We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marble House
Ranked #23 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
“great for family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

walking distance to acropolis, sites, but quiet residential (though very urban) neighborhood. orange trees line the dense streets, busses easy to use, an amazing bakery just 2 short blocks, where my kids were given extras every morning. wonderful stay in Athens, we'll be back, and we will stay at marble house again. owner helped us with car rental too, all really smooth!

Room Tip: we had a shared bathroom and no problems. beds were very comfy, tho room was a bit cramped w 4 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    242
    60
    23
    25
See reviews for
102
301
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A private room with shower and balcony in a safe, quite street close to public transport and at only 10/15 min walk from Plaka and the Akropolis Museum is simply amazing for these rates. Christos and Nancy speaks perfect English and are in for a talk. Don't expect the best room in the world, but for such a price the weaker points like the lack of a shower cabin/curtain is not a problem at all.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Marble House is nestled in a small residential cul-de-sac, brimming with flower-lined balconies, making it a quiet, peaceful, and charming family-run establishment. It was convenient to get anywhere in the city from this location, and gave the large city the sense of being on a manageable scale. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, and the balcony lovely.

Room Tip: Having a balcony made the small room seem large
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwr2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very clean room & en suite bathroom. Lovely tile work in the rooms. Nancy & Christos were really helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. Great location super close (5-10 mins) to the Acropolis, new Acropolis Museum, the Plaka, the Metro, plus 6 other historic sites that your Acropolis admission ticket gives you access to. And a 15 minute walk to Monastiraki shopping & dining. We walked everywhere!! It was great! Only drawback to the room was its location. #14 is next to the shared bathroom in the hallway, so bring your earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Also, no balcony for #14 either.

Room Tip: Room #14 next to shared bath for the floor, so bring your earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Tough to find good rooms for a family of four - this was perfect for us. Visitors should know that it is not in the traditional tourist areas, but it is an easy walk through a very safe neighbourhood to get to the major sites (only about 10 - 15 minutes and you're at the Parthenon). The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the price is very reasonable. It is a family-run business and youngest member (Christos) was super-welcoming to us when we checked in, and he made sure to load us up with all the information we would need to make our brief three day stay in Athens enjoyable. He gave us transportation and restaurant tips, and more importantly, he showed us which areas to avoid at night (only one, really).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourbigtrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

A friendly welcome at Marble House

After a nice easter week in Hydra we came to Marble House during the afternoon.
It is 15 minutes and 25 euros from Pireas ; it is also easy to reach from the airport, 40 euros and around 45 minutes (on a saturday). To go back to the airport, Christos can help you to book a taxi.

The hotel is located at the end of a no through street . The place is nice and quiet with trees and flowers...
Christos's mother welcomes us in french that she speaks very well (as well as english). Our room for the family has 3 beds (1 double and 2 singles) and a nice balcony close to the trees of the street. The comodities (outside of the bedroom are white (marble) and very clean at any time.

Initially we chose this hotel on internet because it is located close to the Acropolis and indeed it is really simple to go to the Acropolis entrance with the explanation we get from Christos .There are orange trees in the streets, a nice bakery selling a lot of various greek cookies... To visit Acropolis at 5 PM is really nice with the sunset light..

After a good and quiet night, we took our breakfast in the hall downstairs : toasts, coffee, butter, marmelade... and a long conversation with Christos who takes care of his guests as friends.

Thanks to him and his mother who both have a great sense of hospitality that make us loving Greece and Greek people!

As we want to come back in Athens with our mothers, we have already decided to come back to Marble House Hotel.

Room Tip: If you happen to stay more than one night in Marble House, ask Christos for a room with balcony on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location is as good as any in regards to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum and to the very accessible Metro for Athens. Rooms were clean and we stayed in basic accommodation for two with in-suite bathroom. The immediate neighborhood was nice but main road (Sygrou) was on the seedy side. Ownership nice, responsive, easy to get help from. Rooms and beds basic, clean and nice. Nothing to set it apart except its value and location. Would I go back again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floors if you do not want to climb stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Victory Inn
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Hotel Tony
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing