We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD”
Review of Oinopoleion

Oinopoleion
Ranked #93 of 3,000 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: “Oinopoleion”… means Wine-shop. From the Winery straight to your table! A traditional wine-restaurant with a long history since 1928 where wine holds the leading role since it is an actual branch of the Attican Winery “Markou Vineyards”. At “Oinopoleion” you can drink wine by the glass or by the carafe or bottled offering a variety of both indigenous and foreign grape varieties which are grown exclusively at the Markou family’s vineyards and all aim to please even the most demanding palettes. The Markou winery’s wines are accompanied by finely executed delicious dishes, made of the freshest Mediterranean ingredients and based on Greece’s vast regional cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here twice for dinner and once for lunch. The food is great with so much flavour. I wouldn’t know which dish was the best one as all of them were fantastic. The play music on the weekends (evening) and it is so cosy. We felt welcome at all times. The staff is so nice. I would recommend this place to anyone. Not sure why is not number one. We had try some other restaurants in Athens during our stay but we didn’t feel a Greece vibe like in this one.
Please come for lunch or dinner and you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ivantxo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinopoleion, Owner at Oinopoleion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ivantxo81,

Wow! Thank you so very much for your fantastic review and awesome comments!

We are so very happy that you enjoyed your visits to Oinopoleion.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards,

Oinopoleion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First restaurant after arriving into Athens. Got a good first impression of the city! Friendly staff, with some special care from them; a private table in the garden. Really nice. Food was mediocre, but the atmosphere was perfect.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LauriK143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Best musaka and salad in Athens! Lovely bartender. We repeated another day. Price very convinient. Just enjoyed it!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank marizamora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinopoleion, Owner at Oinopoleion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear marizamora2,

Thank you for your great review and comments!

You have made us very happy!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Best Regards,

Oinopoleion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

There are loads of choices as you stroll around this hipster neighbourhood and the traditional tavernas might play second bouzouki to some of the trendier joints that cater for the hip young crowd, but we were really pleased that we went trad and picked this place, as we could easily have walked on by.

We sat outside and were promised live music, which wasn’t really a deal maker or breaker for us, as we usually worry more if our 3 girls will find something they like, or not.

We food was top notch Greek cuisine with plentiful flavours and cooked to perfection. The service was genuinely warm, attentive and patient.

We finished off inside for some authentic bouzouki music from a talented trio and were treated to some drinks and yoghurt pots, on the house.

We were so pleased with our choice!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dungdeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinopoleion, Owner at Oinopoleion, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2019

Dear Dungdeane,


Thank you for your stellar review and comments!

We are firm believers that "traditional" is the edgiest trend ; )

We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at Oinopoleion.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Oinopoleion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

A small, intimate and wonderful tavern. The food is simply perfect! We listened to Arbetico music that night however the place hosts different music bands every night with traditional greek music. The service ! is absoloutly wonderful
We would deffinately come back again!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank GaliY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oinopoleion also viewed

 

Been to Oinopoleion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing