a locals perspective on how to best enjoy their city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noahnachum
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and all Kinds of Kosher Treats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I were in Greece on our honeymoon, we were so grateful to the Chabad and all of the Jews of the Greek community.
The food was so delicious, we had dinner and lunch there on Shabbat and then we had dinner Saturday night and Sunday there and it was delicious!
The waiter offered us a treat at each meal, on the house!
It was really a great experience overall! Thank you Gostijo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank singingstar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“kosher in Athens - Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is not a simple kosher food solution, but is a fully fledged restaurant.
Very nice atmosphere, inviting high-ceiling dining area and is accommodating for both the tourist as well as for the businessman (-woman, so as not to step on anyone’s feelings…  ).

The menu offers a large choice, and food served is delicious, nicely arranged and the portions served will see to it that you will not leave hungry.

Mendel and his wife have built a really nice restaurant (besides of their other activities) and together with the very attentive lady (sorry, did not catch her name) organizing behind the scenes, are really doing their best to make everyone feel comfortable.
I cannot give too much of an opinion about the price as I cannot compare it to non-kosher venues, but let’s say, in Belgium you would pay much more for a kosher and such a delicious meal.

A freilichen kosheren Pessach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostijo also viewed

 

Been to Gostijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing