We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NJV Athens Plaza
Ranked #41 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Right in the middle of everything, walking distance to the acropolis and museums and breakfast was good! Service is good and you can get a room with a view of the acropolis. For the money you can't beat it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knicpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments.
As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It is our goal at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza to retain you as a satisfied guest and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    330
    106
    38
    22
See reviews for
146
301
47
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is very convenient and I have stayed there 3 times until today. The first time my room was on the inside of the 7th floor overlooking their noisy main aircondition unit on the ground floor. The second time I explained nicely and the staff changed my room to the outside with a great view from the balcony and that made up for the last stay. However the third time they again placed me on the other side with the noise from the hotels main aircondition unit and when asked to change room they told me they were fully booked. They keep a guest record but apparently they do not use it as they should. The breakfast is excellent and the staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is overlooking the Syntagma or the outside in general and not the backyard with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We most distressed to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with the services provided by the hotel during your recent stay with us.

Since we are continuously striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodation, your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated. It is through your observations that we are able to find ways of improving our product.

We wish to thank you ones again for your constructive comments.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I selected this hotel for an one-night stay because I wanted to be close to Sintagma/Constitution square and not pay an arm and a leg for a room at the King George hotel or the Grand Bretagne which is right next to the Athens Plaza. I didn't regret it as the price was good and the room sufficient but I didn't get a room with a view and the room itself didn't really look like one of a 5-star hotel. It was rather small, definitely needs refurbishment and the AC was too weak... The staff was quite nice and polite and also allowed me to check out late without making it a big deal - which usually makes me feel like a beggar at some hotels. I didn't try the food but I had a good feeling about it... All in all, the experience was positive although I would have liked the rooms a little more poshy. For its price, though, it was more than satisfactory and I would probably stay there again if I needed a room downtown Athens.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms face the Acropolis and Sintagma square and half of them face a small little alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive comments.
We sincerely appreciate the contribution of your time and please rest assured that we are constantly trying to improve our services.
It is our goal at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza to retain you as a satisfied guest and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nites here en route to the islands. Perfect hotel for seeing the key Athens sights - easy walking distance to Parthenon, the Plaka, etc. Room was very well done, clean, and the staff was terrific and very helpful - at a fraction of the cost of the Grand Bretagne 2 doors down.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank petermv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments.
As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It is our goal at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza to retain you as a satisfied guest and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My traveling buddies and I chose the NJV Athens Plaza as a sort of luxurious way to begin and end our Greek vacation -we wanted to be comfortable after arriving from a 10+ hour flight and to live it up before we left. Absolutely, 100% we were not disappointed. The location of the NJV is just perfect, overlooking Syntagma Square and spitting distance from Parliament, the National Gardens, the Temple of the Olympian Zeus, Ermou Street, etc. The staff was fantastic - friendly, professional, charming, and hospitable. We asked for restaurant recommendations at the beginning and end of our trip, and both times the front desk not only recommended a restaurant but called and made reservations, telling the hosts to especially look after us! The rooms themselves were lovely - spacious, decorated with columns and ancient-style Greek artwork without feeling forced, touristy, or cheesy. Both rooms we stayed in had lovely views of the Acropolis (I took about 100 pictures from the hotel balcony alone). For such a beautiful hotel, the price cannot be beat, and a comparably priced room in Paris or London would cost at least 2-3 times as much. The only (minor) drawback is that there is no free wi-fi, but honestly, what do you need the Internet for when you're luxuriating in your Greek adventure? I would recommend the NJV to anyone. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faracest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments about the N.J.V. Athens Plaza.
Regarding our hotel's location, as you mention, we are very proud to be in the heart of Athens on Syntagma square and within walking distance from all places of interest i.e. Acropolis, Museums, Monastiraki, Plaka, shopping and nightfall districts. It is a real pleasure to read that the hotel facilities and services were up to your expectations and you were fully satisfied.We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

As our 16 day Greek Island cruise was (I thought) very affordable - I was pleasantly surprised by the luxury afforded at this hotel in Athens where we spent the first 2 nights before the cruise. Huge room - every amenity from fridge to safe to little shoe bags.....and a fantastic spread for the breakfast buffet each morning. Beautifully clean - and smack dab in the middle of Athens...right on Government Square.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel once more, on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the NJV Hotel in Athens with my husband and two children. The location of this hotel is excellent! We were given an upper floor room and the view of the Acropolis was beyond description! It was truly spectacular. The rooms were clean and the staff was really nice!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza when visiting Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#36 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Property: NJV Athens Plaza
Address: 2 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#34 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing