We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tavern in centeral Athens”
Review of Oinopoleion

Oinopoleion
Ranked #93 of 3,000 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: “Oinopoleion”… means Wine-shop. From the Winery straight to your table! A traditional wine-restaurant with a long history since 1928 where wine holds the leading role since it is an actual branch of the Attican Winery “Markou Vineyards”. At “Oinopoleion” you can drink wine by the glass or by the carafe or bottled offering a variety of both indigenous and foreign grape varieties which are grown exclusively at the Markou family’s vineyards and all aim to please even the most demanding palettes. The Markou winery’s wines are accompanied by finely executed delicious dishes, made of the freshest Mediterranean ingredients and based on Greece’s vast regional cuisine.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

A small, intimate and wonderful tavern. The food is simply perfect! We listened to Arbetico music that night however the place hosts different music bands every night with traditional greek music. The service ! is absoloutly wonderful
We would deffinately come back again!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank GaliY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 328 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2019

All around, Oinopoleion gave us one of the best meals we had in Athens. The waiters were friendly and attentive, and each dish we tried was delicious.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank CTfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinopoleion, Owner at Oinopoleion, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Dear CTfriend,

You are certainly a friend of ours!

Thank you for taking the time to write about Oinopoleion and of course thank you so very much for your stellar review!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards,

Oinopoleion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

This place is definitely not a place to go with children. My younger sister, who is 12, asked me if she can have some wine because she saw a 13-15 year old boy drinking in the table next to us. I also look 17 because i have a baby face and they never asked me for an id. The food though was not bad

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank 290yiannisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oinopoleion, Owner at Oinopoleion, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear 290yiannisf,

Thank you very much for your comments on the food!

For the rest of your objections concerning alcohol consumption for minors, there seems to be a cultural misunderstanding.

Firstly, the legal age for drinking in Greece is 17 years.

Secondly the Presidential decree specifically states that establishments serving alcohol should not serve or allow minors to enter if not under parental/guardian supervision.
(http://www.dsanet.gr/Epikairothta/Nomothesia/pd350_03.htm)

If, thus, minors are under parental/guardian supervision it is up to the guardians to determine whether their child should be allowed to drink or not. The establishment in that case bares no ethical nor legal responsibility, nor does the state for that matter.

To conclude, it is not considered morally reprehensible in the Greek culture to offer your child a sip of wine. Our Greek orthodox church's holly communion is a sip of wine and bread, the blood and body of Christ, and Greeks do attend holly communion as early as baby infants sipping wine.


Kind Regards,

Oinopoleion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

A very good traditional taverna and winery, owned by a vineyard. The food was great. the live music very good. Recomended.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

Located in the psirri neighborhood this restaurant is a true gem! They’re famous for their wines but their food menu was the most comprehensive menu of greek cuisine i have seen. The staff were excellent and took care of us really well. As a vegetarian I had a wide selection to choose from but my husband thoroughly enjoyed the meat dishes as well!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank shreyzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oinopoleion also viewed

 

Been to Oinopoleion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing