We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel in Athens!”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble House
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Washington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget hotel in Athens!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Marble house is an affordable hotel in walking distance of the Acropolis and the major tourist sites in the city of Athens. The hotel is owned and run by a family who are extremely friendly, informative, and helpful. If you want luxury, this isn't the place to stay. If you're looking for a comfortable room with good staff at an excellent price, look no further.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with its own bath. Another option is a bath on the hall. Although we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    246
    61
    23
    25
See reviews for
102
309
66
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
valencia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Acropolis but in a quiet street. It is also close to the subway and the street with lots of car rentals, which was very convenient for us. It is a really cheap hotel for the servicies it offers.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are renovated but there are some that are not. Of course it is better if you can c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mar_a_g2013919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family had a pleasant trip to Athens and our hotel certainly was a big factor. The key to enjoying your stay here is knowing what to expect when you book it.

Let me start with the many many positives!
-Personal service is a quality you don't find everywhere. Christos and his parents took wonderful care of us anytime we had a problem or a question. They helped us set up our internet, they chatted with us each morning, they held our bags on our last day and they REALLY wanted to know if they could do anything else for us. They are a family-run business that cares about their customers.
-The location is very close to public transportation and still walking distance to the major attractions. I always felt that my family was safe walking around the area. Christos gave us a good recommendation for a restaurant in Plaka for lunch (see other Athens reviews). Also check with him if you want to take the buses... it's not easy if you don't know Greek! We got lost a few times... on the same trip.
-The price was very good compared to the other locations we researched. All things considered the value was worth it.

There are a few points which were not the most desirable:
-We found our room to be on the small side. We are family so we are used to being close together, but I can see how it is not for every group. We got lucky with perfect temperatures while we stayed so we were not affected by the lack of A/C. If you stay in the south Mediterranean in summer, then expect everywhere to be hot.
-From inside the room, it was easy to hear noises in the hallway. If you are on a floor that shares a bathroom, like we were, you will probably notice it more. If other guests are noisy beyond what is normal, you should bring it to the attention of the hotel.

With all positives and negatives considered, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reisemeister79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice, the staff was helpful. There's no a/c (only fan) and no breakfast include (but available for couple €). It's a short walk to the Acropolis and they are close to the subway which was convenient for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although our trip to Athens didn't live up to our expectations, and although our room was way to small for three persons - the owners at Marble House was fantastic. We experienced some troubling noises the first night we stayed here, and the staff did everything to find out what the fuss was all about (turned out an someone had a little trouble in paradise - and kept the whole floor awake at night with slamming doors). One of us forgot the passport when we were leaving - and the owner did not only get a taxi to drive the passport to the airpot - but also called the driver who had been dropping us off - to come back and stay with us until the passport came to it's rightful owner! We were so grateful for this! The hospitality was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very centrally located, clean, renovated hotel. Staff is helpful. Amazing value. Area is a bit shady. The major issue is lack of AC. With the Athens summer temperatures, we melted in our room. But everything was great besides that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lululu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great value in Athens in a good residential location. Owners son was very helpful and accommodating. Location is excellent close to Acropolis, Plaka and other tourist sites. We were advised a budget place for eating with very local food. If you are on a budget, this is a good place to consider. Only drawback -- no elevators and no Air Conditioning!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoop G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Victory Inn
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Hotel Tony
#47 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: 35 Zinni Anastassiou | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing