We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NJV Athens Plaza
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was very well located, and they also offer free internet on 2 PCs in the lobby, which was very convenient. Rooms were comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast was a buffet or you could order, with a very nice variety of choices. The staff was friendly and helpful, although they do need some additional training.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks on our property. As our main goal is to offer our guests high quality facilities and services, we were delighted to read that your stay with us was very satisfying. Thank you again.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    339
    112
    39
    23
See reviews for
157
308
48
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

As many other state the location is indeed the best thing with this hotel, located at Syntagma Square and close to one of the main shopping streets in Athens. Furthermore around 20 min walk from Acropolis. On the plus side was also the breakfast, which had a good assortment, but nothing extra though.

On the minus side is firstly the service, especially at the reception. VERY arrogant and unfriendly male receptionists. And the cleaning/room service...I attach a couple of pic's of a "cleaned" bathrobe. In addition, I stayed there for 4 nights and the minibar was NEVER replenished. And when I arrived one of the products had already been opened. Secondarily the hotel itself is getting old and worn in places. We had among all one full day seminar at the hotel and the aircon was not working! Unbearable hot, and no actions whatsoever from the staff despite several reminders.

So my usual ultimate final point. Would I go there again? No, no and no!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up (5th or 6th floor) towards syntagma square. Then you have a nice view of Acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about our hotel. The points you have raised about our facilities and service are taken into consideration as our main priority is always to satisfy our client's needs and wants.
We deeply believe that your estimation about our performance and image was based on truly unfortunate coincidence circumstances.
Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens in order to accommodate your stay with the most satisfying way.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiliv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel location is very good: nearby the Syntagma metro station with the direct train to the airport, within a walking distance to Acropolis and other sights. The breakfast is good. The staff is helpful. Hotel itself needs a renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Viktor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent and front desk service and assistance are friendly and good. The breakfasts and lunches prepared were fine and the food was tasty. The rooms are ample though the beds are a little hard and certainly not like those found in modern hotels. Perhaps the biggest problem resides with the age of the htoel and the light sewage aroma that permeates many rooms, especially the conference room. Air conditioning is lacking and the elevators are too small and while still functional, though should be replaced. In town for a work conference, I would not return nor recommend this hotel for business nor pleasure until it is fully renovated.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and a room away from the elevators and any air conditioning machinery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments about the hotel. The points you have raised about our facilities are taken into consideration as our main priority is to satisfy our client’s needs and wants. Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product. We certainly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens in order to accommodate your stay with the most satisfying way.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ditto the most recent reviews. Excellent location (next to the more expensive king George and Grand Bretagne) on Syntagma sq which is handy for all tram/tube/bus places. 5mins walk to Plaka/national gardens, 10min to Acropolis. Breakfast was a good selection (not amazing). Friendly service. Wanted to add that we were travelling with our 2 kids and stayed in room 914 facing Syntagma sq with view of acropolis staying in family suite. It was excellent value. Modern fittings (wood floors rather than the green carpet) and 2 roll-out beds for our 2 kids in a separate living room and we had a lovely bedroom.

Room Tip: Room 914 is great for families with separate living room to put roll out beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_M_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having chosen the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel on your recent visit to Athens. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was comfortable and that our high level of service met with your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Everything was perfect! The staff went above and beyond anything I would have expected. The room that I stayed in was on the top floor of which you walked out onto a large balcony that had a breathtaking view of the Acropolis - stunning!!!! The location was within walking distance to the many local restaurants as well as the Plaka. A beautiful hotel inside and out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level have a balcony that you can walk around the on the whole top floor - the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cprjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My first trip to Athens, I needed somewhere comfortable and central. The NJV Athens Plaza proved the best choice. Service was great, the setting very central and within easy walk of the business, historic and shopping areas. Next visit, it will be my first choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilena Z, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#37 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#16 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Property: NJV Athens Plaza
Address: 2 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#34 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing