We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value for money”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble House
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“great location and value for money”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Marble House on our way in and out of Athens. It is in a great location - walking distance to the Acropolis/old town/everything you would want to see in Athens. As the reviews mention Christos is great with suggestions/directions/super helpful. He is really wonderful and truly committed to his business. We had a shared bathroom but never saw anyone else using it so it was completely fine. This is a budget hotel so the rooms are small but clean - great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STNG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    255
    65
    24
    25
See reviews for
107
323
67
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The positive points of this hotel were the location (very very very good location) and the family that owns the hotel. Christos was so kind and so very helpful in terms of showing us on a map how to get to main attractions and also, areas to stay away from at night. We stayed in 3 different hotel rooms over a 10 day period while exploring other cities in Greece. All 3 rooms were very different in terms of aesthetics and size. Water pressure for showers was best in the room on the 2nd floor. The air conditioner did not work in any of the rooms we stayed in, which was unfortunate. I would still recommend the hotel to people, as the location, the price and Christos were all very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenS1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location and price were unbeatable. We bought a 3 day metro pass and almost never used it because we were within walking distance of most of the attractions. The hotel was at the end of a cul de sac so it was very quiet. There was a refrigerator in the room and several small grocery stores close by so we were able to buy sodas and fruit. The biggest drawback was the stairs. It was a beautiful marble staircase but quite daunting when tired and carrying suitcases or at the end of a long day of walking. We called from the airport for directions and it was only after we got there that Nancy told us she only had availability for 2 of the 3 nights that we were going to be in Athens. Christos was very helpful while we were looking for a room for the last night but we had to pack and move our last day in Athens. I wish Nancy would have told us before we went to the trouble to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay here at the beginning of our trip. It was very clean. Christos was very helpful giving us directions to what we would want to see. It was within walking distance to the Acropolis and the Plaka neighbourhood. He assured us that the neighbourhood was safe to walk around. The bathroom was small but adequate. Our safe did work and the door was secure at night. There was an all night cafe/bakery around the corner that came in handy the next morning.

Room Tip: Our friends and us had rooms on the first floor to the right and left of the front desk. We had a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked this after reading trip advisor reviews and were shocked and disgusted!

We arrived at the hotel exhausted after a 2 week trip island hopping and my husband feeling quite unwell, this was the worst place we've ever stayed in anywhere and we are certainly not fussy travellers!

We discovered what looked very much like blood stains on the bed sheets and a yellow stained pillow with hair on it and when we complained the lady totally flipped out with my husband, rubbing her hands on the floor and putting them up to his face saying her hotel was not dirty and that the sheets were just back from the cleaners and that it was their fault. The whole episode freaked me out! She insisted we look at another room (bathroom not in the room and not what we paid for) at this point we just wanted to leave..... how can someone not notice blood stains on bedding! She refused to refund our money snatching both keys and telling us to just get out. We eventually got her to just change our bedsheets as we couldn't face another move.
In addition to the stained sheets there were stains on the towels and to be honest they belonged in the bin - they were frayed and just downright manky!
The 'bath' shower type thing had black dirt around it. The mirror belongs in the bin as it is all brown stains.There were bugs on the floor. The safe was broken so we carted about all our documents and money in an area that didn't feel that safe at night. The front door did not lock securely as we were able to open it without the key code and reception is not manned after 9.

Could not wait to leave the next morning the place made us feel dirty and it really was a horrible end to an amazing holiday. We stayed in better and equally as cheap hotels in Athens. Beware of Marble House the photos and reviews are very misleading I don't know what these people are raving about!! Only plus is that her son checked us out and was lovely helpful man.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank daisy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Marble house is a good choice with a reasonable price, distance is near to all the tourist attraction and thanks a lot to Christos for being a very helpful person. Marble house in fact provides own tourist attraction maps to all the guests.
highly recommended!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nithiyaa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel was in good location well with in walking distance of places we wished to see. The room was spacious with good bed n good shower room/bathroom. Most definitely value for money plus having access to internet was a bonus. Will be staying here again in future!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreihudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Hotel Tony
#34 of 326 in Athens
586 reviews
Victory Inn
#49 of 326 in Athens
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
471 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: Anastasiou Zinni 35 | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing