We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$277
$236
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Athens(Athens)
$182
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Attalos Hotel(Athens)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$153
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
$368
$322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$293
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$177
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$996
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
36
28
7
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
28
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotel to staysplendid viewcomfortable roomsroof terracemetro stationwalking distancegraffiticafestaxieurosstreetwifiacropolisfridge
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 81 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a great spot. I'll preface the review by saying that my girlfriend and I weren't expecting much, and are very easy going. Therefore if you are looking for a nice hotel maybe look elsewhere. This is a comfortable and adequate hotel...with a killer view.
Pros:
Close enough to everything, but somewhat removed and thus quieter. 15 minutes from metro.
Friendly staff
A basic kitchen is provided, but it's not easy to cook since the supplies arent the best and old.
AMAZING panoramic view of Athens including the Acropolis and Licovittus. Unconstructed 180 view from above Athens. I can only imagine sitting on the patio at night in the summer. The kitchen and patio are on the same level so you have dynamite views while cooking and eating.
Many coffee shops just down the street in many directions. Same goes for restaurants.
Amazing produce market opens at your doorstep every Saturday from 7 until 2. This is the best time to load up on fruits and veg.
a gym is located 2 minutes away. Very old, and basic, but for 8 euros, you can work out for 1 week. First time is free. It's open 10-10. The gym has likely not been upgraded since 1960.
Cons:
Hotel backs on to a park and there are drug users around from time to time. One guy even spent the night in the alley below us talking to himself. In certain alley's people have been spotted shooting up heroin. So this is all rather distasteful, but my girlfriend and I have never felt in danger. I wouldn't want her walking around in the evening alone though.
The internet provided is a huge rip off. It costs 10 euros for 24 hours of service or 15 euros for 7 days worth.The catch is it must be used within 7 days. Sonic you only use half of it, you need to buy more. Also, it is sooooooo slow, that you'll likely want to pull your hair out. only one. Omputer can use the access code at the same time, solid often go to a coffee shop and. Use the wifi while my girlfriend was on the computer at home.
If you are in any way disabled and have issues with climbing hills or steep stairs, maybe reconsider. The hotel can be accessed by road, but it's on a hill so either you'll need to climb 30 feet of stairs or walk up a hilly road.

All in all I'd stay here again!

All in l

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights. The night we arrive they didnt have our room ready so they switch us to another one which it was not what we order. We order room with toilette and they gave us room with no toilette. Second day they didnt change the blankets and the room was undone. Third day the same so we complained but the receptionist said it wasnt his responsability but the responsability of the cleaning person.
N'importe quoi. What a joke!!!
It is a shame because the place location is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spacerequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The hotel is in the Exarchia area, very central, on the map it would be ideal for visiting the city. Unfortunately the heroin junkies and other strange people that populate that area are not indicated on the maps! And, moreover, the hotel is on top of an hill. Therefore, I managed to call a taxi every time I had to come back to there: 3 Euro each time, but very well spent...
The rooms are acceptably clean, but bath towels show the first signs of their age... Breakfast is 6 Euro extra, I've not tried it because in the Exarchia place nearby you may find a lot of cheap small bars and fast-foods.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amicofritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Nice but not worth the Price.....

not the best location. Exarhia the area east of Omonia (which is considered to be the WORST area in Athens) and boasts loads of Anarchist and heroin junkies. The Hotel is at the base of Strefi Park (a haven for junkies and ratty kids) and the closest metro is 10-15 min walking. There are many cool bohemian boutiques and cafes in the area but they are often over priced.

Right before you reach the hotel you'll be confronted by the most daunting set of stairs you've ever encountered. not fun when you've got 50 pounds of luggage with you....

the bathrooms are dirty and outdated. the staff doesn't clean them half as often as they should. also, there is a problem with the hot water.......

the Kitchen on the roof is seriously nasty. First of all its completely unsanitary. the staff refuses to clean the dishes and maks the hotel guests do it themselves. most of the people staying there are models and don't have enough brains to wash the dishes before putting them back in the pantry. Also, don't keep food in the refrigerator unless you want it to get stolen. and NEVER steal anyone elses food. when i left the food stealing had become such a problem that one boy was putting eyedrops in his food.....

Breakfast is an additional 6 euros and NOT worth it. you could walk down to the street and buy everything for 2 euros yourself.

overall the place is okay but over priced. you can get the same accomodtion for half the price and a better location in Athens. My agency put me up there. Never going back. but its a nice place to meet up with other models to go out at night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2005

We have stayed in this hotel maybe 10 times, or more, over the last 20+ years. It's still the same great place. Pretty basic, small, very clean, no luxury, but with a great location (great view, and on pollution free days you can even see the Acropolis), rooftop terrace for your breakfast, and - important in the summer - it's cooler than in the center of town, because it's situated on a hill. Still only ten minutes or so to walk to, and twenty minutes from, Omonia Square (because of the hill). Lots of small tavernas in the area (the Latin Quarter of Athens), although the once famous Fondas has changed owners and isn't quite what it has been. And the junkies from the park across the street seem to have disappeared.

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank vikingtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews