We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at good price”
Review of NJV Athens Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NJV Athens Plaza
Ranked #46 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury at good price”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in May 2012. The stay was memorable. The hotel in located bang on the syntegma square adjecent to two other luxury hotels. Its very well connected by bus with other parts of the city. The rooms vere very big and luxurious with big beds and a balcony. On request, they were nice to change our room to one with the view of the acropolis for one night with no extra charge! The breakfast was delicious and fresh ! I am a vegetarian and they specially made a mushroom dish for me without me asking them for the breakfast. Their yogut and honey was tasty. We got the room booked through a travel agent called pacific at the airport. He got us the room for Eur 120 while the price at the hotel was 180..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with acropolis view. It looks pretty at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest, your kind comments were greatly appreciated and we are delighted your experience at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza Hotel was so positive. Your comments are the best motivation our staff can have to continue offering the service you describe in such glowing terms. We hope to have you back with us on your future visits to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    370
    125
    43
    28
See reviews for
175
347
54
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel, in March and in May. If i had given this review in march, it would have been staight 5s but, as the hotel does not keep record of their clients and past rooms allocated, it came as a minor disappointment when the May room was small, facing nothing and having a medium sized bed.
On the other hand, i would fully reccommend it for location, friendliness of staff and of course, value for money, it being next to other hotels in Syntagma square whose prices were triple of this.
And i will stay there again, but i will take care to ask the right questions on arrival.

Room Tip: insist on a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASIacovides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest, we have read your very kind comments with great appreciation and satisfaction. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service and facilities our guests have every right to expect and to which we are committed to offer. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very centric and close to major attractions like syntagma square, the acropolis. One major pedestrian shopping area across the street as well and a voda phone shop across the street for the sim card shoppers that need to stay connected during their stay. Plenty of taxis available and the metro station is on the square. Higher floor rooms are highly recommended since street noise can be bothersome at night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald147277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing the N.J.V. Athens Plaza on your recent visit to Athens and for your recommendation. It is a pleasure reading that you were satisfied with our services and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night beginning of June.
When we called the hotel the same day we were told that they are fully booked... we tried other similar hotels on Syntagma square with no luck. Since we have been to Greece and Athens many times before we very much preferred this location so
via a travel agent back home we managed to get a room at a good price (for this hotel) including breakfast.
Upon arrival we were told that the reservation (done a few minutes before from abroad...) has not yet been recorded. I had an email confirmation which I presented to them on the computer screen and that was good enough.
This took only a few minutes but we were informed that due to the 'waiting time' we were upgraded to a Deluxe room, Fine with us!
The room, on the top 8th floor was fabulous and spacious. Very large with an extremely large bed. But the main plus was the enormous roof balcony. I have never seen such a large hotel balcony. From there one could enjoy the view of the Acropolis.

The location of this hotel cannot be topped. Directly on Syntagma square, a short walking distance to the Plaka, Acropolis etc.

The service is excelent and all the staff were very helpful.
We left to the airport early next day so had to make it very short at breakfast which seems to be great - good variety and service.

I would recommend this hotel and we will stay at the Athens Plaza again when back in Athens.
My only neg' is that the hotel charges 9 Euro a day for the wi-fi. It is time these hotels understand that this is an essential service that should be completely free. It is somewhat ironic that in the cheaper low stared hotels, the wi-fi is usually free...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your stay at the N.J.V. Athens Plaza. It was a pleasure reading your positive comments and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the cost of the internet, we would like to inform you that it is in line with other same category hotels. We look forward to welcoming you to the N.J.V. Athens Plaza on your next visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The location is probably the best you can get in Athens, combining shopping in Ermou Street and sightseeing, on foot, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki area, Acropolis, etc.
The rooms are spacious and the double beds are really big!
Breakfast is good but very expensive. For the same money you can have breakfast in a local cafe and a good souvlaki lunch in the monastiraki area.

Room Tip: You can pay an additional amount to get a room overlooking Syntagma Square and Acropolis. Alternativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyrSpyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in April 2012. At arrival, it turned out they had upgraded me to one of their suites on the 7th floor. Don't know why, but how cares. Luckely I did not had to pay the price mentioned on the entrance door :).
The hotel is located at the main square in Athens, Syntagma Square, in the centre of Athens. Due to the crisis in Greece, almost every day there is a demonstration using this square. Every time the hotel takes all kind of precautions, like lowering down their window protection at ground level. Gives the feeling that the hotel takes good care for the savety of their guests.
Room/suite was perfect and clean. Breakfast good. Did not tried swimming pools and fitness centre. Did use their facilities for hosting a meeting: absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiebe_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful comments. It's always a pleasure to be able to pass on such appreciative comments to our staff and it certainly motivates them to continue offering the service they are happy to offer. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our experience at this hotel in early April was excellent. Our 8th floor corner room with balcony was magnificent: views of Acropolis, Parliament/Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Olympic Stadium, National Gardens and Syntagma Square. Syntagma offers an inside view of what is going on in Greece/Athens and how people feel about it, sometimes accompanied by noise, banners, music, etc. It allowed an opportunity to see beyond a tourist view of this amazing city, for which we felt lucky. Plus, Syntagma is a metro stop which makes hotel access from the airport so easy. Hotel's location offers an easy walk to City Market, Plaka, Agora, Acropolis, museums, Stadium, and so much more. Bus stop about three blocks away makes for an easy trip to Sounion and many other towns outside Athens. Staff was extremely helpful if we asked. Otherwise everyone was friendly and unobtrusive. Room rates were unexpectedly reasonable. We stayed six nights. If we are ever lucky enough to get back to Athens this is the hotel we will choose.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAM54Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest, we are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel once more, on many future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
412 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#38 of 326 in Athens
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NJV Athens Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NJV Athens Plaza

Property: NJV Athens Plaza
Address: 2 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#34 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#37 Family Hotel in Athens
#54 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NJV Athens Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally located right on prestigious Syntagma (Constitution)Square, opposite the Houses of Parliament with the changing of the Guards and within walking distance from the Acropolis/Acropolis museum and all places of interest, museums, Plaka, Monastiraki, Kolonaki, shopping and night life districts.For a supplement deluxe rooms can be offered with magnifiscent views of the Acropolis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NJV Athens Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njv Athens Plaza Hotel Athens
Njv Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing