We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the thick of things”
Review of Marble House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble House
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great value in the thick of things”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Marble House is a fantastic budget option that is minutes away from the touristic heart of Athens. You don't travel to spend extensive time in your hotel; so, whilst basic, this certainly is an ideal option within walking distance of Plaka and the Acropolis.

The rooms are simple with little more than a bed and a fridge, but the quiet neighborhood ensures you sleep soundly and that's all you really need. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the lack of 24 hour reception doesn't matter given 24 hour access with the key or code.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    255
    65
    24
    25
See reviews for
107
323
67
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed only one night at the Marble House hotel in Athens. It is a small hotel in a quiet cul-de-sac within walking distance of the Acropolis and also of Plaka, the old area of Athens. The hotel is indeed basic, but for a budget traveller it is ideal. You get to keep the hotel key with you so you need no night concierge. The rooms are small and have just the basic features you need from a hotel: a bed, a closet, a bathroom with a (working!) shower, plus a ceiling fan and air conditioning, which is indispensable in Athens.
The hotel is also well connected by transit and has a metro station nearby (Sygrou-Fix).
One can choose to have breakfast at the hotel, which is some instant coffee, some juice and some toast with butter and jam, nothing glamorous, but it may be convenient if one needs to rush out in the morning (5 euros).
The people are nice and helpful, and as I said the place is very quiet.. There is a free Internet point in the lobby. There is no TV nor telephone in the rooms. Also, there is no elevator, and the staircase is somewhat narrow, but all in all the place has some character and it offers good service for a very good price: 45 euros for the double!!
All in all, a pleasant experience.
The hotel also has rooms with shared bath, for even cheaper prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maletero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location-only a 10 minute walk to the acropolis and other major attractions, and located on a nice quiet street close to grocery stores, cafes and the metro-at quite a low price makes this place a great budget friendly but nice option. Family run, with helpful and knowledgeable staff. Rooms were clean and welcoming, but sure you ask for air conditioning. It's an added cost but it gets too hot in the summer without it. Make sure to ask the owners to recommend a restaurant-we went to the one they recommended and had the best meal of the trip ordering the dishes the ppl at the marble house also recommended. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LE500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Marble House is located in a very pleasant area about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the Acropolis. The hotel is very quiet since it is located in a cul-de-sac. The owners are very helpful and friendly and the guest is made very pleasantly aware that he/she is staying in a family-run hotel.

Because the hotel is not in Plaka, one can enjoy the Acropolis and the surrounding festive spirit of Plaka and then at the end of the day or night, retire from the hubbub in the tranquil neighborhood of Marble House.

A very positive feature of this hotel is the lack of television, and consequently the lack of noise from your neighbor's television set.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor has a patio and although the same price is more attractive and welcomin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Finding a place in Athens was not an easy task. Especially finding one in a nice area and within a reasonable budget. Marble House served the scope and within this respect it was a perfect compromise. It sits at the end of a closed side street (so it was quite); the area itself is not compelling, just regular residential but it’s at walking distance from the Acropoli and Plaka. The metro stop (Sigrou-Fix) is 5 minutes walking away.
I booked through email/phone and received a confirmation along with detailed description about how to reach the hotel. Upon arrival I was given the main info and the key of my room. The room was on the third floor and it was of adequate size. It was furnished with a single bed, a desk with chair, a closet (with safe), a fridge and maybe a tv, don’t remember. The room, on the third floor, was clean (besides the very dusty ventilator) but I found it a bit drab and uninspiring: walls were naked and the paint not so fresh anymore and showing a few cracks. Also I found the mattress to be not comfortable (I could feel some of the springs sticking out) . The attached bathroom was very small but clean: the shower needed to be hand held and there was no curtain of screen, so, the floor gets flooded. The room had also a balcony with a plastic table and two chairs which was very large and pleasant, shaded by green trees. Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but offered for an additional charge (I think € 4-5), but I did not make use of this service.
Two weeks later (at the end of my holiday) I spent one more night at the Marble Hotel: this second room (I believe it was a double though and not a single) was better than the previous one and the bed was more comfortable.
I met Christos only once and I found him to be a quite pleasant and friendly fellow who gave me info and tips. The other people at the front desk, were less friendly and less enthusiastic than him.
At the moment of check-in I was asked for my document and this was kept by the staff until the moment I paid the bill. Having been requested to leave a credit card number as guarantee (compulsory to secure the booking) I found this unnecessary. Also, when I left the hotel the first time, I was requested to pay in advance also for the night I would spend there two weeks later, without being given the chance to choose otherwise. In the policy I received by email it was only mentioned that the payment would need to be done in cash, but there was no mention of advanced payment or of the seizing of the document.
All in all, I had an ok stay at the Marble House: it delivered on the main checkboxes, providing a safe, clean and fairly central location close to transportation, but didn’t make an above average impression.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Many thanks to the wonderful family who run the Marble House and have done for 35 years. Christos (the son) was a terrific source of local information helping me with really good restaurants and travel information. The hotel is spotless and welcoming and I really felt like I was part of the family unlike some of the larger hotels. They really went out of their way to accommodate me even when my travel plans changed. I would say its fantastic value for money and very close to the Acropolis but far enough away to give you a feel of a real Athenian neighbourhood.Thanks again for making my stay so great!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kembo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Without a doubt this is the most comfortable budget hotel in Athens. Not only because the price, their owners make your life easier than never before in any other turistic place. A very kind attention and treatment too. Also the hotel has the best location and you can reach any main spot in Athens in just a jiffy by walking, metro or bus... but since its very close to almost everything you do not need public transportation. Besides all this, the rooms are very clean as is the whole hotel. Just perfect! Make a good choice and enjoy your vacations in Athens by choosing this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Hotel Tony
#34 of 326 in Athens
586 reviews
Victory Inn
#49 of 326 in Athens
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
470 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble House

Property: Marble House
Address: Anastasiou Zinni 35 | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Family Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#47 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marble House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1) Free high speed internet access in all rooms and public areas2) Internet corner in reception/lobby area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marble House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble House Hotel Athens
Marble Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing