We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A no-frills sufficient hotel in a good location”
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NJV Athens Plaza
Ranked #44 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A no-frills sufficient hotel in a good location”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel was mediocre.

Their location was great - just a short walk away from the metro and a short walk to Plaka, where Athen's real beauty and attractions lay.

Also, their rooms were sufficient - clean, nice and comfortable. However, they were a bit antiquated with their technology. They do not have alarm clocks (sort of an issue if you have an early morning flight). They do not have irons. Their hair dryer was functional, but not the most convenient to use.

The service was nice - friendly, efficient and helpful.

Basic, nice for a quick stay near Plaka.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chica1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    359
    123
    42
    27
See reviews for
171
338
51
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel has a lot going for it - location, very friendly staff, lovely rooms and views of the Acropolis. We stayed here for 2 nights at the front end of our trip and one night at the end of our trip. The staff worked very hard to make sure we were happy. The rooms are large, clean and nicely furnished. The balconies, though very small offer a glimpse of the Acropolis and a nice view of the hustle and bustle below.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel is perfeclty situated in an area that not only is beautiful, but in the middle of everything ! Walking distance form the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum, the Benaki Museum, the Cycladic Museum. Great shopping areas from the high end shops and boutiques, to the picturesque Monastiraki market. In the hotel the "explorers bar" was a very nice and atmospheric surprise. Its lovely green leather chestefield armchairs of this english -style bar were a simple relaxing delight to enjoy a drink after all the walking around .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitet0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Located on Constitution Square this hotel is perfect for a quick stay in Athens. Refurbished for the Olympics it is well appointed and possibly the most comfortable bed in any hotel. Breakfast is adequate but not a great choice if you arrive after 8.30 am.

Open top tourist buses leave from the square outside the hotel 20 euros for 24 hours, hop on and off at the major sites and shops.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

"I think its fair to say that a 5* hotel in Athens is not as palatial as one would expect in other cities but, having said that it was a very well appointed hotel. Its right in the centre of everything (on Syntagama Sq) where one would ideally want to be and is therefore a very short walk from the Plaka (Old Town) and of course all the sights. Some central Athens hotels are in the nastier ends of town (eg Thissio to the north west of the Acropolis) but this area is totally safe. The hotel was asked for a non smoking room but we were given a very smoky one initially but we were changed after being asked if we would mange for 1 night - NO - and ended up in a higher grade room. Most of the hotel staff, as is the case with most Greeks, were very friendly and helpful with excellent english but the hotel had a very autocratic front of house manager who was arrogant and rude as we had misunderstood the rules and extra costs concerning our included breakfast ( watch out for this - the English is ambiguous - ordering before 7am for a free in the room meal means actually having it arrive before 7 in your room and you have to order it the night before!). When it transpired that we were correct not him over the bill he just walked away leaving us with a minion to deal with it!! It left us a bit peeved at the end of our trip but the rest was great - we were allowed to stay an extra 2 hours in our room at no extra cost by one manager and that meant we could freshen up after a last minute sight see. We booked very last minute and got a very good price so hold out if you can bear the tension. We took a gamble as we were off elsewhere in Greece and were just sandwiching it with 2 nights in Athens so took the risk and it was worth it as we paid the same for 5* as we might have paid for 3."
Top Tip:
"We arrived by taxi from Athens airport but there is an E95 direct bus to the Square (too hot to contemplate when we were there) and a new metro line almost outside the hotel door that only costs 6 euros for 1 person or 10 euros for 2. Make sure you get your ticket validated otherwise its a 20 times the fare fine on the airport line and 60 times on other metro routes. The metro was clean and cool and is recommended. I was always told never to eat in a place showing a picture of the food outside so that holds good for many of the eateries here. We went to a DK Top Ten Guide recommended restaurant - the Abyssinia - but although a lovely place it was nothing special food wise. All the touristy places are the same but we were advised to go around Monasterki area to the NE of it by our guide to eat with the locals. Our guide was James from the Athens Walking Tour and this was so worth the 34€ it cost each of us and is a must if you want to know the evolution of the city rather than just see it. We also took the red Happy Bus tour (as it was raining for the first time in 6 months) but the jolly girl on that just said - here's the Agora etc and nothing else about it. However it was only 6€ and was a hop on and off train ride around the streets and the sites. We were greatly impressed by the new Acropolis Museum - a definite must see and on special at 1€. The glass floors have everybody whoopsing when they realise what they are upon!! The Jewish Museum on Nikis is a gem but closes at 2.30 pm and all day Friday. Its fascinating to watch the street traders with their bags running from the police who otherwise just seem to stand in groups smoking and chatting. The changing of the Guard on the hour 24/7 outside the tomb of the unknown soldier on the Square is worth seeing as well. Apparently at night its the trainees so they are less slick. The Acropolis was packed - try and go very early or late to avoid the cruise ship parties. There are water taps to refill bottles at the top and coming down take the dusty footpath through the middle as a quiet short cut down. Look out for the tortoises scuttling all over the hill as well."

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The hotel is in a great location - 5/10 minutes walk to Placa and close to the parliament building. Just one word of warning, some traffic noise can be heard, although it did not interrupt my sleep at all.

Check-in was fast and efficient, but my room was a little disappointing. It was an art-deco style, but was in need of some modernisation. It just felt a little tired. However, the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed comfortable, so no real complaints.

Breakfast in the basement restaurant was a little disappointing, not the greatest of selections and the fruit did not seem to be the freshest (the pineapple rings were clearly out of a tin!).

I was travelling on business, so a corporate rate was paid. I did however notice that the 'rack rate' was 550 euros per night for what was a standard double room. The room is in no way worthy of this price. Make sure you book ahead and get one of the special rates that are referred to in previous reviews.

Oh, and one final tip - the room air conditioning controls are 'hidden' behind the door between the bedroom and the small entrance area!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robski_korsikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at NJV for 2 nights after a 3 week trip on the Greek islands and just loved the luxury after spending our time in pensions on the islands. We booked a special deal at only AUS$220 per night (120 EURO) which we thought was reasonable.

We picked this hotel after reading the reviews and mainly for the location in Syntagma Square. Ideally located opposite a train station, bus stops (only 3 EURO to the airport), the trams (1 EURO to the beach), shopping (for designer and high street shops) and the tourist spots, ie Acropolis.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not included and was pricey at 25 EURO per person. However, make sure you look at the room service menu as you will find cheaper options for breakfast. If 10-15 EURO is still too much, then you can venture out to the cafes opposite for half that price. We found our rooms clean & cosy.

The only downside I found was the contradicting informaiton provided by the staff for late check outs. As our flight was not till 11pm on the day of check out, I queried how much it would cost for a late check out. Upon checking in I was informed, check out is at 12pm but I could have the room till 6pm for an extra 60 EURO which I thought was reasonable. The following night, I decided to go for the late check out deal but the staff member was unsure and said I have to arrange this on the day I check out. So on the following morning (the day of check out), I asked about the late check out again and was informed that it would cost me 120 EURO for a 6pm check out or free till 3pm. I thought it strange that the 3pm check out was not offered to me when I checked in and annoyed that now the price had doubled to stay till 6pm. Nevertheless, we went with the 3pm option for free and decided to take a trip on the tram to the beach to pass the time.

Overall, we loved the hotel and would stay there again. If you get a chance and your budget allows, you must go the one of the top 5* restaurnats at Plaka with a fantastic view to the Acropolis. I believe it was called Diogenes Restaurant although the hotel will confirm the name. Its located at the end of the Plaka and the food was amazing but expensive - at least anything between 15 EURO to 40 EURO for a main dish.

Also, if you don't have too many bags, I would reccomnend the bus to the airport as its only a 5 min walk (across Syntagma Sq) to the bus stop. A taxi will charge at least 30 EURO compared to 3 EURO on the bus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
354 reviews
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#37 of 326 in Athens
929 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,027 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Property: NJV Athens Plaza
Address: 2 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#34 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing