We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good quality meze food at good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melilotos

Melilotos
Ranked #72 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Downtown, busy and small family restaurant, with a few tables outside. Fresh, local food with a twist, cooked with love and best quality ingredients. It is placed among cafes and bars, so it is the right place to feel the rythm of the city!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good quality meze food at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We ran into this restaurant by chance when strolling in central Athens and felt hungry. It is a greek-meze type of restaurant with good quality dishes and reasonable prices, We really enjoyed the food and would recommend it if you are looking to try such a place.

One disadvantage was the fact that it was quite hot upstairs maybe from the heat coming from the kitchen.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    213
    60
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
214 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good, poor menu descriptions...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Monday night. There was one other couple eating dinner at that time. The service was above average.

We shared an earth salad. It was very, very good.

My wife had the meatball entree. I had the chicken & mushroom pasta. Both were good, bit not necessarily what we expected. The menu descriptions of all entrees lacked details. Our pastas have a sauce...what kind?

Several local beers available and house wine was good (especially for 2.5 euro/glass).

Better menu descriptions that help customers decide what actually sounds good would help this be a 5 star review.

Helpful?
Thank Derrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews and it was actually very good. Except from the starters which were standard everything else was delicious. There are some main courses which are fantastic. There is a good selection of non-ordinary beers. The service is actually efficient and the atmosphere is nice.

Its just next to Ermou and very close to Syntagma and it definitely worth a visit when you are at the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArisFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent place, nothing impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose this place based on TA reviews but for us it had nothing special. The service was good, we had three mezzes and all three were good but not impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Basak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We ended up in Melilotus by chance after trying to find another restaurant that we didn't end up finding in the end!
We were slightly fed up with having to eat the same kind of things on our trip so we were pleasantly surprised that the menu was different. I had a tuna steak and my hubby had the Cretean pork. The tuna steak was just divine. The pork was too smokey but that's according to preference rather than a criticism. We were also pleasantly surprised by Greek wine, enough to rival french wine!
We were so stuffed that we decided to pass on desserts but we asked about one dessert that we werent familiar with and the staff bought it out for us so that we could try it. It was the most generous and kind-hearted gesture.
Def worth eating here. It has a relaxed ambiance with real friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melilotos also viewed

 
 

Been to Melilotos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing