We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in excellent location”
Review of Adams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adams Hotel
Ranked #100 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Istambul
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Clean, reasonably sized room with large terrace looking at Acropolis, fridge, excellent service. Perfect location close to excellent restairants and pedestrian streets.Very good hotel in its category. Would stay again.

Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteRabbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    98
    48
    12
    15
See reviews for
60
95
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Adam's Hotel was just right and easy to find; quiet yet in the heart of Plaka. We had a corner room which was terrific – two large windows and a nice balcony. Breakfast was very good with homemade yogurt, and the breakfast room is sunny and welcoming. The rooms and the lift are small and while there is nothing impressive about this hotel, everything was clean and fine and the price was right. So if you want an excellent fun neighborhood, close to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum and other sites, and you are watching expenses, this is a good choice.
It's an easy downhill walk from the airport-bus stop in Syntagma. Just walk down Amalias and turn right on Thalou (just before Hadrian's arch). Walk two short blocks in and it's on the corner.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights at the beginning of our trip to Greece. The hotel was in a great location, it was in the plaka district which is near all the little shops and within walking distance of the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Ancient Agora, Hadrian's arch as well as the downtown garden/park area. The hotel was clean, well kept. Breakfast was not included in the price, but with all the great restaurants around, it really wasn't necessary. The bed was decent, there was a lot of room in the room. There were two beds as well as an extra cot. The bathroom was in good shape. There was a little balcony off the room, it didn't really have any view but it was nice to sit out and overlook the streets. It was a bit noisy in the early evening with the cars driving by but we were on the second floor, so upstairs may be better. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen441985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed three nights at the hotel in late May. While the hotel is an older building and the furniture is dated, we had a very roomy second floor room that was very clean and functional. Th room had a small balcony where we could finish off some wine each night. While the hotel does not have the best views in Athens, we could see the Acropolis from our balcony, but most of the view was the buildings across the street.

Breakfast was ok and included in the price. Would at least get you going.

Very close to most of the historic sites, and was about 3 blocks from the closest metro stop (Acropolis). Were very happy with our choice. Close to numerous restaurants and cafes as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarlinRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Adams hotel is the perfect place to explore Athens. Practically all major tourist attractions like Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Ancient Agora, Olympic Stadium , Arch of Hadrian are within walkable distance. The Plaka area itself is really beautiful with all the shops, cafes, restaurants. The place is always buzzing with people and hence safe neighborhood. We had to put up in a family room as the hotel was experiencing some technical difficulties at that time. The family room consisting of a big and a really small room for four adults with a single washroom was a little difficult to manage but we pulled it off. The room had a balcony which was nice. The wireless worked perfectly.The breakfast was basic. Afroditi and her daughter were really nice and hospitable. For the price that the hotel provides it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ria119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Let's be clear this hotel is good money for value in Athens but it's still a old hotel with old furniture, more or less clean and with low comfort. But there are very few better alternatives in the city.
I would perhaps stay again as the location is absolutely fantastic but only because there are no other options in the same price range in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes, a great location in the Plaka area close to sights, many restaurants, and shopping. The public spaces of the hotel are nice and the breakfast decent only because it was included in the room price.
Our 3rd floor room that we booked for 4 adults was cramped and dingy, much in need of refurbishing! The smaller bedroom had a twin and a fold away bed and literally no space for anything if you wanted to walk thru it (which you needed to do to get to the bathroom and larger bedroom). The sheets on one bed had holes. The entry door would not stay shut unless it was locked, the balcony was nice and large but offered no shade. For some reason there was old masking tape around the balcony door glass.
We did not find the staff to be welcoming, friendly, or helpful,
with the exception of one.
We were uncomfortable and disappointed but were in Athens to explore and see the sights so spent little time in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BjAaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#128 of 326 in Athens
232 reviews
Plaka
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#204 of 326 in Athens
211 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 326 in Athens
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#114 of 326 in Athens
335 reviews
Plaka
Adrian Hotel
Adrian Hotel
#78 of 326 in Athens
354 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Hotel

Property: Adams Hotel
Address: 6 Cherefodos | at Thalou, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adams Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adams Hotel is a recently renovated hotel in the centre of Athens, in close distance to all the important historical monuments and the shopping area of Athens. Our friendly and experienced personnel, will help you organise your stay in Athens with the best possible way.Each room is equipped with a TFT TV, air-condition, telephone and a desk and offers view to Acropolis. All rooms have a private balcony and bathroom with shower and toilet. For your convinience, we offer a 24hour WiFi internet connection.Adams Hotel is in Plaka, in the heart of Athens, under the Acropolis shadow. Located in the middle of the historical centre of Athens, it is 5 minutes away from Syntagma square and Athen's exclusive shopping areas (Kolonaki, Ermou str. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing