We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice enough lodging in a convenient location but disappointing kitchette.”
Review of Holiday Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Suites
Ranked #66 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is situated on a very narrow and obscure street (Arnis street). The taxi driver has a hard time finding this place. He has to ask several locals along the way to locate this hotel. Maybe it will be a good idea to print a map of the location to assist the taxi driver.

The check-in and check-out were very smooth. The several staff I encountered during my stay were friendly. Several brochures and a map were given upon checking in. The Megaro metro station is a short walk away. Around this area, there's a mini groceries store just at the end of Arnis street where you can buy the essentials, like mineral water. Also, between the hotel and the metro station, you will encounter several cafes such as Illy; good place to have breakfast before an exciting day ahead.

The room itself is clean. They have set up an extra bed for my kid. Other than that, the room is exactly as what you see in their website. There's a round dining table, an office desk and a comfortable sofa set with still plenty of room for the 3 of us.

There are a couple of dislikes I have about this place. Firstly, it's the kitchette, or the lack of it. The kitchette is actually a small cardboard. Inside you will find one portable electric stove, some quite dirty pots and a kettle. There's no kitchen sink or the smoke absorber thingy above to reduce the odour and smoke from cooking. I would not want to cook anything here.

The other dislike is that, despite the modern looking room, there is a CRT-type tv. There is even a surround sound system in the room with a DVD player and yet the old looking tv seems so out of place. Probably it's time to upgrade to the LCD/LED tv.

But overall, I think this is still quite a nice hotel, if you are not planning to cook your own meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwcyenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights in the Holiday Suites in April 2013. We booked it on booking.com for a very reasonable rate. I cannot praise this hotel and its staff highly enough.
The room was massive (a Junior Suite) with a sofa, arm chair, TV and DVD system with theatre sound, a minibar and also a food/drink preparation area with a small table and two chairs to eat at. Also, shutters that come down over the main windows operated electrically from the bedside. The bathroom was excellent, with bath and shower. Also, a good balcony with chairs and tables and a fairly good view down a narrow street with lots of vegetation. Importantly, the room and whole hotel were clean and modern looking. A small general shop was located about 20 metres away that stayed open late, sold most things, and was very reasonably priced. The hotel was well located for either walking or using the Metro (Opera House Stop was 5 mins walk away). The small restaurant in the hotel was well stocked for breakfast (ranging from cereals to cooked), and was good value for money.
Finally, the staff members were excellent. All were friendly, courteous and helpful.
We would definitely use the hotel again (and plan to). We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 598David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent apartments very close to Megaro Moussikis Metro station, where we stayed following Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We have got used to staying in apartments as they are a lot more roomy than hotel rooms and these did not disappoint - for a central location in an European city, they were very spacious but reasonably priced. Our suite had a bedroom area separated by a partition from a comfortable seating area, large bathroom, a dining table set and a small 'kitchenette' in a cupboard, with a hob, coffee maker, small fridge, basic utensils - enough to make porridge in the morning! The Metro is easiest to travel by from the airport - get off at Megaro Moussikis and turn right outside the station and right again.There are a couple of excellent cafes and Greek restaurants close by, in lanes leading off behind it, around the Crowne Plaza area, while the city centre - Syntagma square, Acropolis etc. are a few metro stops away (or a longish walk past the Panathanaikos stadium).
The Reception staff are very helpful and there is a small minimarket at the end of the lane.
Although it doesn't have Acropolis views, which seem to be the selling point of much more expensive hotels, we were seeing the Acropolis for most of the day while wandering around anyway. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XrayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night before a tour we were taking on the Peloponnese. We were greeted very nicely and quickly given the impression that the receptionists were there to help us. We were given lots of great advice for our night for food and sightseeing.

On return from our tour by our own mistake, the hotel we were staying in could not accept our reservation. Close to 9pm we called Holiday Suites on the other side of town and they accepted our late booking gladly with the same cheap rate we paid previously. We were very thankful.

We found the rooms quite spacious and they had roll down shutters to block out external light.

It is about 10 minutes walk from Megaro Moussikis, which is only 2 stops away from the tourist centre. Trains come every 4 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I travel to Athens I prefer to stay near the center, which means rather expensive hotels with small rooms. This time following trip-advisor reviews we have chosen Holliday Suites and we are so pleased that we decided that this is going to be our preferred hotel in Athens. The rooms are literally huge by European standards and they are equipped with whatever a traveler would need, e.g. tea-coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, table with chairs, crockery etc., plus free Wi-Fi. Their web site is accurate. The hotel is located 200 meters from a metro stop from where there is a direct line to the airport. The city center (Syntagma) is just two metro stops away.
Last but not least the front desk personnel are highly professional, friendly and helpful. We did not have breakfast, which seemed rather expensive. There are many cafes and bakeries in the neighborhood as well as a supermarket just around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spacious, clean and cosy suite with lovely bathroom situated in a quiet leafy residential street just a few minutes walk behind Megaro Moussikis metro station. It's just a couple of stops from the city centre metro stations (Acropolis, Syntagma Square) .

We appreciated the space in the fridge, kettle, coffee maker and single hot plate, plus basic crockery/cutlery in the tiny kitchenette to fix up snacks. Handy small supermarket on the corner and a few decent coffee shop/cafes in the immediate vicinity.

Lucky enough to get a suite with a balcony and got the continental breakfast delivered there via room service to enjoy out there in the sunshine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

The swimming pool at the Crowne Plaza that guests can use was in its final week of closure but will be soon available to all visitors to the holiday suites for the summer.

Mount Lycabettus is just a 10 minute amble from the hotel - great for a walk up the hill where there are fab views, a church, cafe and wild tortoises.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconys with a dining table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my third visit to Athens and also the third consecutive stay in Holiday Suites.. I cannot think of another hotel or even studio apartment in the place of Holiday Suites, even if a great hotel is there I dont want to know. It has all facilities to make you forget that you are staying in a hotel. People in reception are really amazing and very very helpful. I would like thank to everyone specially Alex (Amazing Person very good at heart), Manolis (He is Greece map and wikipedia.. he tells information, that's enough you just have to follow even though you don't know Greek, you can travel anywhere in Greece with his information), Konstantina and Nikoz are like a family friends.. I would like to recommend "Holiday Suites" strongly.... Visit there and meet those wonderful humans..

Room Tip: anything ends with 8 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PREMANAND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#39 of 282 in Athens
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
0.4 mi away
Stratos Vassilikos
Stratos Vassilikos
#25 of 282 in Athens
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Athenes
Novotel Athenes
#61 of 282 in Athens
2,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delice Hotel - Family Apartments
0.3 mi away
Divani Caravel Hotel
Divani Caravel Hotel
#62 of 282 in Athens
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Suites

Address: Arnis 4, Athens 115 28, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Athens
#40 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $108 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guests of Holiday Suites can use the facilities of Crowne Plaza such as: the roof-top swimming pool, the gyma, the sauna, the restaurant and the bar. Crowne Plaza Athens is only 600 meters away from Holiday Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing